We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but fun museum with a few hands-on activities for kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dinosaur Journey Museum

Dinosaur Journey Museum
550 Jurassic Court, (part of the Museum of Western Colorado), Fruita, CO
970-858-7282
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 things to do in Fruita
Attraction details
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Small but fun museum with a few hands-on activities for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We've been to the Dinosaur Museum twice with our daughter on visits to Grand Junction--the first time she was 3 1/2 and this time she was 5. She really enjoyed it both times. The film they show is pretty good, Discovery Channel produced it I think. There's a relatively small hall with exhibits, of which several are animatronic dinosaurs, including one that spits water if you're standing on a nearby bridge. That one of course draws all the shrieks of excitement. They also have a "find the fossil" area filled with nut shells rather than sand (so be careful for those with I think it was walnut allergies), and a place where kids can experiment with moving stones around to block the travel of a ball down a waterfall-type-feature. There's also a platform to show what an earthquake feels like. The gift shop is good-sized for the size of the museum. Oh, and there are some scientists/workers there brushing off fossils which is kind of neat. The museum isn't free--We bought a family ticket for four adults and our daughter which I think was $25 or so.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    26
    6
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Good stop with young kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We took an 8 year old and she had a couple of hours of fun. The animatronics are not Disney World, but they are fine for Western Colorado. The idea that digs are nearby (a short drive takes you to some) makes it real for the kids. They make the best use of the space that they have and they managed to pique an interest in earth science in our grandchild. Staff is friendly and helpful. A nice stop for a school holiday.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Second trip to Museam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our family hit this place on Monday, our last stop before driving back to Denver. This place is great. The boys ran around (4 & 5 years old) identifying dinosaurs. On one of our trecks in Moab on the Klondike trail we found actual dinosaur prints in the slickrock. After describing them to the staff, they were able to identify them as a sauropod (meat eater), possibly an allosaurous or utah raptor. We love the mechanical dinos, one even spits at you. There is also an earth quake simulator that we played with for some time. Its a great place to see, much more interactive then say the Denver Museam of History.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great little stop with kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This little museum was our lunch stop on a 6-hour car drive and it was a perfect distraction for our 2- and 7-year old. Yes, the models are a little tacky, but there is plenty to discover for little ones.

We enjoyed our stop and were glad we ignored the bad reviews on here. If you are on your way from Denver to Utah and are travelling with small children, it's at a great spot for a break. And they have little picnic tables inside where you can bring and eat your own lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good but not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The museum was nice but it wasnt as big or as great as we were told. Our 7yr old liked it as we did as well but it didnt take us long to get through the museum it took about 35 minutes and that was with us letting our son play in the digging pit. But my son lost interest in it quick.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinosaur Journey Museum also viewed

 

Been to Dinosaur Journey Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dinosaur Journey Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.