We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Steak Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winchesters Grill & Saloon

Winchesters Grill & Saloon
632 E Main St, Ventura, CA 93001-2815
805-653-7446
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 385 Restaurants in Ventura
Price range: $8 - $27
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Steakhouse, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Description: More than just a great steakhouse, Winchesters serves up the freshest seafood, succulent chicken, and even some exotic meats like venison, buffalo, and elk. But don’t forget about those Certified Angus Beef™ steaks. Whether it’s the massive Rib-Eye, the petite Top Sirloin, the New York or Tri-Tip they’re always thick and juicy and grilled to perfection. Lighter fare includes great burgers, salads and grilled sandwiches. Their forty draft beers along with extensive Wine and Martini lists will round out a truly memorable meal. Two heated patios and ample parking available.
Santa Barbara
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Steak Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stopped in for dinner last week on a visit to Ventura. I ordered the Ribeye Steak with mushroom toppers, medium rare, it was cooked perfection and melted in my mouth! My husband had the Pork special and it was excellent. I enjoyed a glass of wine and my husband had a beer, they have so many choices. My daughter is a vegetarian, and had the "Steak Skins", but substituted a veggie burger for the steak, and they were delicious. The staff was so accommodating and friendly, we will be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    21
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great food, unusual offerings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Meat's on the menu, including venison, elk and ostrich. I tried — and recommend — the venison-stuffed mushrooms. The salmon salad was wonderful, too. Cooked perfectly. Yum!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A lot of beers on tap...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

A great downtown location with several beers on tap with a great menu and wonderful service! Nice patio area in the front and side to enjoy a warmer evening...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent tab beer selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

There is an extensive beer selection, we enjoyed some choice I.P.A.s. The pub food section of the menu is minimal. I have enjoyed the tri-tip and the burgers are good.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsteignton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Best meal of our holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great food, fabulous service, sat out front on the terrace. Delicious beer, tried Firestone Double Barreled on recommendation of waitress, fantastic. Steak was cooked to perfection with a blue cheese melt on top.
Worth every penny.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR4d, Owner at Winchesters Grill & Saloon, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thanks so much for giving us a try, and we're glad you enjoyed your experience! Hope to see you next time you're out this way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winchesters Grill & Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Winchesters Grill & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winchesters Grill & Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.