We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great River Dining and Crab Cakes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Cafe

Riverside Cafe
106 W Saint Marys St, St. Marys, GA 31558
(912) 882-3466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 46 Restaurants in St. Marys
Cuisines: American, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
St. Marys, GA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great River Dining and Crab Cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We enjoyed a relaxing lunch on the covered porch overlooking the St. Marys Waterfront. I ordered a crab cake greek salad and it was wonderful. The waitress was not on top of things as much as we would have liked but the food and atmosphere were great. A few gnats but not enough to be a problem. A good place to visit with friends and show off the waterfront area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    62
    16
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Marys, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous authentic Greek food also serving great dishes for those who don't care for Greek food, also First glass of wine or bee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Amazing restaurant overlooking the St Marys River nice but casual atmosphere...well rounded menu; I have eaten here many times and have never had a bad dish. Portions are generous; great service; food to die for!!!! The lemon chicken soup and a Greek salad for lunch are my favorites! If lamb is offered as a specialty do not miss it; EVEN if your previous experience with lamb has been poor!!! It is beyond yummy! Even the desserts are hand made and delectable! My favs are Napoleon and Bakalavia! Do not miss this restaurant!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Go Greek at this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stopped by for lunch recently and really loved dining here. The food was delicious and fresh and came to us quickly. My wife had the grilled chicken on really tasty pita bread. It smelled extremely delicious when it came to the table. I had the gyro and loved it as well. The Greek salads that came with the dishes were full of fresh veggies and feta cheese. We will definitely come back in the future!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Very nice place, very good, fresh food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stopped here after a day on Cumberland Island. We were pretty tired from a day of hiking. The service is friendly and prompt. We both opted for Greek menu items, and were not disappointed. The gyros were excellent, and the tzadziki sauce is the best, very fresh and creamy. Some place you get runny sauce, but not here. Yum! We would definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Loved eating on the porch overlooking the waterfront--sipping a free glass of wine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Probably the best pesto shrimp I have eaten this side if of Italy! My husband loved the stuffed basa. When I asked about bread with the meal, our cheerful waiter, (Scott?) brought me the best warm pita bread I have ever tasted! Lovely experience!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverside Cafe also viewed

 
St. Marys, Georgia Coast
St. Marys, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Riverside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.