We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goodbread Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Goodbread Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Goodbread Inn Bed and Breakfast
209 Osborne Street, St. Marys, GA 31558   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 St. Marys B&B and Inns
Jacksonville
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Delightful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

What a wonderful place. Marja is a terrific hostess at this quiet, quaint, and comfortable B&B. Both the Bed & Breakfast were terrific. It is unusual to find a B&B that has two beds in a room - this one has TWO of them, one upstairs and one downstairs!!!
It is also unusual that there is not set checkin and checkout times - Marja works with each guest individually for their schedule and needs. It is also unusual to find a property that will accept a single night's reservation on a holiday weekend - again Marja did!!
Goodbread is located within easy walking distance of the waterfront, many restaurants, and there is a golf cart available for guest use as well.
The porch swings (one up and one downstairs) are the perfect place to relax and read or just enjoy the incredible breeze.
Obviously had a terrific weekend and would go back and recommend to others without any hesitation!

Room Tip: No suggestions, other than to know there is a bed type for everyone, both upstairs and downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    15
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
11
42
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Starting with the moment we arrived it was a wonderful getaway! Our hostess had a wonderful presence but never in the way! She did everything she could to make our stay memorable and told us to think of of her place as our home. We had a great room with plenty of storage and a place for everything. It was great to have such a large bathroom and fresh towels every day. Ahhh...the breakfasts! Wonderful hardly describes them. Mardja worked very hard to please in every way and we were never disappointed. The candlelit parlor with wonderful desserts and wine greeted us in the evening. We are two sisters who took a much needed trip with our husbands and would definitly return again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tifton, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great condition, very clean. We recieved a free room upgrade because a couple cancelled in a nice room. The owner was very friendly and the breakfast she prepared for us was awesome. 4 Stars because the bed was a little too worn to still be very comfortable. Would recommend and would stay again. Great location to the Cumberland Island ferry.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

A group of us senior motorcyclists stayed at the Goodbread on a trip to visit Cumberland National Seashore, where we had a guided tour of most of the island that was well worth it. The inn is a most interesting, historic kind of place, filled to the brim with antiques and other kinds of stuff. It has two porches, one up and one down, which are perfect for hanging out and having a few... which we did. The living room is just the right size for cozy meetings and social get togethers, which we did as well. The bedrooms, upstairs or down, are just fine, with everything that you need. Old sometimes but they work. Ours, the Lancelot and Guenivere, had a huge bathroom with all of the normal fixings. Breakfast was cozy - the dining room sits only eight, or maybe ten - so we and the other guests just ate at different times... and the servings were good and plentiful. Parking is very convenient, right on the street out front. A few restaurants are just a five minute walk up toward the river. We had dinner two nights in a row at Seagle's and had a ball. Plus, the food was pretty darn good. I'd go back in a moment to stay at this place and to explore and hike the south end of Cumberland.

Room Tip: Upstairs or down in the back of the house will avoid the sounds of very late night conversations on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Innkeeper is nice but perhaps a bit distracted. Our room, like the house, was packed with antique finds that were meant to create an atmosphere. Unfortunately, it is so cluttered that it was hard to find places to put our luggage and toiletries. Also, all that 'stuff' becomes dust traps especially when added to carpeted rooms. Arghh the allergies kicked in and there was something nipping our feet in the room. Breakfast is kind of late especially for early risers or those trying to catch the ferry to Cumberland. Would have liked a little more time - like start servicing at 7:30 instead of 8:00 since the ferry leaves at 8:30. Nice to have coffee available but a collection of teas and hot water would have been nice. Good location but would we stay there again? Not sure.

Room Tip: Pictures on website make the rooms seem larger than they are. Might want to see if the room has bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

My 4 sisters and I spent 3 nights here and had a wonderful experience! Rooms quaint and super clean with comfortable beds. The owner is quite a cook, serving a creative and delicious breakfast each morning. We went to Cumberland Island one day and spent another day shopping in the quaint shops in town. Unfortunately, we did not have time to get to all of them.
Restaurants were great, good seafood and italian fare. I can't say how impressed we were with the hospitality we received at Goodbread House and all of the shop keepers and residents of the town. Definitely a great place to enjoy a few days vacation! We will be back!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

My wife and I took a short vacation to St. Marys and stayed three nights at the Goodbread. We wanted to be close to the restaurants and water, and the Goodbread is two blocks from all that downtown St. Marys has to offer. Granted, there isn't much to the downtown area, but we were looking for a quieter stay. We got a great summer special rate, and our room was even upgraded due to vacancy. Another big draw was that we were able to bring our dog with us as some of the other B&B's downtown would not allow this. We were also only an hour from Amelia, Jekyll, and St. Simon's Island if you wanted to take a day trip to those places. We enjoyed the complimentary wine in the evening and would drink on the swings on the veranda.

Our only complaints are minor. The house is old, and the walls are thin. This didn't matter as we were on the only guests one night. My wife and I thought the rooms and furnishings were kind of cheesy but that's a matter of individual taste. One of the breakfasts was practically inedible, but the other two were fine. The owner was not there during our stay, so this could change if she was there.

Overall, we would definitely stay here again if we were able to get the summer special rate, and we would recommend it if you're planning to stay in St. Marys.

Room Tip: If there will be other guests, I would recommend asking for a room that doesn't border another o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Goodbread Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodbread Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 209 Osborne Street, St. Marys, GA 31558
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > St. Marys
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Marys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Goodbread Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodbread Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.