We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“June in Hereford” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ash Canyon Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hereford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ash Canyon Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Ash Canyon Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
5255 Spring Road, Hereford, AZ 85615-9029   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hereford B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“June in Hereford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was our 3rd trip in June in recent years to Hereford for bird-watching and relaxation. It's cooler there than in the low Arizona deserts and watching the summer birds is enjoyable. We were well entertained in Mary Jo's yard by Gould's turkeys, broadbilled hummers, bridled titmice, blue grosbeaks, & other year-round residents. Additionally, we particularly enjoyed a pocket gopher scurry forward and hurriedly back up, repeatedly, a few feet from us; a collared lizard that gave the impression of inlaid turquoise on his back; and the shy Coues deer a few feet away.

Mary Jo was very hospitable and available, if we wanted her. The casita is a spacious studio apartment w/a comfy bed. She provided more breakfast fixings than we needed & we enjoyed all on the shaded patio each morning. We recommend Ash Canyon B&B if you like simplicity and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Jo B, Owner at Ash Canyon Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your stay here, Alice. It was fun sharing all these creatures with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Pine, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed at Ash Canyon B&B in May 2012. We visited this place on a birding trip in 2011 and thought it would be a great place to come back to and just hang out. Mary Jo has this place setup for bird watching and it is delightful to just sit at any of the viewing areas and just watch birds. This place is close to many of the great birding locations in the Huachuca's. The Casita is comfortable and the breakfast is adaquate. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ash Canyon Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear T & M,

Thank you for this nice review. It was great fun hanging out with you on the back porch in the mornings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

For year's I had heard about the Ash Canyon B&B and what a draw it was for birders and nature-loving folk when visiting Southeastern Arizona, so when my wife and I planned to finally make a trip, there was no doubt of where I wanted to stay. We could not have been more happy with our stay there. The casita that Mary Jo (the proprietor) maintains is clean and comfortable, and the yard is filled with feeders that attract dozens of species of birds, not to mention mammals and some neat lizards. Mary Jo was always very gracious and wished to know if there was anything at all she could do to make out visit a pleasant one, from special food requests for the pantry to toiletries, etc. A wonderful, memorable, and very special place that we forward to visiting again and again.

Room Tip: This is a small and quiet location where there is a single separate casita. Only one guest (or coup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed at Ash Canyon B & B for 3 days in August, 2011. This was after the big Monument fire in July. Thankfully Mary Jo's place was spared for the most part. Her plants surrounding the Casita and house were lush and blooming and hummingbirds were everywhere.

Mary Jo greeted us like we were old friends, with a smile, and lovingly showed us around the Casita and grounds. The Casita was well stocked, roomy, clean and comfortable. There are many books to browse through including many on birds and nature.

We are enthusiastic amateur birders and after some helpful tips from Mary Jo we were able to easily identify all the hummers that showed up while we were looking; Broad-Billed, Annas, Black-Chinned, Magnificent, Rufous & Lucifer (the biggest draw for the day birders).

We loved our stay and feel like we've made a new friend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

First, we did not stay at Ash Canyon B&B simply because we were booked at another place. However, we did visit the property for bird viewing. Mary Jo came into the garden, welcomed us, and later joined us as a "naturalist". We would not have been able to identify some of the birds without her help. Thanks to her, we were able to spot a lucifer hummingbird.
With the level of detail that Mary Jo gives her guests, I would speculate that the accommodations are excellent.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

Mary Jo's Ash Canyon B & B is arguably the best location for viewing unique species of hummingbirds right outside your room. The room is a modern straw bale casita which is very comfortable in a beautiful natural setting. Mary Jo is a welcoming innkeeper. The location is off the beaten path for tourists, but is a perfect location for birds, especially rare hummers. There are numerous feeders, but the main attraction to me is the natural plants and the birds feeding in the natural setting. It is a wonderful location for photographers. While there are numerous excellent locations for viewing hummers in SE Arizona, Ash Canyon B&B is our favorite for viewing in a natural setting

  • Liked — natural setting for bird watching
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ash Canyon Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Canyon Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5255 Spring Road, Hereford, AZ 85615-9029
Location: United States > Arizona > Hereford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hereford
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casita (a separate building from my house) is designed with your comfort in mind. Inside, you will find the spacious room with kitchenette and bath thoughtfully stocked with everything you need, and then some. If you're a birder, you won't want to miss watching the amazing variety and numbers of birds coming to the feeding areas and water features. You can enjoy your morning coffee either on your own private patio, or walk a few steps to my back porch, where I can join you to help you identify the many birds, mammals, butterflies, and reptiles coming to visit. This is a nature preserve that many have called a slice of Paradise. Come share it with me.Mary Jo Ballator, Host ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ash Canyon Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.