We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yorktown Sailing Charters

Yorktown Sailing Charters
Water Street, Yorktown, VA 23690
757-639-1233
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We did the sunset cruise and had a great time. The crew made it very enjoyable. The first mate reminds me of a surfer, but according to him he does not get in the water. He gives you the history in an offbeat but accurate way. The cruise lasted for 2 1/2 hours, a little longer than advertised. There is a little galley on the boat where they serve drinks and packaged snacks. You can't bring your own on the boat so prepare for that. I imagine there is a restroom on the boat but it would involve stairs in a cramped space so be prepared for that. There are public restrooms on the Riverwalk Landing that you can use before the cruise. Depending on the weather it could be a little cool so a light jacket might be advised if you get cool. It was a great cruise and a very nice sunset, what more do you need?

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    9
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

If you haven't sailed on a larger vessel this is a must. You'll get the full experience if you are part of the action raising sails and asking a lot of questions. While there is no specific programmed commentary the captain is very knowledgeable of the local area and is glad to share that knowledge. Don't forget a camera to take a picture of your favorite shipmate hauling on the lines. Most importantly dress for the weather - and the potential weather. Just because it is 80 degrees and beautiful at the beginning of the two hour sail doesn't mean it is going to stay that way. Don't forget the sunblock either. I've sailed on Alliance a couple of times and have always had a good, and different, experience. Yes, dolphin do come up into the York River.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia, VA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Sunset Cruise -- Really great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had a really fabulous sunset cruise on the Alliance last weekend. We were looking for something fun to do in the evening that would get us out on the water. The crew was fun and knowledgeable. They told us about the different kinds sails and about the different sights from the ship.

We saw a bald eagle and because of a cold front that was coming in, saw a pair of sundogs (rainbows) on either side of the sunset. We will definitely go on Yorktown Sailing Charters again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, IN
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Pirate Cruise with Toddler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Traveling around Williamsburg, we sought out things that might be entertaining to a 2 year old, and found the Alliance Pirate Cruise. The weather was not the greatest, but we all had a great time-- the grownups enjoyed it the most! The crew was very down to earth and friendly, and our little one enjoyed trying to tie knots with the other kids and having a snack below deck. SHe is still talking about the canon they fired right before we docked!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fun and relaxing time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have sailed on both the Serenity and the 105 ft. Alliance in May 2011 and May 2012. Both vessels provided a fun and relaxing time. Our daughter enjoyed the Pirate cruise very much on the Serenity. The captain and crew dress in pirate attire. Kids can dress in pirate attire, but leave the swords at home (safety hazard). Both ships have a small cannon, which they fired and everyone enjoyed. The sunset cruise on the Alliance provides a relaxing time to be on the water with a beautiful sunset. We saw several porpoises as well. Beverages, snacks, tee shirts, sweat shirts and hats are for sale on both ships.

Greg and Laura Lohse, Captains and Owners of Schooners Alliance and Serenity, are wonderful people. The crew is very friendly and entertaining. They share history about Yorktown, too. This is well worth the price and is a family adventure all will remember years later.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yorktown Sailing Charters also viewed

 

Been to Yorktown Sailing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yorktown Sailing Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.