We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Charming, with a Great Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   200 Osborne Street, St. Marys, GA 31558   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct & Save
Ranked #1 of 3 St. Marys B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Clean, Charming, with a Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We chose the Spencer House Inn for convenience to both the Cumberland Island Ferry (about a 2 block walk) and to the Okefenokee Swamp (about 40 miles). It is an old hotel, so the room was small, but big enough for us, as we were just there for overnights. Room 302 had a comfortable queen-sized bed (slightly less expensive rooms had antique double/full beds), nice linens and pillows, and room enough for us to use two luggage racks. There were lamps on both sides of the bed. The bath had a magnifying make-up mirror. Breakfast was outstanding both days. Mike and Mary were always available and ready to help, but not intrusive. Wonderful neighborhood--enjoyed The Blue Goose next door for a lite dinner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    45
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
46
202
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jax Beach
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I wanted to get away after the hustle and bustle of the holidays. What a great choice. St. Marys is a charming old south town with a great deal of historic buildings dating back to the early 1800's. Mike and Mary treated us well, from the generous fruit and cheese tray we ordered, to the incredible and delicious breakfast we were served in the morning. Plenty to see and do within walking distance, plus the ferry over to Cumberland Island, a National Park.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My mom and sisters stayed here for my mom's birthday trip to Cumberland Island. The owners Mike and Mary are on site and are very gracious. House is large and tastefully decorated and only one block from water and ferry to Cumberland Island ferry. Breakfasts are very good also. They go out of their way to accomodate fussy eaters. The only negative thing I have to say is the lunch they packed for Cumberland Island be a little more gourmet instead of bagged chips and cookies but if you don't mind that it is convenient. Not a whole lot to do in St. Mary's but a good base for going other places. The best dinner we had was at Riverside Cafe across from the ferry. You can step off the boat and walk across the street. If you read this Mary go take that trip with your sisters and mom, maybe to another B and B so you don't have to work.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was our third time staying at this wonderful bed and breakfast in St. Marys, GA. The house is in great condition, inside and out, and the hosts (Mary and Mike) keep everything running smoothly. We are always made to feel like truly welcomed guests in their home. Mike makes a great breakfast!

And, this is a wonderful place to stay while visiting one of the gems of the east coast - Cumberland Island. What a special place.

We will definitely be returning to St. Marys, Cumberland Island, and will of course be staying at the Spencer House. We recommend it to all of our friends who are traveling south on I-95.

Room Tip: We have stayed in different rooms on different floors. All have be quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyrone, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Our overnight stay at The Spencer House Bed and Breakfast was
delightful! Owners and Innkeepers Mike and Mary are warm,
welcoming, kind, and very helpful. The Inn itself is a gem,
Beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. All we had to
do was ask about the local area and we were provided with a
wealth of information. After our overnight at the inn We took
the ferry to Cumberland Island for the day and Mary provided
a picnic lunch with cooler bag for our trip for a small fee.
(must see the island...Its stunning but do your research...go
prepared.)


The breakfast was delicious, hot and ready at 7:30 am before
out ferry departure. We will definitely return to Spencer
House! 






































  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very nice B&B. Owners are extremely nice, and very helpful in planning your events. Very convenient to all of the restaurants and the ferry dock if you are going to Cumberland Island. Breakfasts & optional picnic lunch was very good. Staff was also very nice and pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree Corners
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We met up with friends at St. Mary's for the post-Christmas week. What a lovely return to a favorite memory. This is my third stay at the Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast, and it is still one of my favorite places to stay. The Innkeepers are par none in service and hospitality.

None of my family or my friend's family had been there before and they all loved it!

Thanks for another great vacation!

Rebekah

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 200 Osborne Street, St. Marys, GA 31558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > St. Marys
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Marys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.