We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crater Lake Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Crater Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Crater Lake Lodge
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Rim Drive, Crater Lake, OR 97604   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Crater Lake B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Nice place to stay, but expensive (not good value for the $). The lobby is really nice with big fire place and there are rocking chairs on the back deck overlooking the lake. Restaurant is way overpriced so we ate 7 miles down the road at a good restaurant at the campground.
Staff is nice. Bring a coat even in June.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    220
    77
    38
    21
See reviews for
136
323
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Country Club
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed two nights at Crater Lake Lodge. It's a beautiful property, certainly among the best of the classic great lodges of the national parks. Our room was very clean and quite comfortable with a view to die for. We loved spending time reading in the lobby and watching the comings and goings of others.

The only downside was that snow had not yet melted from hiking trails around the lodge or down to the lake. Worse, the boat to Wizard Island was not yet running. Also, don't expect much for cell reception. No TV, but Internet Wifi was decent.

Bottom line, the mid-June weather was marvelous, and our time there was memorable.

Room Tip: No doubt that a room with the lake view is what you want. Ask for it. However, make your reservation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I loved this lodge. Our room was clean and comfortable. Downstairs there was a big room with a fire place where you could sit and have a drink. We ate several times in the dining room, and all the meals were very good. There was a long porch outside with rocking chairs where you could sit and look at the beautiful lake. All the staff were friendly and we had great service.

Room Tip: Get a lake view if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I made our reservations 5 1/2 months in advance and asked for a like view. As we climbed Mt. Mazama in June, the snow started falling and the visibility got pretty bad. The lodge is a beautiful place with roaring fires and Ponderosa pine trim. Absolutely beautiful. We couldn't see the lake at all, it was so cloudy/foggy. The sun rose the next morning to reveal the absolutely beautiful lake and surroundings. We were thrilled to see it an took tons and tons of pictures. Just lovely. The staff was wonderful, and our room was very nice compared to some of the other national park lodges we've gone to. I would highly recommend it. The food definitely wasn't cheap, but was delicious. The staff was very nice and always willing to help. My kids were very appreciative of the playing cards and board games behind the front desk that they were able to play while sitting in front of the fire.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in what was billed as a 'partial lake view'. Our room was on the 3rd floor, had 3 windows, ALL windows with a tremendous lake view! What a surprise, and WHAT A VIEW! We saw sunrise both mornings and got some great pictures.

From check-in to check-out, staff couldn't have been nicer, and helpful. We had one breakfast and both dinners at the lodge restaurant. I did make reservations for dinner before we left home. Had view seating for all 3 meals. Our food was well prepared and nicely served. Menu was varied, and considering the location, we felt it was not over-priced. Wait staff very pleasant.

I am a tour operator and this was our first time at the lodge. Staff had no idea I am in the tour business, therefore, I conclude that our service was what all clients receive from the lodge and staff. Would we stay here again...IN A HEARTBEAT! We look forward to that! Thank you Crater Lake Lodge and Staff.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views,especially lake side. Did not see any other rooms so cannot comment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the lodge. Our room was clean and comfortable. Luxury it is not,but it does not pretend to be. There was a small hanging space and no drawers. This was not a problem for us as we were not intending to unpack. We did not breakfast in house as it looked pricey. We dined one night and our meals were great. Beautifully served and a nice atmosphere in the dining room. Sitting outside on the rocking chairs has to be a highlight while you watch the beautiful view.
Our disappointments were that the road east was closed,but this is down to Park management .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were lucky enough to have a family room (4 adults and 2 toddlers) with view and so we got up at 04:30 to watch the sun rise over the lake. It was fantastic and not to be missed. It was snowing as we arrived and the roads were closed which was a pity. However the next day was beautiful sunshine and we were able to sit on the chairs outside and take loads of pictures, It really is something else. You do have to pay a $10 entry to the park even if you are staying at the Lodge so be sure you have some money on you! The lodge itself was lovely with big open fires (although not "real") and the rooms clean and comfortable however the food in the restaurant let it down and was over priced for the quality. My dinner was not very good and the scallops in the salad were cooked to extinction and were tiny. They left off the feta cheese and the lettuce was dry. I know we were in a beautiful setting and obviously raw ingredients have to travel a long way to get there (but so had we, all the way from England) but it was a big disapointment. The breakfast was no better either sadly. All in all it was an experience not to be missed and when booking try and get a room overlooking the lake to experience the sun rise.

Room Tip: If in a family group try and get one of the rooms on 2 levels as it makes it seem like you have 2 ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crater Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crater Lake Lodge

Address: Rim Drive, Crater Lake, OR 97604
Location: United States > Oregon > Crater Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Crater Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Crater Lake Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the rim of Crater Lake caldera, the Crater Lake Lodge is a romantic accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Crater Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crater Lake Hotel Crater Lake
Crater Lake Lodge Crater Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crater Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.