We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Recent Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duke of York Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Duke of York Hotel to your Saves list
Duke of York Hotel
508 Water Street, The Only Hotel in the Historic Village of Yorktown, VA, Yorktown, VA 23690   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Yorktown
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A Recent Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at this motel recently, but have stayed there many times over the years. We were greeted by a very welcoming front desk. When we went to our room, we were happy to see a large flat screened TV. It seems that changes are coming to this motel! We had a few problems with the water during our stay, and Vivian, the new manager, dealt with everything very professionally and adjusted our bill. We were satisfied with the outcome.This is one of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed in. It is not a Hilton or an Omni, but it is clean. (Kudos to the housekeeper) We will continue to stay at this motel because we love being by the water, and we love eating dinner at the restaurant on the first floor. They serve some of the best seafood we've ever eaten. The locals must think so too, because the place is always crowded when we eat there.

Room Tip: Wifi signals are week in some rooms, so I would recoomend not getting a room over the restaurant.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duchessofyork508, General Manager at Duke of York Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We are please that you enjoyed your stay with us! And yes, changes have been made at the Duke of York Hotel. We are still in the process of multiple upgrades and hope to have them complete very soon. We thank you for your patience during our episode with the water, and all is well now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    29
    11
    16
    18
See reviews for
32
27
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Had no other option this afternoon and hesitantly walked into the MOTEL. Was pleasantly surprised to see a new face behind the front desk. Apparently the previous manager was let go. Good start. I thought. The new older woman was kind but so incredibly confused by the process of check in, my inquiry about local attractions and the restaurant hours that I did not know what to do. Clearly the ownership just promoted the "next in line". Such a shame. The place needs renovations but also an attitude/service change.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

I checked into this well located MOTEL and was unpleasantly greated by an angry old lady at the front desk. I should have known to leave right away. Instead, I went thru the irritating conversation and got my room. When I opened the door to my room, I almost laughed. The carpet was stained and dirty, the tv was 20 years old and the bed spread had a dirty towel that must have been left by the previous guest. Stay away from this place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorklady, General Manager at Duke of York Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
I sincerely apologize we did not meet your expectations. We are now in the process of renovating rooms and upgrading televisions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poquoson, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I will never suggest this hotel to anyone solely based on the unprofessional front desk and reservations. I go to check in and they inform me that they GAVE my room to someone else that was there two nights instead of my one. I made a reservation MANY weeks in advance with the guarantee of a river/street view room for the Christmas festivities that were going on in Yorktown that weekend and at that time did speak to a friendly/helpful individual. I had to change from reservation from 2 nights to 1. They NEVER informed me that I would not get the room I was promised. I didn't find out until check-in. And they tried to tell me the other room was just as good...at the back of the hotel. I checked it out before I would agree. It was AWFUL. The view was of the roof of the room I was supposed to have had and in no way did they offer a discount, apology or anything. They just shrugged their shoulders and basically said, "oh well take it or leave it". I left it! Because they have a monopoly on the riverfront they think they can treat people unprofessionally. I hope they sleep well at night knowing they made my 6 year old son cry that was so looking forward to a fun night.

Room Tip: Don't let them tell you that the 4th floor will offer you the same (or better) views than a 2nd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorklady, General Manager at Duke of York Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Sorry, you did not like the location of the room. We guarantee room types not room #s or locations. You reserved a room with 2 double beds and that 's what the room had. The building where your assigned room was, also offers a view of the river . I am sorry you felt the desk personnel was unprofessional , I have spoken to them regarding the situation. You mentioned no discount was offered ,that's because you were not charged.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I'm writing this through the slow internet connection of my room in Duke of York motel. It's simply the worst m/hotel I've stayed at (and I've been to a lot of places).

The good:
1. The people here were nice and helped me with anything I needed. The cleaning people did their job well too.
2. The view is very pleasing and might be a good beach experience during a warmer season. Although it could be a lot less quiet than now (November).
3. It was very unpopulated (No wonder why! go to 'The bad' below).

The bad (everything else):
1. The rooms look old. To be fair, it's a 2-star place.
2. The bathroom feels old and rusty, water won't go down the drain (so good luck with the back-splashes when brushing your teeth).
3. There were tiny flying bugs in the bathroom
4. They assume you don't use the internet. No one will give you the password unless you ask, and the connection is slow.
5. there was a safe in the room but it didn't work.
6. The bed in the room was not the most comfortable (not supporting enough for me, it would cave in where I slept).
7. The mirror in the bathroom was old and broken at some edges.
8. The hair dryer was so old and had a lot of sticky stuff on the mesh. I was too disgusted to use it.
9. Last but definitely not least: All the above with a price tag of OVER A HUNDRED dollars per night.

Conclusion: I had a meeting at a nearby institution and I kind of had to stay here for two nights. I would have never stayed in (or paid that much for) a place like this myself. I understand the whole Colonial/Village/take-a-break spirit, but there has to be some sort of common sense as to the very basic needs of a traveller (e.g. the water has to go down the drain). I'm sure they get some referrals (=special rates) from nearby institutions to keep them afloat, but that's going to work for so long.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorklady, General Manager at Duke of York Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
I sincerely apologize the hotel did not meet your expectations. Had your concerns been brought to my attention I certainly would have tried to address them. Unless I am made aware of a guest questions or concerns I cannot try to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. Again my apology
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

May not be a new, modern hotel but it makes up for it with location. On the water in Historic Yorktown, you can walk to all the historic sites including the Battlefield and National Park. If you're going to the Yorktown Day celebration in October, this is absolutely the place to stay. Just make your reservation early. I've stayed here before and will continue to return.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorklady, General Manager at Duke of York Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you very much. Look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tignall, GA
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed on October 17-19th, the room was clean, quiet and had a wonderful view. The bed was comfortable. The restaurant was closed on the 17th, but open on the 18th and the food was delicious. The staff was very friendly and we enjoyed our stay very much. Would go back again!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Duke of York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of York Hotel

Address: 508 Water Street, The Only Hotel in the Historic Village of Yorktown, VA, Yorktown, VA 23690
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Yorktown
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Yorktown
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are family owned Hotel located in Yorktown, Virginia. We are the only hotel located in the historic village of Yorktown. All rooms have a beautiful view of the York River, from either private balconies or wide, open verandas. Large courtyard area with shade trees overlooking the river. All rooms have single cup coffee makers, refrigerators and microwaves. 20 Minutes from Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gradens, and 30 minutes to Jamestown. Locally famous restaurant on premises with many other dining choices within walking distance. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Duke of York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of York Hotel Yorktown
Duke York Yorktown
Duke York Hotel Yorktown
Duke Of York Yorktown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke of York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.