We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Accommodations; Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast

Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yorktown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
220 Church Street, Yorktown, VA 23690   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Yorktown B&B and Inns
Stow, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Relaxing Accommodations; Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Don't miss this B & B if you want the extra convenience of a kitchenette---one room even has a full kitchen! The gardens on the grounds are magnificent, with areas to sit and relax while you enjoy the beauty of the property. Yorktown is a great place to visit, and very close to Williamsburg, which is more expensive and much more congested. Tom is a very kind innkeeper and he genuinely cares about the well-being of his guests. Yorktown has a lovely shopping district on the river, a rich history, lovely homes and gardens, and a beach. We truly enjoyed our visit and highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here Memorial Day weekend with my boyfriend and his family. We stayed in the top floor Lucy's Hideaway room, which connected to the Thomas Nelson Suite that we shared with his sister and brother-in-law. This arrangement made for a lovely mix of meal sharing and privacy. Lucy's Hideaway is exactly what it sounds like: cozy and quaint. Downstairs are lovely nooks and crannies to relax in: gardens expertly cultivated by co-owner Poppet, and a huge backyard with seating and a hammock. My boyfriend's second sister stayed in the downstairs suite that opens out to the yard, whih made for relaxing evening family gatherings watching fireflies over a glass of wine. Co-owner Tom is perfectly suited to his role as host. He is friendly, knowledgable, and has a long family history with Yorktown: he is related to THE Thomas Nelson often referred to throughout the town's helpful historical plaques. Yorktown itself is a perfect blend of colonial and civil war preservation and beach getaway. Marl Inn is close to everything and I took many a relaxing or invigorating walk depending on the location. All in all, Marl Inn largely contributed to a really wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed at The Marl Inn and loved it! Tom and Poppet were great hosts. The rooms were nice and clean. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms and it was a nice and quiet room. The landscaping was very nice, as was the breakfast. We actually made a couple of new friends that weekend. Everyone ate around the dining room table together, which was a new experience for us at a bed and breakfast. They have a large suite downstairs that we are considering staying in next time. It's only about 15-20 minutes from Williamsburg, VA and extremely close the riverside at Yorktown. I highly recommend staying at The Marl Inn.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We have recently returned from 4 weeks travelling in Virginia, North and South Carolina where we stayed in 8 B&B's and 2 hotels.
We came across the Marl Inn by accident. We were due to stay just south of Yorktown and visit all three of the 'Colonial towns'. Unfortunately there was no one to greet us on arrival and we had to find other accommodation. Marl Inn was full but Tom and Poppet were unbelievably helpful to us and we ended up staying there for 6 nights. The Inn is lovely, the rooms are super and the garden is a very peaceful place in which to relax and unwind.
They are an incredible couple, so friendly and generous with their time and hospitality.
This is the only Inn that we stayed in where the guest has the option of a breakfast with them or getting their own in their suite which has kitchen facilities.
Its great to stay in Yorktown itself. We just left the car at the Inn and walked everywhere. Its minutes to several good restaurants and all the historic area. There is a great beach and some good shops. The Saturday market was great and one evening a week there is music and dancing on the village green.
Its a beautiful drive to Williamsburg and Jamestown via the Colonial Parkway.
We had a great time and will definitely go there again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

Thomas and Poppet Nelson are wonderful hosts that understand what a business person needs on a getaway. They are warm and seem to intuitively sense what you need: a pickup and ride to/from the airport at a ridiculous early hour, fresh-baked bread, an easy-going stay with tons of privacy, a great separate unit with your own kitchen, bath, living room and giant bedroom overlooking a field with deer crossing and the water in view. I had an amazing time and it made me want to live in Yorktown, VA. I love my NYC lifestyle, so that's saying something. The location also has a lot of history, and this is one place in this historic town where you won't necessarily need a car. It's all withiin walking distance if you love to wander and take in nature. Thomas has great stories too. Definitely stay here.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 220 Church Street, Yorktown, VA 23690
Location: United States > Virginia > Yorktown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Yorktown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marl Inn is a private home Bed and Breakfast, built in 1978 with a colonial architectural style. The Inn opened for business in 1996 and was restored in 2001. In September 2009, the Inn was purchased by Tom and Poppet Nelson. Tom is the fourth great-grandson of Thomas Nelson, Jr., Signer of the Declaration of Independence, Revolutionary War Governor after Thomas Jefferson and commander of the Virginia Militia during the siege of Yorktown. The Inn is named for hard clay called "Marl". Used as a building material by early colonists in Yorktown, it is filled with crustaceans found on the banks of the Chesapeake Bay. Constructed in 1978, enlarged in 1996 and again in 1999, for several years. Marl Inn was the last house built in the historic district of Yorktown. This white picket fenced Bed and Breakfast is situated on a half acre lot, adjacent to the town's original 1691 surveyed lots. Yorktown is a National Landmark where American and French forces won the last battle of the American Revolution. Marl Inn is a half block from the restored Main Street village of Yorktown and two (2) blocks from Yorktown's Riverwalk Landing along the York River. We are within walking distance of fine restaurants, antique shops, museums and the beach. Bring your bicycles to tour the village, battlegrounds and museums. Take a short walk to the Colonial National Historical Park (CNHP) Visitor Center, at the location of the last major battle of the American Revolutionary War. Full breakfast is only for guests and not the general public. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.