We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love the Fish Tacos!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snapper Jack's Taco Shack

Snapper Jack's Taco Shack
5100 Telegraph Rd Ste F, Ventura, CA 93003
(805) 642-5111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 383 Restaurants in Ventura
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Takeout
Oxnard, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“I love the Fish Tacos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Everytime I go to Snapper Jacks, I always end up ordering the fish tacos. They are so absolutely yummy. You can get the tortilla friend or steamed and I prefer steam. And the fish the same friend or grilled...that is prefrence they are both good. What I love is the salsa bar also with a variiety of different salsas and even a fresh fruit salsa. God try it you will love it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    18
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Crispy flour tacos are amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

So this place is owned by the same family that owns Yolanda's. They even have "Yolanda's" salsa. The food is always fresh and yummy but my favorite item on the menu is the crunchy flour tacos with special sauce.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castaic, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Outstanding Potato Tacos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Tripadvisor reviews we read assured us of a good meal, but in reality it was truly great! My wife and I had the potato, shrimp, and battered fish tacos. All were wonderful especially with crunchy flour torillas and secret sauce. The servings are generous. The salsa bar is one of the best I've seen. The staff is friendly and the tables and floors are clean. We went on a weekend slightly after noon and finding a table was very easy. I can imagine that during a school day it could get crowded with all the Ventura College kids. We weren't expecting it to be in a strip mall, yet our parking was easy. We'll be back again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Connecticut
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Fish Tacos around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Above average traditional Mexican food but perhaps the best fish tacos I have ever had. Order them with crispy tortilla and grilled fish. Secret sauce and Yolanda's Mild salsa are also highly recommended from the salsa bar. Very reasonably priced ala carte so great for the whole family.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best salsa bar in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Excellent snapper burrito or fish tacos! The service is quick with very tasty salsa options. A great place near Ventura College to grab a bite and watch some surf on the Televisions...

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snapper Jack's Taco Shack also viewed

 

Been to Snapper Jack's Taco Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snapper Jack's Taco Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.