We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for overnighter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Ventura

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vagabond Inn Ventura to your Saves list
Vagabond Inn Ventura
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   756 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place for overnighter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during a road trip, the place was nice and clean. The staff was very friendly, and very accommodating.

It is walking distance to the beach and downtown Ventura. Downtown had a cute little shops and awesome bars/restaurants.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for the review! We hope you come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    58
    26
    15
    14
See reviews for
26
51
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grover Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We paid $156 for our room at the Vagabond Inn in Ventura, which is more than we would have paid at a Nice Holiday Inn and the room was dirty. There were nasty dark stains in the carpet and the walls were dirty. There was a little table and two chairs in the room where you could sit and eat your meal, which we would not of ate on, as there were cigarette burns all over it and it seemed to be in need of a wipe down. I can say the sheets and towels, seemed to be clean, but one can never tell. There was a hole in the wall, where they did some kind of work, but didn't even bother to patch it up when they were done. The continental breakfast was a joke, granola bars and either an apple or banana and coffee. We went down the road to a really nice restaurant and had a wonder breakfast. Well we are done and we will never stay in a Vagabond Inn again, this was our first time and it will be the last. Next time we will just keep driving.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
I'm sorry that you had a room that didn't appear to be clean. I will definitely follow up on the hole in the wall not finished properly. We do not offer breakfast at this location, but do have granola bars and fruit available. The hotel you mentioned was selling rooms last weekend for $259.00 and up. Weekends on the coast during the summer usually range from about $140 to $295. Please come back off season and we will give you a great deal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed at the Vagabond Inn for 2 nights. The room was very basic and clean. It has the sink outside the bathroom and a refrigerator near the sink. The beds were comfortable and it was fairly quiet at night. The hotel is just a few blocks from the main part of town with all of the restaurants and shops. There is a walkway behind the hotel to get over to the pier and beach area but we preferred to walk there via the street.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. I hope you can come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We weren't sure what we had arrived at when we got here but the staff were very friendly. Our room was clean and very well equipped with coffee maker, good range of toiletries and towels beautifully presented. Room itself was a bit dated looking from the outside and the carpet had definitely seen better days. Heard the train but it wasn't a problem. Ideal stopover for a night or two at a very good price. Don't bother with the free breakfast thought,meat in the friendly diner on site

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our property! All of our rooms have a microwave oven, a small refrigerator and a coffee maker. They also have an iron and ironing board just in case your clothes get wrinkled on the way. We don't offer a breakfast at this location, but we do have an on-site restaurant. We do have complementary breakfast snacks, like cereal bars and danish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Basic room. Lovely shower. Lots of banging and trains noise. Rubbish WIFI. No breakfast. You pay for what you get. Very close to the beach, in walking distance. The pool is nothing like as big as it looks in the picture. Ok for one night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for writing a review. Our location is one of the best in town. We had some problems with the WIFI for a couple of days. We needed to replace a transmitter. It is running good now. I'm sorry that we didn't catch it right away. We do not offer a breakfast at this location because the County of Ventura requires a commercial kitchen to do so. We do have an on-site restaurant with some great values for breakfast. We also have a hot tub, which is my favorite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Have driven by this motel over the years but had not stayed there until this visit. Has an overall vintage 70's look but our room was updated and very comfortable. The Amtrax train runs right behind the back building which and it is both loud and you can feel the rumble...thankfully it only came by a couple of times during our 1 day stay. Juanita at the front desk was very friendly and helpful...a real asset to this establishment.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the back building that fronts the railroad track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for the review! I will make sure that Juanita sees this. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have stayed at this motel on two different occasions its very close to the ocean and easy to get there from the inn. The staff in the evening is very helpful very nice friendly they tell you where you can go and sight see the rooms are older but ours was remodeled and they were remodeling others while our stay very clean parking gets tough at night, down town is just 3 blocks away so a good location a lot of homeless lounge in the back of the motel but they dont bother you besides parking the only complaint I have is you can hear people like if there standing talking just outside your door i wake up off and on early in the morning because of peoples voices but really overall very affordable and we like this place and we will always stay here when in ventura

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
With our Loyalty program, a few more stays and you will earn a free night. Be sure to mention it next time you check in. Thank you for taking the time to review our property. This is a great location if you want to walk to the Fairgrounds, the Beach, or Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagabond Inn Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Ventura

Address: 756 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Ventura 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Historic Downtown Ventura, the Vagabond Inn is walking distance to the shops, restaurants, theaters and more. Just behind the Inn is a footbridge that takes you to the Ventura Pier and Promenade to the right and to San BuenaVentura State Beach to the left (where you will find the famous Jolly Oyster!) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vagabond Inn Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Ventura Hotel Ventura
Vagabond Hotel Ventura
Ventura Vagabond Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Ventura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.