We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yorktown Victory Center

Yorktown Victory Center
Route 1020, PO Box 1607, Yorktown, VA 23692
757 887 1776
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$44*
and up
Colonial Williamsburg City Tour
Ranked #5 of 20 Attractions in Yorktown
Type: Battlefields, Historic Sites, History Museums, Landmarks
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum where you can find all types of displays regarding the momentous events and activities during Revolutionary times.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Even though we didn't care for the Jamestown Settlement (the sister to this location), we did like the Yorktown Victory Center. It was quite good, and we enjoyed seeing a model 18th century tobacco farm. The re-enactors were quite engaging and helped to give a sense of what life would have been like at the time.

The film was much more modern than the NPS film at the Yorktown Battlefield. The artillery exhibition was a big hit. This is worth a visit. They are building a American Revolution Museum which looks to be very interesting.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    101
    37
    11
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very worthwhile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Very well done, knowledgeable docents. Added greatly to our "book learning" of Yorktown. Excellent - and our thanks to everyone there.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beauty and history all in one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

The Victory center was a wealth of information about this pivotal point in our country's journey. Pleasant staff, audio guides for a self paced driving tour of the battle field- all help to stress the importance of Yorktown. The grounds are beautiful.some beautiful photo ops are here for the making. Don't forget to go into downtown Yorktown to get the flavor of the homes and storefronts. The Carrot Tree was a great place for lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Part of a combo ticket visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We found the signage to be inadequate and drove right past the Center. It appears as if the building is boarded up but I was advised they are undergoing an expansion. This is quite a bit smaller than Jamestown and had expected to spend a few hours there but it was more like an hour or 1.5. It was ok as part of our combination ticket but didnt feel it was worth the drive from Williamsburg. The soldiers encampment was very small with a couple of costumed staff on hand. One was explaining medical equipment and procedures from the time period which was interesting.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“So much to see in one visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The gallery at the Victory Center has many portraits of people who had a part in settling the country, and each has information explaining the role they played. You would have to visit several times to be able to read all the information there. There are also many displays of artifacts found in the area. Very interesting, and geared more to adults than children. There is a fee, but we found a combination ticket for Jamestown Settlement and Victory Center for just a few dollars more than one attraction.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yorktown Victory Center also viewed

 

Been to Yorktown Victory Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yorktown Victory Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.