We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coal Trucks Rumble Through Town At All Hours” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1252 N 12th Street, Middlesboro, KY 40965 (Formerly Days Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Middlesboro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
High Point, NC
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Coal Trucks Rumble Through Town At All Hours”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is a pretty standard Holiday Inn Express. It sits right outside the entrance to Cumberland Gap National Historical Park, so its location is ideal. A couple of things stand out. One is how incredibly noisy our room was. It faced the main drag in a coal mining town which means that we listened to heavy coal transport trucks booming and lumbering in front of our room at all hours of the night. The second item isn't a direct reflection on the hotel, but an important observation for any visitor. This is a dry town which means more than you can't get a glass of wine. It means that there are no recognizable fast casual dining spots in town. Applebee's, etc. rely on liquor sales to make their locations profitable so there're not here. Your choices are nothing but fast food.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, ask for a room on the back side of the hotel, away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear NCLoggerheads,

Thank You for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    24
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
26
20
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Suffern
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Older hotel for sure, but comfortable and immaculately clean. Furniture could use updating, but everything was perfectly functional. Would absolutely stay here again next time. Friendly, helpful staff, excellent breakfast. The pool is outdoor, and was closed during our trip (early April..not open for the season yet). Didn't find a fitness center.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Booked a non smoking quite room and received what I wanted. This hotel is clean and appears to be well kept. Morning breakfast has all that one would wish for and more. I would not say the front desk was overly friendly, more like I took him away from his game on the pad. Nevertheless we got checked in and enjoyed the night.

Room Tip: Took this route up from Florida as I-26 and I-40 were very busy. This makes for a more relaxed driv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Good mid scale hotel. Free breakfast was good. Quiet at night. Easy parking

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed at this hotel on our vacation through Kentucky. This was a nice clean and quiet hotel. Very friendly staff. Nice breakfast layout. I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

I had to come to Middlesboro, Kentucky because my father had passed away suddenly. Creech Funeral Home called and they were more than happy to put my family up for the evening. They had a smoking room, which is hard to find these days. After a friendly and quick check in, we finally got to rest after a long day and drive. In the morning, we did not partake in the breakfast offered. I did notice that there was plenty of food and lots of people enjoying it. So, it must have been okay. Check out was a snap. I explained that I might have to extend my stay later in the week. They put me on a priority list due to my father's funeral. So, that was so very nice. I will be back to visit the area because it is just breathtaking.

Room Tip: I stayed off of the main lobby, noise free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

Check in was quick and easy. I booked the room online, so they already had my room key waiting at the desk. Public areas were clean and in good condition. Room was very clean, bed comfortable. High speed wireless internet worked very well. I only had two minor issues: the hotel is right next to the main street going through town and traffic noise was bothersome unless you're on the opposite side of the hotel; and the bathtub drain was clogged so I stood in a tub full of water when I showered each morning. But I'd stay here again if I'm ever in the area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro

Address: 1252 N 12th Street, Middlesboro, KY 40965 (Formerly Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Middlesboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Middlesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro Hotel is located in Middlesboro's blend of historic woodlands, wonderful views, and well-seasoned beauty. We are located next to one of the oldest State Parks - Pine Mountain State Park and Cumberland Gap National Park. The Holiday Inn Express is not far from Cumberland Gap, the trail that was used by Daniel Boone, features a lot of hiking trails, crafts and Southern Hospitality. The Holiday Inn Express is located in an area where the dining is the choosing, whether you desire the charm of a historic view or the economy of a family restaurant, you can find it here. Hotel features include free local phone calls and a complimentary Express Start continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Middlesboro, KY and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro Hotel Middlesboro
Holiday Inn Middlesboro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.