We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1252 N 12th Street, Middlesboro, KY 40965 (Formerly Days Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Middlesboro
Winter Park, Florida
1 review
“Quick trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We were there to attend a funeral and everyone was very helpful and friendly! I have to say Kim and Wanda went above and beyond to be helpful!! It was greatly appreciated! And our room was clean and well stocked. They also had computer and printer we could use so we could check in online with the airlines and print our boarding pass, very nice!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorj849, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you, Lisa H, for your kind comments. I will be sure to pass along to Kim and Wanda your appreciation. We love hearing from our guest and look forward to welcoming you back in the future under better circumstances. Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    19
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
23
14
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berea, Kentucky, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Checked in with three other groups, ours was the smallest group but ended up costing more. Receipt was for $93.45 but when checked bank account later there was a charge of $214.95 that they claimed was for a damage deposit. When asked about it they said it would be taken off in the morning but when checked out was told it would be 7 to 10 days. None of the others had this charge and the only differance was ours was a handicap room that was not even asked for. If the handicaped room was the reason i consider that discrimination!
Also they have the loadest air-conditioners

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Robert B,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Close Cumberland Gap close and plenty place to close by

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartville, OH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel June 23 - 25, 2012. Overall i was very impressed with every aspect. The rooms were clean. The staff was super helpful and friendly. The included breakfast exceeded my expectations. I figured it would be donuts and bagels, but it was more. The first morning we were there they served pre-made cheese omelets and sausage. The next morning was scrambled eggs and bacon. It seems like they have various pastries, pancakes, toast, juice, coffee every morning. I was traveling with my handicapped grandmother. there was enough room for her in her wheelchair in the room. As someone else stated, this is a dry town, which limits the choices for a good place to eat. A Cracker Barrel is right down the road which just opened very recently. That apparently is the place to eat in the town. It was very busy. There are typically fast food places around. Walmart is right across the street from this hotel.

One thing to note about this hotel is that a fridge is not standard in the room. You can request one. I just asked the front desk and they brought one to my room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed here this past Thursday (June 14, 2010) for one night. After reading some of the reviews I tried to make a reservation at the Sleep Inn next door...but they were booked. We hesitantly booked a room at this Holiday Inn Express. We arrived close to midnight and we were holding our breaths when we opened the door not exactly knowing what to expect.....Well, first off we felt very safe in the parking lot and it was midnight. The room was immaculate. Cleaner than any other Holiday Inn Express I have stayed in and cleaner than most Hampton Inn's and Fairfiields...which is my preference for overnight stays on the road. Yes the tv was not a flat screen...but it worked great and had many cable channels. The bathroom was spotless and had great water pressure in the shower. The beds were doubles not queens and were not feather top beds, but still standard...nothing great or nothing bad...but again clean. Breakfast was included, but only until 9:30 a.m. We had cell service in our room...but we did not try to use their wifi so I'm not sure about how fast their internet is.
We did not hear any road traffic in our room (although it is located on main road thru town). Their are plenty of stores, restaurants (even a Cracker Barrel across the street), and gas stations within walking distance. It was the perfect location for accessing Cumberland Gap National Park.
As far as the person who complained about waiting on hold....when I came in the girl was in the middle of a phone reservation...she put them on hold to check me in....I think the protocal might be to handle people in person before phone because as I was leaving she apologizing to the person on the line for their wait and I guess you always have the option of using the 1-800 number for reservations instead of calling hotel itself (which I understand, because I prefer to deal with actual hotel not general reservation line).
We would have no problem staying there again...you can't beat it for $89 a night. All the staff that we came across from front desk to house keeping was very friendly and helpful when we asked them about excursions we had planned during the day.

Room Tip: Make sure you request smoking or not smoking. It looked as though they had smoking rooms. Ours was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed in this Holiday Inn Express in May 2012 and were very favortably impressed with the upgraded mini-suite, which was very large and nicely appointed. We missed not having a microwave and refrigerator in the room, but we were told they were available. The hotel location is very convenient when visiting Cumberland Gap National Historic Park and other southwest Virginia or East Kentucky areas. It's also very close to Lincoln Memorial University, and the Lincoln Museum (definitely worth a visit!). The hotel staff is extremely helpful and friendly, and they seem to work very hard to keep the place in good shape and to assist their guests. The renovations have not yet been completed, and we were told new furniture and furnishings were on the way....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrodsburg, KY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I called to see if they had a room available the weekend I would be in the area. The man who answered the phone said "Let me look." Five minutes later he still had not come back to the phone. How long does it take to say yes or no? Or at least come back and say why it is taking so long?

Room Tip: Best tip - call another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear David H,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused. We will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N.
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro

Address: 1252 N 12th Street, Middlesboro, KY 40965 (Formerly Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Middlesboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Middlesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro Hotel is located in Middlesboro's blend of historic woodlands, wonderful views, and well-seasoned beauty. We are located next to one of the oldest State Parks - Pine Mountain State Park and Cumberland Gap National Park. The Holiday Inn Express is not far from Cumberland Gap, the trail that was used by Daniel Boone, features a lot of hiking trails, crafts and Southern Hospitality. The Holiday Inn Express is located in an area where the dining is the choosing, whether you desire the charm of a historic view or the economy of a family restaurant, you can find it here. Hotel features include free local phone calls and a complimentary Express Start continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Middlesboro, KY and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro Hotel Middlesboro
Holiday Inn Middlesboro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.