We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rustic feel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sulphur Springs Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sulphur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sulphur Springs Inn
Save
You added Sulphur Springs Inn to your Saves list
1102 W. Lindsay, Sulphur, OK 73086   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Sulphur B&B and Inns
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“rustic feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at the Sulphur Springs Inn! I went during the off season (January) so it was pretty empty. I stayed in one of the attached rooms away from the "main house." The room was clean, bed was comfortable, and included a kitchenette, which would be a great feature for a longer stay. Sadly, I was just passing through and could stay just one night, so I did not use it at all. If you're in Sulphur Oklahoma I assume you're looking for a rustic experience, as opposed to the posh hotels you'd find in a city. This inn fits the bill perfectly.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the innkeeper was a really great guy to talk to.

The Chickasaw park entrance was across the street from my room: it doesn't get any better than that if you're a nature lover. I went for a 15 min. walk into the park before breakfast one day, and saw a bunch of deer wandering around. From the park entrance, there is easy access to hiking trails, as well as roads (for driving or biking) which lead around the park.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mustang, Ok
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Spent 3 nights in a "cabin"-suite. This was an upgrade given to us by the owner, no extra charge. Office area is full of vintage-antique pieces. Our room was large, kitchen area with micro-wave and fridge. Several baskets of snacks. Ample linens.
This was at the North entrance of the Chickasaw National Recreation area. The Inn was close to all we wanted to do. Fish in Veterans Lake, spend time in the park, visit the Chickasaw Heritage Center. Only thing wrong was it was so hot, 110+ and things around the Inn had really burnt up. Had nice visit with Charlie, about fishing. He also will recommend good places to eat. We will go back, mainly because of location and access to things we want to do.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We came for a family reunion and wanted to check out the park during our stay. This is a beautiful location just outside of the park, which is open 24/7. The B&B is full of cool whatnots, you could spend an hour or so just exploring the different pieces and they're historical significance. Charlie was a great host, gave you the inside scoop on where to go, and a great cook. We loved having the kitties around. They're all outside and some you can coax into letting you pet them. We stayed in one of the cottage rooms, yes it is a triplex. It was clean enough, the baseboards hadn't been wiped down and there was some dust in the corners but the linens, counters, dishes, refrigerator, TV and everything else were all clean and in working order. We didn't see any bugs or spiders. The park is spectacular with beautiful cold springs, all with different healing properties. They flow into rivers that have many falls and pools to swim in. There are lots of spots you can jump off the rocks into the pools, both exhilarating and refreshing. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The most quiet, peaceful, relaxing weekend I've had in years. Charlie is very knowledgeable and a fantastic cook. We loved the atmosphere of the place. We met some very nice people. This may not be everyones "cup of tea" but if you are looking for something different and off the beaten path this is a wonderful place to go. We love it and highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Charlie let us choose our room. He showed us all the available rooms. They are all very nice with qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We went down to Sulphur for a weekend away from home and were definitely not disappointed. The 'cabins' are a wonderful getaway in comfort with a full kitchen, a great bathroom, and even a grill out back. The inn itself is a lovely spot to spend a morning with some coffee and a chat or an evening by the fireplace. From most of the rooms, you can look right out onto Platt National Park and we spent most of our evenings sitting out and enjoying watching the deer come through the gates at dusk. Even though it rained the entire weekend we were there (in the middle of December no less) we still had a great time enjoying the scenery and the company and will definitely make a recommendation to all our friends.

Room Tip: If you're going to be there for a long weekend, the cabins are really a great way to go. Privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Sulphur Springs is a unique bed and breakfast. It's on the edge of a large national park so if you like nature and hiking, this is the place for you. If you like off the beaten path kinds of places with do it yourself entertainment, this is the place for you. If you like HOT mineral baths and delicious breakfasts, this is the place for you. (Update 9/11--the last time we went, the HOT mineral bath was not available due to machinery malfunction. I don't know if it's working now--ask Charlie, the owner when you book.)

I would like to say that if you want chic place with a squeaky clean Mickey Mouse atmosphere, this is not the place for you. My husband, I and several of our friends have stayed with Charlie and Cherie 5 times and we plan on going back many more times. We hike,we debate, we sit around the campfire talking, laughing and listening as our more musically gifted members sing and play their guitars and fiddles.

There is no TV and there is no room service but we love staying there because it offers us the chance to unwind, to breathe deeply and to really enjoy each others' company. Plus, the inn's owner Charlie is a knowledgeable host who willingly provides what his guests need to have a great time. And we always have a great time. I suggest that IF you can leave your Hampton Inn preconceptions at home, you should try visiting the Sulphur Springs Inn for a unique visit that you'll be telling all your friends about.

A TripAdvisor reader suggested I amend my review because she took Benedryl on the trip with her and she didn't need it. However there are LOTS of OUTSIDE cats so I still suggest you bring Benedryl if you're allergic to cats.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mustang, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Across from Chickasaw National Park (f/k/a Platte National Park). Innkeeper "Charlie" is knowledgeable about the history of the town / park / and the Inn. This is one of the last working bath houses in the state. During our stay were tried the cottages 1 night 2nd night we stayed in one of the upstairs rooms of the Inn's main building. The cottage had a large room with 2 dbl beds, living room furniture, another room was the kitchen, and a full bathroom. We sat out on the patio which overlooked the park. The next night our room had 1 dbl bed, wicker sitting area, an old fashion area screened of where one could tend to themselves. Breakfast was so filling with blueberry pancakes that we took a bike ride around the park. Yes Charlie even has bikes available for guests. While in the park we walked through the stream taking in the beauty of green trees, small waterfalls, and cool water (even during the drought). That evening we enjoyed the music of their player piano which guests took turns playing. We had the most relaxing time which a hotel could never provide. It was the personal touches that chain hotels forget to add. I will be coming back again!! It was like going to Grandma's with a great home feeling !! : )

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sulphur Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sulphur Springs Inn

Address: 1102 W. Lindsay, Sulphur, OK 73086
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Sulphur
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sulphur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former bathhouse, now a nice retreat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sulphur Springs Hotel Sulphur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sulphur Springs Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.