We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad. Will give it another chance.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Burntwood Tavern Brecksville

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Burntwood Tavern Brecksville
8188 Brecksville Road, Brecksville, OH
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 restaurants in Brecksville
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not bad. Will give it another chance.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Made reservations for Friday night, although after arriving, realized we did not need them. Happy hour specials were great - half off drinks and apps and flatbreaads. Good Kids selection and prices good - $5 meal included drink. My wife's flatbread and my fish was ok, but the fries were excellent. Service was good, incl valet (free valet before tip). We will give it another chance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    10
    19
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wadsworth, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Somewhere great for lunch in Brecksville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Brecksville has a few nice non chain places for lunch, but not nearly enough variety for a weekly trip to escape the office. Burntwood is a great addition. Lunch prices were on par with other non chain options nearby, but the interior decor sets it apart. The food was fresh, appealing, appropriate temperature, and served in average to generous portions (pick two).

Both of us ordered meal salads; salmon and chicken topped with creative and tasty toppings. A good slice of bread or roll would have been a good accompaniment. Fresh brewed iced tea was refreshing. It is amazing how many restaurants mess up iced tea.

The only disappointment was a visibly filthy bread plate (no bread? why do i need a plate) and a less than spotless (crumb laden) table top. Service was fine - not outstanding, but no complaints.

We have a work group happy hour planned (half priced apps til 6pm) to try out adult beverages and a light bite.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Was okay but lacking something...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had dinner at the Brecksville location Saturday night. Decor is great, they have a large parking lot but it is all blocked off for valet parking, which they really don't need since the lot is so large. Why not just open it up for self parking?? We had a 7pm reservation, got in about 5 minutes after which was good considering it was very crowded. Our waiter was attentive, no problems there. We had the calamari appetizer, it was good but lots of breading. The waiter told us it was buttermilk breading. No bread on the table, and a dinner salad is not included with the entrees. Two of us had the roasted chicken, it was good, substituted with sweet potato fries. One had the Asiago Chicken and the other the pork loin. Meals were good, not exceptional. I do think they should have bread on the table, and entree salads. The prices are very reasonable. Not sure if we would go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Had to tell waiter twice my drink order. Drink tasted of pure alcohol-flavor like rocket fuel. Asked waiter to bring me another-he drank half of it and said "ok". Then manager walks over and tells me how to make the drink. 10 minutes later I get a drink, although less taste of pure alcohol, still tastes awful. Then the waiter persists with being pushy to get us out. Overall, not worth spending time or money here.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewwod,Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasty food and Cozy decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

4 of us enjoyed our meal at Burntwood Tavern. The server was super sweet and efficient. My husband had the pot roast. The portion was generous and he appreciated that. My Salmon on a plank was topped with a delicious tomato relish and done perfectly. My son ordered the Burntwood burger which turned out to be a perfect choice for his insatiable appetite. Even the valet was engaging while we waited a few moments for the car.
The interior of the restaurant is cozy with lots of rustic wood, a woodburning fireplace and some private alcoves.
Very enjoyable meal and evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burntwood Tavern Brecksville also viewed

 

Been to Burntwood Tavern Brecksville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burntwood Tavern Brecksville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.