We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible guest service!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   450 E Harbor Blvd, at The Promenade, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
1 review
“Horrible guest service!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I was denied a roll away bed even though they has one "secured" all day they decided to give it away when I asked for it again at 10 pm. People at front desk did not seem to care and I was told to sleep on the floor. Not a good experience

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dquintana, Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear. Robynriggs,

My apologies for the horrible guest service you endured during your most recent stay. We have a good supply of roll-away beds and should have been able to meet your request and if we could not we should have explained this in a way that was better than to tell you to sleep on the floor. A comment such as this is never acceptable and I promise you that I will personally see to it that our team learns from this type of mistake. Please feel free to contact me if I can do anything to make up for this or if I can assist with a future reservation.

Best Regards,
Daniel Quintana
Director of Operations
805 652 5102 direct line
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    198
    136
    112
    88
See reviews for
156
223
30
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carl Junction, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We chose this hotel because we wanted to be right on the beach. The price was good and the views were great. All rooms have ocean views. It is a little noisy with the highway right behind the hotel, so if that is an issue for you, I wouldn't recommend staying here. The room was nicely decorated and clean. Staff was friendly and check in was quick.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dquintana, Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear. SGNeal,

Thank you for your most recent visit we appreciate your business and we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. We also appreciate you recognizing our team and are very thankful to hear that your check was quick. We hope to see you again and wish you a fantastic rest of your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is an awesome place to stay this was our first experience in June and will return soon for another great weekend. The team was great and the room was fantastic... This was my husband's birthday weekend and he truly enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dquintana, Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear. Mariahaire,

Thank you for the for the very kind 5 rating you've offered us on your most recent review. We appreciate all the positive comments and look forward to having you back. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Drove in from the Bay Area and found the beautiful location right on the ocean!! Wow the website does not do it justice. Ample parking on site and very reasonable rates - great curbside appeal. Was greeted right away when we arrived into the lobby and checking -in was seamless. Was advised about the location- walking distance to many restaurant's and by the way great bar and romantic fire pit onsite. Was invited to sign up for the IHG Priority Club- again seamless.

Arrived at our room - talk about ocean views - for miles and what a fantastic sunset.

Left in the am & was engaged by all the employees smiling on the way out for a early am walk.

Rooms are clean- friendly staff - great bar- best views- 5Stars all the way-we will be back for another visit for sure.

Thank you - for the relaxing Stay!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dquintana, Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear. Winsip,

Thank you for the very gracious review of 5 and helping us obtain our goal. Your generous comments are very much appreciated and these types of reviews always go along way in maintaining our teams spirits. We hope to see you again soon and wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. When I requested additional bath towels they were brought up immediately and gave us 1 hr later checkout when requested.The room was clean. Pillows too mushy for me. Rooms have ocean view but since hotel is perpendicular to beach you must turn your head to see ocean. Straight ahead is parking garage or hotel parking lot/pool so just realize that. You are only steps from the beach which is nice. pool was very nice, but bigger pool towels are needed. They are the size of a hand towel and paper thin. Happy hour drinks $4 and pool entertainment on Sat. The problem with Ventura is the 101 and train tracks run right through it, right next to the beach and behind hotel!!! The train runs continually so get ear plugs if you are light sleeper. Ventura Main St has good restaurants and is short walk away but the walk there over the 101 just doesn't have small town beach feel. The hotel is fine if you are going to be in Ventura but I preferred other California beach towns over Ventura.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dquintana, Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear. Srbohrer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about our hotel and the city of Ventura. We appreciate all the positive remarks you had to say about the hotel and staff but personally as a local I'm sad to hear that our city did not meet your expectations. As a small city we feel that we have much to offer and we hope we have another opportunity to show you all that we have offer. Thank you again for your time and comments and we wish you a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is well situated, the staff is very friendly and attentive and is reasonably clean. Comfortable beds as well. It is in dire need of a major refresh though. The grout in the bathroom is discolored and cracked and the bathmat was moldy. The decor is early 90's, my wife and I agreed that it was like staying in a cheap beach motel that happened to be a high rise.
Oh, and no free coffee on the weekends! Very unusual.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dquintana, Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear. Thinbuckle,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments we absolutely appreciate your time and business. Although we did not meet our goal of a 5 via this Trip Advisor review we hope that we have earned a chance for a repeat visit and can wow you with our service. Please keep in mind that although this hotel is not a new building we are constantly updating and working to maintain a well operated property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Looks nice location beside the beach and the sea. Look the other way and there is the motorway and the train. The room was good with a little balcony. Everything looked great. Do not agree that you should pay to park at a hotel but that was a minor issue. (Car was not secure as no barrier on). The main fault was the train which blew its horn again and again every time it passed. It sounded like it was in the room with you. Could not hear the sea, thanks to traffic noise. Restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dquintana, Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear. HMoo,

Thank you for your response regarding your most recent stay. Our goal when receiving a score via Trip Advisor is always a 5 and we apologize our hotel did not meet your expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach

Address: 450 E Harbor Blvd, at The Promenade, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach between Santa Barbara and Malibu. Near downtown Ventura Beach wine tasting, boutiques, outdoor cafes, and nightlife, Seaside Park, Ventura County Fairgrounds. Outdoor dining with firepits at Aqua Beachfront Bar and C-Street Restaurant. Walk along the Promenade Boardwalk to Amtrak and the historic Ventura Pier. 19,000 square feet of function space including the 6660 sf "Top of the Harbor" Ballroom with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Santa Barbara Channel and the Channel Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel Ventura
Ventura Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.