We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and Tired Motel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Duke of York Motel

Save Saved
You added Duke of York Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duke of York Motel
508 Water Street, Yorktown, VA 23690   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Yorktown
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Old and Tired Motel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

I checked into this well located MOTEL and was unpleasantly greated by an angry old lady at the front desk. I should have known to leave right away. Instead, I went thru the irritating conversation and got my room. When I opened the door to my room, I almost laughed. The carpet was stained and dirty, the tv was 20 years old and the bed spread had a dirty towel that must have been left by the previous guest. Stay away from this place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorklady, General Manager at Duke of York Motel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
I sincerely apologize we did not meet your expectations. We are now in the process of renovating rooms and upgrading televisions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    23
    8
    15
    18
See reviews for
27
25
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poquoson, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I will never suggest this hotel to anyone solely based on the unprofessional front desk and reservations. I go to check in and they inform me that they GAVE my room to someone else that was there two nights instead of my one. I made a reservation MANY weeks in advance with the guarantee of a river/street view room for the Christmas festivities that were going on in Yorktown that weekend and at that time did speak to a friendly/helpful individual. I had to change from reservation from 2 nights to 1. They NEVER informed me that I would not get the room I was promised. I didn't find out until check-in. And they tried to tell me the other room was just as good...at the back of the hotel. I checked it out before I would agree. It was AWFUL. The view was of the roof of the room I was supposed to have had and in no way did they offer a discount, apology or anything. They just shrugged their shoulders and basically said, "oh well take it or leave it". I left it! Because they have a monopoly on the riverfront they think they can treat people unprofessionally. I hope they sleep well at night knowing they made my 6 year old son cry that was so looking forward to a fun night.

Room Tip: Don't let them tell you that the 4th floor will offer you the same (or better) views than a 2nd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorklady, General Manager at Duke of York Motel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Sorry, you did not like the location of the room. We guarantee room types not room #s or locations. You reserved a room with 2 double beds and that 's what the room had. The building where your assigned room was, also offers a view of the river . I am sorry you felt the desk personnel was unprofessional , I have spoken to them regarding the situation. You mentioned no discount was offered ,that's because you were not charged.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I'm writing this through the slow internet connection of my room in Duke of York motel. It's simply the worst m/hotel I've stayed at (and I've been to a lot of places).

The good:
1. The people here were nice and helped me with anything I needed. The cleaning people did their job well too.
2. The view is very pleasing and might be a good beach experience during a warmer season. Although it could be a lot less quiet than now (November).
3. It was very unpopulated (No wonder why! go to 'The bad' below).

The bad (everything else):
1. The rooms look old. To be fair, it's a 2-star place.
2. The bathroom feels old and rusty, water won't go down the drain (so good luck with the back-splashes when brushing your teeth).
3. There were tiny flying bugs in the bathroom
4. They assume you don't use the internet. No one will give you the password unless you ask, and the connection is slow.
5. there was a safe in the room but it didn't work.
6. The bed in the room was not the most comfortable (not supporting enough for me, it would cave in where I slept).
7. The mirror in the bathroom was old and broken at some edges.
8. The hair dryer was so old and had a lot of sticky stuff on the mesh. I was too disgusted to use it.
9. Last but definitely not least: All the above with a price tag of OVER A HUNDRED dollars per night.

Conclusion: I had a meeting at a nearby institution and I kind of had to stay here for two nights. I would have never stayed in (or paid that much for) a place like this myself. I understand the whole Colonial/Village/take-a-break spirit, but there has to be some sort of common sense as to the very basic needs of a traveller (e.g. the water has to go down the drain). I'm sure they get some referrals (=special rates) from nearby institutions to keep them afloat, but that's going to work for so long.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorklady, General Manager at Duke of York Motel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
I sincerely apologize the hotel did not meet your expectations. Had your concerns been brought to my attention I certainly would have tried to address them. Unless I am made aware of a guest questions or concerns I cannot try to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. Again my apology
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

May not be a new, modern hotel but it makes up for it with location. On the water in Historic Yorktown, you can walk to all the historic sites including the Battlefield and National Park. If you're going to the Yorktown Day celebration in October, this is absolutely the place to stay. Just make your reservation early. I've stayed here before and will continue to return.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorklady, General Manager at Duke of York Motel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you very much. Look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tignall, GA
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed on October 17-19th, the room was clean, quiet and had a wonderful view. The bed was comfortable. The restaurant was closed on the 17th, but open on the 18th and the food was delicious. The staff was very friendly and we enjoyed our stay very much. Would go back again!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I booked a block of rooms in this hotel for my October 2012 wedding. This hotel was pretty cut and dry - nothing fancy. Great location, wonderful and helpful hotel staff, and one creepy room with a giant jacuzzi tub. You can't beat the fact that it's right across the street from the beach, a couple doors down from the Pub, and close to a cute coffee shop (which doesn't open until 11am). It's inexpensive and functional.

Room Tip: Just say NO to the room with the jacuzzi tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorklady, General Manager at Duke of York Motel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
I am sorry this guest felt this room was "creepy" . However, I do not understand what was meant by this term. Had they mentioned it when they checked out then perhaps it could be rectified.. Most newlywed couples thoroughly enjoy the jacuzzi room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bent mountain, VA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I am staying in a 3rd room with an excellent view of the Yorktown River. The room is spacious and clean. The Front desk staff are friendly and efficient. There is free wireless, a flat screen TV, microwave and large "mini fridge". The king size bed is very comfortable.

However, there are not enough electric outlets, I've had to unplug the microwave in order to plug in my PC. The table lamp next to the desk can not work if you want to use both the microwave and the coffee maker. The time in the clock next to the bed, wasn't set anywhere close to what the real time is.

But, I'm really here to enjoy historic Yorktown, VA and this is the perfect place to stay at night, It's right on the riverfront. You can watch the ships on the river. All parts of the historic town are within walking distance.

Room Tip: If you want a good view of the river ask for the 3rd or 4th floor or the units up on the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Duke of York Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of York Motel

Address: 508 Water Street, Yorktown, VA 23690
Location: United States > Virginia > Yorktown
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Yorktown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned Hotel located in the center of Colonial Yorktown, Virginia. All rooms have a great view of the York River, from either private balconies or wide open verandas. Large courtyard area with shade trees overlooking the river.All rooms have refrigerators and microwaves. 20 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gradens, and 30 minutes to Jamestown. Locally famous restaurant on premises with many other dining choices within walking distance. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Duke of York Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of York Hotel Yorktown
Duke York Yorktown
Duke York Hotel Yorktown
Duke Of York Yorktown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke of York Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.