We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Authentic and Filling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taqueria Tepatitlan

Taqueria Tepatitlan
362 N Ventura Ave, Ventura, CA 93001-1937
805-653-0508
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 392 Restaurants in Ventura
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch
Alta Loma, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Friendly, Authentic and Filling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Had been camping in the area and decided to giveTaqueria Tepatitlan a try. Glad we did. Informal and friendly, pretty wide choices on food and beer. (Note: didn't realize it at first, but a schooner of beer is just 50 cents more than a pint.) Between my wife and I we had 4 different dishes; each was excellent. Salsa was great and you can choose the "heat" on most dishes. Wish we lived closer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    5
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, NC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Huge Omelets, Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Casual local dining spot, off the beaten track. Delicious food, large portions. Not too hot, or can be hot, your choice. Fresh vegetables, customizing order not an issue. Great shredded beef tacos.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I don't remember when I started eating at this restaurant. I've been on a first name basis with the owners from the 1st time I sat down. In all these years I have never had a bad meal or a colder Beer
Gracias Me Amigos, Juan & Lilly

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Great local Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I love Mexican food, and I ate all over Ventura, and Taqueria Tepatitlan was my favorite spot. This little local Mexican joint served up some serious food. I got three different types of tacos and all of them were amazing. I especially like the fish tacos (the pork and chicken were dope too). If I only got to eat one more meal in Ventura it would be here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We love it!
Great food, service, drinks!
The owner Juan is very nice. He remembers everyone's name. We love the tacos and cheese enchilada!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taqueria Tepatitlan also viewed

 

Been to Taqueria Tepatitlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taqueria Tepatitlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.