We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice visit.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chiricahua National Monument

Chiricahua National Monument
Willcox, AZ
520-824-3560
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 attractions in Willcox
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Driving, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The unusual rock formations at this popular hiking site were caused by a massive volcanic eruption 27 million years ago.
Escondido, California
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Nice visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This site has no gasoline stations near it, so make sure your tank has sufficient gas. Chiricahua National Monument is located approximately 240 miles from Phoenix, and around 120 miles from Tucson. You take Interstate 10 to the Willcox exit. You then travel 3 miles into Willcox and turn right at the stoplight. Follow Arizona State Highway 186 for 32 miles to the junction of Arizona State Highway 181. Turn left, and you will be at the Chiricahua entrance station in 4 miles. There are posted signs along the roadway after you get off I-10 directing you to Chiricahua National Monument. When my girlfriend and I were here last week, there was a little snow on the ground. We asked a ranger if they ever shut down this national monument because of severe weather, and the answer was yes! As you proceed along the scenic drive to the top, you will see beautiful rock formations and awesome scenery of the valleys below. At the very top of the drive, it is quite cold and windy in February. There are many trials to hike at this monument if you are so inclined. By the way, there are clean bathrooms located at the visitor's center.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    29
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“If you like rock formations, you must go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were unable to spend as much time there as I would have liked, but did the Echo Loop Trail, which was excellent with rock formations, many of which you could quite believe were still standing, in great abundance. The staff at the visitor center was also very helpful and we stayed for one of their programs before leaving.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Stunningly Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This place is a wonderful place to visit and go hiking. From Bonita Canyon and Faraway Ranch to the amazing and stunning rock formations. The first time I visited I was alone and it was very inspiring to me, in fact I loved it so much I returned with my husband and friends on another trip. It is a day trip (about an hour) from Tombstone AZ also, which is a plus since I love going to Tombstone. You drive through all this ugly (to me) desert into this wonderland of trees, water and rock formations. Cochise Head rock is not to be missed! There is a fee to get in, but if you have a National Parks Pass that will work. It is called a Monument, but it is about 12,000 acres. Bring good hiking shoes and water. I've been there in Feb, and I can tell you first hand it snows there! The elevation is around 5,000 ft.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This park contains enormous stone columns, with rocks precariously balanced looking like they are about to topple over at any second. As spectacular as Bryce National Park, but without the orange colour.
We approached Chiricahua from Wilcox, a very pleasant drive in itself. Within the Monument, we drove to Massai Point and then walked. The walking is varied, so should suit most people. We loved the fact that we could get 'close and personal' with the rocks rather than observing from a distance. We visited in December and had the monument to ourselves. We enjoyed the solitude, but also found it sad that such a magnificent place didn't have more visitors.
If you enjoy walking and taking in the scenery,then a whole day can be spent here easily. Bring food and drink with you.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Locals told us to Go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

OMG we were there in early Feb. A nice drive from Wilcox across the high grass desert pasture land. When we entered the Park at the Visitor's Center, it was like we were in another realm (and we were !!) Very nice Center, helpful staff. As we drove up the park road, it just kept getting better and better. We CANNOT RECOMMEND THIS HIGHLY ENOUGH. Wish we had several days to do more. But if nothing else, go to Echo Canyon and do the Grotto Trail...it's an up and back and well marked, but you'll never forget the sights you'll see.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiricahua National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Chiricahua National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiricahua National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chiricahua National Monument to your Saves list