We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If the fish were any fresher, I'd have to slap it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Marys Seafood & More

St Marys Seafood & More
1837 Osborne St, St. Marys, GA 31558
912.467.4217
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 46 Restaurants in St. Marys
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Northfield, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If the fish were any fresher, I'd have to slap it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our B&B innkeeper suggested this place...and judging by the packed parking lot, this was definitely the place to eat fresh fish with the locals. My husband and I chose the fish platter for 2, and added on a bowl of crab bisque. The crab bisque was very good, great taste. The fish platter had deviled crab, fried oysters, fried clam strips, and we chose to have the rest grilled - shrimp, scallops and a white fish. Service was a tad slow - but they were packed to overflow on a Tuesday night. Our server, the "old lady", was friendly and helpful; she was running her legs off trying to keep all the food coming out. There was ample food for 3 on this platter and I felt bad that we couldn't finish it all.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    54
    15
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bernalillo, New Mexico
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Pretty good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We ate here years ago, and just loved it. This time it was pretty good, but not as awesome as we remembered. Still it was very good. My combo platter with shrimp, scallops, and oysters was good, not awesome, but good. The service was good. I would recommend, and probably go back, but nothing to lift my skirt!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ga.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We visited this restaurant based on the reviews we read on tripadvisor. The portions we big and the food was good. We would go back again. Very friendly waitress.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great local atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Wanted a place where the locals go and we found it! Blackened Mahi Mahi was delicious and very large portions and the Sides were good. Our server, Vanessa, was attentive and entertaining! -transplant from Brooklyn! Kept us laughing!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Eat Local, Good Seafood & Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We spotted this place early in the day on our way to make the morning ferry to Cumberland Island. (wonderful and full day there). When we returned to the mainland we were more than ready for some seafood. We're so glad they were open on a Monday Holiday (2/18).

The parking lot was moderately full but after we were seated we noticed the place really filled up. They did a great job handling the influx of diners. Our waitress was wonderful and attentive in spite of the party of 10 she took on soon after we ordered.

The food was fresh and yummy. Tried the fried green tomatoes and the pickles. Delish. I had the combo with blackened fish and fried shrimp. Their grits were creamy and even more tasty with the cheese I asked to have on them. Best of all the prices were reasonable.

I enjoyed walking around and looking at the pictures and signs from the old paper mill. A bit of history preserved and something that I'm sure changed the make up of the area. The current owner and crew are doing a great job. Let's hope they continue to thrive.

Why eat at a chain place down the road when you can have a great meal served up at a local place that has character and history Best of all, good food, good service and great people!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Marys Seafood & More also viewed

St. Marys, Georgia Coast
 
St. Marys, Georgia Coast
St. Marys, Georgia Coast
 

Been to St Marys Seafood & More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Marys Seafood & More, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.