We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“walk to beach/pier” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Ventura

Best prices from these 7 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Vagabond Inn Ventura to your Saves list
Vagabond Inn Ventura
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   756 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
socal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“walk to beach/pier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

room was comfortable, quiet enough, simple continental breakfast did have fresh fruit. I like that it had windows that opened, and the bathroom windows could be left open safely, on the second floor at least. Pool was clean on Friday but by Saturday had a lot of sand in it, not too bad though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review. We actually strive to be a more family "at home" style hotel here in Ventura. Most of our guests are "regulars" and have been coming for many years. Most of the staff here has been here for many years as well. We hope to see you again, and maybe you'll get to stay longer next time. The restaurant has been run by the same family for over 45 years and has a great reputation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    55
    26
    14
    13
See reviews for
25
51
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I chose to stay in Ventura to get a head start to LAX from Santa Barbara. I found a great rate online, so I figured... 'One night, in by 8pm - out by 9am' ... why not!
I wasn't expecting much, but was actually pleasantly surprised! On this trip I stayed in a 4 Star Westin near LAX and a mid-range boutique hotel in Santa Barbara and maybe it's just me... (I was traveling alone .. I felt so 'at home' at this hotel! The bed was comfy, the room was clean .. wifi was excellent. and the grounds were well-maintained.
I wasn't there long enough to try the attached restaurant, or the pool... but both looked pretty inviting!
Don't expect 4 star breakfast, linens and decor. But for the money, this was a good spot!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed here for two nights while visiting Santa Barbara and the surrounding area. Room was large,clean and quiet. Ventura is small but has some lovely wine tasting rooms and tapas bars. Breakfast in the hotel was as others have said...fruit and packaged bread are not my thing so we didn't partake. Hotel is far better value than others in the area and for a base to see the area it's perfect!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warburton, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Our first stay at a Vagabond. Three weeks of Holiday Inn, Best Western or Comfort Inn

Vagabond is a big step down. Room small, check in was an inconvenience to staff and the breakfast comes in a plastic packet.

Every surface in the bedroom was stained. The best thing was the bathroom. Looked thru the bathroom window to watch the homeless begin their day.

Overall not a very nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hotel has everything I wanted, a clean and comfortable room for a good price (with wifi, breakfast and parking included). However, having stayed at this chain before and always been happy, I was disappointed with this hotel. Breakfast is served in the reception area - there is just apples, oatmeal, coffee / tea and pastries - on a table but nowhere to sit and eat them - you have to go back to your room. They serve oatmeal, teas and coffee's but have no milk. (I have noticed that milk is not regularly available with teas and coffee's here in the US- but have never had it not served with cereal). However, when enquiring about this, I had the unfortunate experience of being confronted by a female member of staff with no customer service skills who told me in no uncertain terms, that I had to have it with water or go and buy milk.

I feel this is a real shame as I don't expect much, I know they are budget hotels and I'm not expecting silver service or a full cooked breakfast but I think milk and a choice of fruits / yoghurts / cereals is a basic breakfast, and has been available in every other hotel I've been in. And they really need to sort out this member of staff as all the other members in this establishment were lovely and she let the hotel down with her abrupt, unfriendly nature.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are looking at the Continental Breakfast issue. We used to serve bagels, cream cheese, toast, butter, cream and milk, but the City of Ventura now has a policy that we can not give out anything that is not individually packaged, and we can not give out anything that requires refrigeration. The reason for this is because we do not have a commercial kitchen on the hotel side of the driveway. Even though the restaurant has the kitchen, we are separated by a driveway, so the City will not allow us to give out anything more. One of our concerns is the cost of adding a commercial kitchen and expanding the lobby area to include an eating area. We are analyzing the pros and cons. We are able to compete at a better price because our breakfast cost is low. If you contact me with the date you stayed, I can address the front desk agent that was rude to you. Thanks again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

We chose the Vagebond Inn for the price after extending our trip to Santa Barbara. We couldn't afford the $200+ a night there anymore. We spent 3 nights.

I was worried about the amount of dogs staying there, but never heard anything. The beds were new. Microwave and good size fridge was a bonus.

Hot tub was hot and a nice way to spool down.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. This is a great place to stay if Santa Barbara is on your itinerary. We are about a half hour away, but the drive there and back is beautiful, along the California Coastline. With the money you save, you can enjoy nice dinners and maybe even adventure an alternate route from Santa Barbara to Ventura going through Ojai. It is a beautiful drive, and Ojai is a beautiful town hidden away at the base of the Los Padres National Forest. Ojai to Ventura is only 12 miles. We hope to see you again next time you venture our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

If you are traveling from san francisco to LA, its a good chance to stay here. Good jacuzzi and the rooms are quiet and clean. Also the service are very kind. You must have breakfast in the main desk, this is not very cool. The could have at least tables and chairs where to have breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We are looking into enlarging the lobby to accommodate some tables and chairs and also a small business area with a computer and printer for our guests convenience. We do however, have a restaurant on site that offers many choices including Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert and Appetizers. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagabond Inn Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Ventura

Address: 756 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Ventura 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Historic Downtown Ventura, the Vagabond Inn is walking distance to the shops, restaurants, theaters and more. Just behind the Inn is a footbridge that takes you to the Ventura Pier and Promenade to the right and to San BuenaVentura State Beach to the left (where you will find the famous Jolly Oyster!) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vagabond Inn Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Ventura Hotel Ventura
Vagabond Hotel Ventura
Ventura Vagabond Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Ventura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.