We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Tasty Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Goose

The Blue Goose
126 Osborne Street, St. Marys, GA 31558
+1 912-673-7974
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 49 Restaurants in St. Marys
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Coffee Shop, Bakeries, Bagels
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: We offer outdoor seating and the dog bowl is always fresh. We love kids and have games, chalk and colors for kids of all ages. The Goose is a great venue for a relaxed reception. Our close proximity to the waterfront makes us convenient for wedding receptions. We have a variety of venue rental options. Donna, one of the owners has more than 20 years experience with event planning.
Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Tasty Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We visited on a Groupon so it was very inexpensive. The atmosphere and food were delightful and the service was fine. We had sandwiches - one roast beef and one turkey. Both were delicious. The wine was a perfect accompaniment, also. We will return soon, happy to pay full price, this time. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    39
    5
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“delightful welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Directly across from our Bed and Breakfast was this friendly place to have a restful glass of wine-with a nice addition of a cheese plate with fruit and nuts.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We went here for breakfast before heading out to Cumberland island. They open at 7am so we were able to have a coffee and order lunches to-go to take along for the day since there is no food on the island. It worked out well. The food was very tasty and the lady was very sweet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Cozy spot for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Since we were staying in the B&B across the street for a couple of nights, the Blue Goose was a very convenient place to sit with a glass of wine or to have lunch. They have lovely outdoor seating for warm weather and cozy tables indoors when it is cooler. We enjoyed the creative sandwiches we had for lunch and the conversation with the lovely young waitress. Service was prompt, the prices are very fair and we would definitely return to the Blue Goose.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Service is abysmal. Coffee, prices - also bad.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The only thing worse than my chai latte (which cost nearly $6+ and took them 10 min to make), was the horrible service.
I work in a restaurant myself, and am very understanding towards mistakes, but the girls working were overtly rude, nasty even. I was with 3 friends who also work in food service, and we were all a little shocked by seemingly unprovoked hostility.
We were four early thirties ladies that had just been camping on Cumberland Island, so perhaps they took offense to our scruffy appearance?
When my hot chai was finally ready, it pretty much just tasted like warm milk, I honestly think they put nothing else in it.
I usually try to find and support local businesses when I travel, however I will drink coffee from a gas station before I ever set foot in this place again. There is just no excuse.

Footnote: One of their bottles of wine selling for $20 on the shelf, we also buy in our restaurant, and it costs $4 wholesale. The price point on all their merchandise seems extremely inflated.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Goose also viewed

St. Marys, Georgia Coast
St. Marys, Georgia Coast
 
St. Marys, Georgia Coast
 

Been to The Blue Goose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Goose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.