We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1252 N 12th Street, Middlesboro, KY 40965 (Formerly Days Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Middlesboro
Harrodsburg, KY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I called to see if they had a room available the weekend I would be in the area. The man who answered the phone said "Let me look." Five minutes later he still had not come back to the phone. How long does it take to say yes or no? Or at least come back and say why it is taking so long?

Room Tip: Best tip - call another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear David H,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused. We will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N.
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    19
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
22
14
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

It is not the only place as the owner just opened a "Sleep Inn". But is a good location and a decent hotel. Like just about any other Hoilday Inn Express except not updates. Very friendly staff. Refrigerators and microwaves available, but you have to ask. We were told the owner put both in the new hotel but won't spend the money to put them in all of the rooms at the HI Express. They need to upgrade the TVs from the 15 year old tube type they have currently.
Could use some new mattresses too.

Room Tip: Don't sleep in a room near the lobby. Noise all night long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, NC
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is a pretty standard Holiday Inn Express. It sits right outside the entrance to Cumberland Gap National Historical Park, so its location is ideal. A couple of things stand out. One is how incredibly noisy our room was. It faced the main drag in a coal mining town which means that we listened to heavy coal transport trucks booming and lumbering in front of our room at all hours of the night. The second item isn't a direct reflection on the hotel, but an important observation for any visitor. This is a dry town which means more than you can't get a glass of wine. It means that there are no recognizable fast casual dining spots in town. Applebee's, etc. rely on liquor sales to make their locations profitable so there're not here. Your choices are nothing but fast food.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, ask for a room on the back side of the hotel, away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear NCLoggerheads,

Thank You for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Older hotel for sure, but comfortable and immaculately clean. Furniture could use updating, but everything was perfectly functional. Would absolutely stay here again next time. Friendly, helpful staff, excellent breakfast. The pool is outdoor, and was closed during our trip (early April..not open for the season yet). Didn't find a fitness center.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Booked a non smoking quite room and received what I wanted. This hotel is clean and appears to be well kept. Morning breakfast has all that one would wish for and more. I would not say the front desk was overly friendly, more like I took him away from his game on the pad. Nevertheless we got checked in and enjoyed the night.

Room Tip: Took this route up from Florida as I-26 and I-40 were very busy. This makes for a more relaxed driv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Good mid scale hotel. Free breakfast was good. Quiet at night. Easy parking

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed at this hotel on our vacation through Kentucky. This was a nice clean and quiet hotel. Very friendly staff. Nice breakfast layout. I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro

Address: 1252 N 12th Street, Middlesboro, KY 40965 (Formerly Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Middlesboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Middlesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro Hotel is located in Middlesboro's blend of historic woodlands, wonderful views, and well-seasoned beauty. We are located next to one of the oldest State Parks - Pine Mountain State Park and Cumberland Gap National Park. The Holiday Inn Express is not far from Cumberland Gap, the trail that was used by Daniel Boone, features a lot of hiking trails, crafts and Southern Hospitality. The Holiday Inn Express is located in an area where the dining is the choosing, whether you desire the charm of a historic view or the economy of a family restaurant, you can find it here. Hotel features include free local phone calls and a complimentary Express Start continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Middlesboro, KY and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro Hotel Middlesboro
Holiday Inn Middlesboro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.