We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down by the River” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de San Pedro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa de San Pedro to your Saves list
Casa de San Pedro
8933 S Yell Lane, Hereford, AZ 85615   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hereford B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
oklahoma city
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Down by the River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Yes, the Casa de San Pedro is located nearby the San Pedro river but don't pack your fishing pole just yet. In February the river had just 18 inches of water.

This Casa is an enigma. When first arriving you'll swear that you had ended up in the middle of nowhere: sagebrush and mesquite brush abounds everywhere and the Casa is nestled almost hidden behind the SW vegetation. Don't despair though. Thr owners are the ultimate hosts affording great hospitality.

You can expect early morning coffee, comfortable rooms with ceiling fans in addition to A/C, room & modern showers, and a fabulous ranch house common area to gather before meals. If you like dogs, there are 2 old gentle ones around the property.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
58
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

We stayed at Casa de San Pedro with Vermont biking tours for two nights. It is a chamring oasis in the middle of the dessert. Karl and Patrick, the B & B owners made it feel like home. Meals for delicious and thoughtfully prepared, goodies to snack on were readily available at all hours.
The rooms are clean and quiet - even ours which was next to the free laundry facility (which was wonderful while being on a bike tour) and all opened into an inviting courtyard.
For those into bird watching, this is the place to come to.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We absolutely loved our stay at Casa de San Pedro & can't wait to return! We are nature lovers & birders, so this was a treat, even in January. It's perfectly located for birdwatching (Ramsey Canyon & the San Pedro River, our favorites) & for sightseers there are nearby spots such as the Coronado National Memorial, Bisbee & Tombstone. Awesome breakfasts cooked by our hosts and an ever present array of delicious baked goods. Comfy rooms, a sweet courtyard to greet the morning sun, laundry facilities. No TV, which we didn't miss (there is one in the "family room"). Check out nearby Mesquite restaurant in Hereford for a decent meal & a good Margarita.
In regard to safety issues being so close to Mexican border--stay on U.S. side & you'll be fine.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

We stayed at the Casa de San Pedro for a week over Christmas to escape the cold and snow back home and we had a brilliant time. The location is lovely, quiet and restful and Karl and Patrick do everything possible to make your stay enjoyable without overpowering you with suggestions and attention. The breakfasts were outstanding and we met some lovely people from all walks of life. Karl and Patrick organised Christmas dinner at the Casa and that was also a great occasion. Sierra Vista is 15 minutes away and provides everything you need in the form of shops and good restaurants. There are plenty of places to visit or just stay at the Casa and relax in beautiful and peaceful surroundings. I am sure we will return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

This was our fourth visit to the Casa and we love it even more. Karl & Patrick are the perfect hosts, the setting is magnificent and the food amazing. It offers excellent birding on the property and is located near many of the best birding spots in S.E. Arizona. However you don't need to be a birder to appreciate this B&B. The area also offers fantastic hiking and biking trails, historical places to visit and beautiful scenery. You'll love this B&B and will regret having to leave.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Located near the San Pedro Riparian National Conservation Area (NCA) in Cochise County, Arizona, this Bed and Breakfast Inn is perfect for relaxation and enjoying nature. The Inn is perfectly designed as an old Spanish hacienda and kept immaculate. The hosts are very accommodating and the breakfast is great! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

We stayed several nights at Casa de San Pedro while birding in SE Arizona. Located adjacent to the San Pedro Riparian Preserve, the Inn was really delightful ... quite elegant but unpretentious. The setting was perfect for our interests . The room was large and comfortable, opening onto a beautiful common courtyard. Karl and Patrick were incredibly accommodating, providing early breakfasts and suggesting guided walks by area naturalists. There was a guest laundry with all supplies provided. A highlight was the specially prepared Mexican dinner ($18 pp) on the night of our arrival.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de San Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de San Pedro

Address: 8933 S Yell Lane, Hereford, AZ 85615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Hereford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hereford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SE Arizona territorial hacienda located on the San Pedro River - one of the Nature Conservancy's Last Great Places on Earth. 10 luxury guest rooms. Only 90 miles SE of Tucson, but only inches from heaven. Perfect for birding, hiking, biking or relaxing. Above al it is quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Casa de San Pedro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De San Pedro Hotel Hereford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de San Pedro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.