We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Economical, but Shabby” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Duke of York Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Duke of York Hotel to your Saves list
Duke of York Hotel
508 Water Street, The Only Hotel in the Historic Village of Yorktown, VA, Yorktown, VA 23690   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Yorktown
Norfolk, VA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, Economical, but Shabby”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

This is an economy MO-tel. I emphasize the MO...Imagine a 1950s motel with external room entrances that has been upgraded with fresh paint throughout, and new window A/C units. If you don't have any expectations, then you will find this a below-average, slightly shabby place to flop. Great value with Military Discount put my room at $90 for a night during peak summer season (weekday). The restaurant does not open until 0730, and it is the ONLY game in town for breakfast. Only 3 restaurants in walking distance for other meals.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    29
    11
    16
    18
See reviews for
32
27
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2007

We walked in off the street and were given a great rate. The guy at the front desk was very friendly and informative. Our room was clean and the beds were comfy. The hotel is right across the street from the York River and the views were fantastic. There are 4 restaurants within walking distance. Other sights would have been within walking distance if it were not so cold.
We would definately stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cold weather
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2006

The reviews on this hotel are misleading. This is not where you want your family vacation at all. The hotel is old ( and I don't mean colonial old) - just run down old, and in poor condition. It has a moldy smell - I think from the carpet. While some attempts have been made to make the rooms look up to date, hardly enough has been done, and frankly - it's unexcusable. The bedding is of poor quality, as well as the curtians and furniture. There is absolutely no ambiance - and I believe the walls are cinder-block. The pool is very small. It is a shame that this hotel is all that The Yorktown Beach area has to offer. I'm wondering why it hasn't been torn down. As for the area - I frequent it on a weekly basis, and, as much construction has been done in the past few years, the Yorktown Beach/ Riverwalk is very clean, charming and relaxing. It stays true to colonial architecture with a blend of modern conveince. Locals living/working in colonial Yorktown are very friendly and knowledgable. I would not recommend the hotel to anyone except those who are mearly at the beach for the day, and would like a place to shower off and redress and then with the quickness leave. I read a review on this hotel, where it said that The Duke has earned it's one star - well, not in my book. Only if this hotel is ever replaced or has a major overhaul - would I then definetly recommend it - as the area is conveinently located, with lots to look at in close walking proximity, and major highways close by make it easy to reach great shopping, Busch Gardens, Water Country, Colonial Williamsburg, Pirates Cove Mini Golf, numerous resturants, and of course the new hotel would be smack in the middle of charming Colonial Yorktown, giving you a view of the York River! The Duke - what an embarresment to the area. One positive remark; the staff were very polite and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2005

I stayed here for one night with my boyfriend and a friend as we toured the Jameston/Yorktown area recently. The motel was located along the water with a gorgeous view and a beautiful beach only steps away from the front entrance. We stayed during the week so the rates were very reasonable, about $72 + $10 for the third person. There was a great pub just down the street where we enjoyed a delightful meal (I recommend the delicious crab cakes!), and afterwards we wandered along the beach and down the pier. We also ran into what looked like a very interesting "ghost tour" that takes place after dark. If we had found out about it sooner we definitely would have taken advantage of it! The rooms themselves are very well appointed and best of all CLEAN. We had a private balcony in the front area of the hotel, and there were ice and pop machines just down the hall. My only complaint about the room was that the air conditioning was either VERY COLD or it just turned off. It was hard to find a moderate temperature (but I suppose that's better than no A/C at all). We also took advantage of the great pool located behind the main building. The front desk staff were also helpful and friendly - check-in and check-out were a breeze. We also ate breakfast at the motel restaurant before leaving and again, we were all impressed. I would highly recommend this motel to budget-conscious travellers who want convenience and comfort. The location is ideal for those who want to visit the Jameston settlement and the Yorktown Victory Center & Battlefield. The next time I am in this area I will definitely be staying at the Duke of York motel.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2005

My family and I stayed only one night on our vacation the Yorktown last year. We planned to stay longer, but we were so disappointed in the accomidation that there was no way we would stay another night. First off, they lost power for most of the night. No lights, no air conditioning (in July no less). I understand that power outages happen, but has no one there heard of a generator? After a horribly unconfortable night, they have the nerve to charge us for this debauchal. Take my advice - choose other accomidations. This was the absolute worst experience. I came across this website while looking for a hotel for this years trip...believe me - I won't make the same mistake twice.

Stayed July 2004
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2005

We were looking forward to staying at this property but were terribly disappointed. We were told we would have a room with a balcony and an upper floor. We called the property the morning we were to check in and were told they didn't have an upper floor room. We could not cancel due to the long cancellation policy. When we arrived there was no attempt to find another room for us. The person working at the desk would not look at us and made no apology for the mix-up. I would really question this property when making a reservation. The ground floor rooms in the main building are far from comfortable. It earns its one star rating.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Co, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2005

Nice location along the water and in the heart of the Yorktown tourist area. This is an older property that gives the feeling of the 1950's era. I liked being in walking distance to the Yorktowne Pub which is a few steps away...great Pub food and fare without having to drive!

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duke of York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of York Hotel

Address: 508 Water Street, The Only Hotel in the Historic Village of Yorktown, VA, Yorktown, VA 23690
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Yorktown
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Yorktown
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are family owned Hotel located in Yorktown, Virginia. We are the only hotel located in the historic village of Yorktown. All rooms have a beautiful view of the York River, from either private balconies or wide, open verandas. Large courtyard area with shade trees overlooking the river. All rooms have single cup coffee makers, refrigerators and microwaves. 20 Minutes from Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gradens, and 30 minutes to Jamestown. Locally famous restaurant on premises with many other dining choices within walking distance. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Duke of York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of York Hotel Yorktown
Duke York Yorktown
Duke York Hotel Yorktown
Duke Of York Yorktown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke of York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.