We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is that all there is” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rogue River

Rogue River
Crater Lake, OR
Improve this listing
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: White-water rafting, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A pristine river offering challenging rapids and beautiful waterfalls.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Is that all there is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I planned a trip to Crater Lake and aded Mt. Hood and Columbia Gourge to the mix. Thank God we added Mt. Hood and the waterfalls in the Columbia Gourge. With all the hype we read about Crater Lake after driving 5 Hours form Mt. Hood we both looked at the Lake and said is that it. The water was not blue as some said it was black and it had some sort of slick on it. I'm guessing from all the melting snow and residue from cars in the snow. It was June and the boat was not running. I guess if your in the area I would visit but Northern OR is so much nicer

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    11
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
599 reviews 599 reviews
203 attraction reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
405 helpful votes 405 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Early birds get the... ability to see this without having to fight the traffic. Plan ahead and have the right transportation November - March because it could be a wasted trip. The scenery is well worth the drive, even if you are staying in the Portland area. Many pullovers for that perfect picnic location!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquille, Oregon
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Beautiful, unspoiled river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This unspoiled and pristine river has good access camp grounds, parks and boat ramps at regular but not frequent intervals, making it a wonderful place to fish, picnic and enjoy nature.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, TX
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Awesome views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I've been to Crater Lake 3 times and each time was incredible. Once I went in mid-June and it was not possible to drive around the lake since snow still blocked the road but the view with the snow was gorgeous. The other 2 times were in the early fall so the rim was clear of snow and the drive with all the pullouts with the views was great. Last time we lunched at the visitor center which was just a simple hotdog and ice tea. Next time I'll pack a picnic for a more leisurely lunch away from all the crowds.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great picnic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stopped at Rouge River for a picnic lunch. Beautiful spot, lots of picnic tables right by the river. Flush-able bath facilities. We watched kayakers paddling by as we ate lunch. really nice setting.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rogue River also viewed

Crater Lake National Park, OR
 

Been to Rogue River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rogue River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.