We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brought back memories of Tom Clancy novels!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Marys Submarine Museum

St. Marys Submarine Museum
102 St. Marys St West, St. Marys, GA 31558
+1 912 882 2782
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 15 Attractions in St. Marys
Type: Military Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Brought back memories of Tom Clancy novels!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We hadn't planned on visiting the Submarine Museum during our recent visit but we were very glad that we did. Inside were decades of artifacts and pictures detaling not only U.S. submarines but also those around the world! It brought back memories of reading about submarines and their missions from Tom Clancy novels! Visiting here brought newfound respect for submarine crews. Next time I visit, I'll do more reading on these special vessels so I can better appreciate what you can see at the museum.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    5
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunkirk, New York
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Small but interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This museum is really to small for all the artifacts it contains. However, for someone who is wholly unfamiliar with subs and submariners, this is a very good introduction. The exhibits were very crowded and seem to consist of the memorabilia donated by dozens of former submariners or their families. There is a semblance of organization, but it seems to have overwhelmed the small staff. There are two videos offered on the second floor that were very informative even though one was obviously targeted for children. I liked the working periscope that looks out over St Mary's river and docks. Very inexpensive admission. I hope they can stay active. It is a valuable source of history. Appropriately, the museum is not far from the Kings Bay submarine base.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
126 attraction reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“So much to see...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

From the outside you would think this is a small museum but inside is a different story. Every inch is packed with items. They even have a periscope you can look out. What fun! They also have a small gift shop where you can buy most of the patches of the boats. We are from Charlotte, NC so we bought U.S. S. Charlotte and U. S. S. North Carolina.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cool Place - Take Your Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Not much going on in St Marys. We were a little skeptical about visiting a submarine museum, that didn't have any subs. However, we were pleasantly surprised. Lots of photos, art work, uniform items, battle flags, etc. They also have movies for adults and kids. The on site curator knows lots of additional things, if you take the time to ask her. This is certainly a star in the city. The tour is well worth the cost.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“History at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Everything you wanted to know and more about Submarines. Their displays were extensive.... from the earliest sub to the current fleet. They had hands-on displays, and a cute movie.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Marys Submarine Museum also viewed

 
St. Marys, Georgia Coast
St. Marys, Georgia Coast
 

Been to St. Marys Submarine Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Marys Submarine Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.