We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLOSED FOR GOOD” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Aunt B's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Aunt B's
912 Kingsbay Rd, St. Marys, GA 31558-3752
912-729-7172
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Saint Marys, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“CLOSED FOR GOOD”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Aunt B's USED to be a local favorite. Over the past year or so, the quality of the food had decreased and the price increased. This was a bad combination for sure! We decided not to return. Well, I guess many others felt the same way because recently, Aunt B's closed its doors for good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida
1 review
“Good-Old fashion homecooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I live in fernandina beach fla. I visit Aunt B's every few months.
I enjoy the food the staff and the company.
I try my best to visit on Saturdays that when they have shrimps
For some down home cooking us must stop by
aunt b's

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Don't waste your money.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The only reason I gave all categories a 1 is because there is no 0 or lower. We used to love to stop in and enjoy good southern cooking but that's not the case anymore. It was nearly $60 for 4 adult lunch buffets on Saturday morning at 1130. The fried and baked chicken was way dry. The mashed potatoes was so watered down that it wasn't funny. The gravy had absolutely no flavor. The shrimp was fried so hard you could barely eat it. And the peach cobbler, oh it was awful. What a shame. It used to be a treat to go eat there but not anymore.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WHAT HAS HAPPENED!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Aunt B's has been one of the restaurants we have enjoyed having lunch. However, this passed friday my wife and I had lunch there. The fish was over cooked.. Like fish jerkey! The fried and baked chicken was very dry. The meat loaf was just OK. We arrived around 11:30 so the meals was not under the lights on the food bar very long. Have you changed cooks?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food - sometimes.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I first reviewed Aunt B's 38 months ago. I gave them an excellent rating. Unfortunately, much has changed since then. One of the original owners has left the business.

If you have read all of the preceding reviews, I'm sure you noticed that some loved it and some did not. Here's why.

There is virtually no quality control. That is not to say that they do not use good, wholesome food - they do. However, if you have a dish that is the best you've ever had on say, Thursday, of one week, that same dish may not be anywhere near as good or even seasoned the same the next Thursday. Why?

Because there are no standardized recipes or cooking times or temperatures. The several cooks just do their own thing. I used to love their barbecued ribs on Thursday with baked beans. On one Thursday, the ribs would be better than I've ever had at any barbecue joint and the beans absolutely delicious. The next Thursday, when a different cook got a hold of them, they would be dried out and tough as shoe leather. When that cook was on, the beans were so full of onions, bell peppers, and some God awful seasoning that they would gag a maggot.

On any given day, there is always something good. Alas, not everything is good on any given day, depending on who is cooking.

It's really a shame because Aunt B's was once a local treasure and the gold standard for authentic and consistently delicious Southern cooking. It could be again with proper management.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aunt B's also viewed

Kingsland, Georgia Coast
St. Marys, Georgia Coast
 
St. Marys, Georgia Coast
St. Marys, Georgia Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aunt B's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.