We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed staying” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   450 E Harbor Blvd, at The Promenade, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Enjoyed staying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a great hotel next only to the sea. From the Balcony one could view the ocean and the Pier. The railway track is also closeby and you could hear train movement. rooms are not very large but functional and confortable. staff are exceedingly nice and friendly. One has limited choice in break fast and is not great!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    216
    144
    117
    91
See reviews for
163
240
33
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherman oaks
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great hotel on the beach all rooms had ocean views. The bar area had big screen tv with sports on which was a plus for me. The food in the restaurant was great and the hotel is in walking distance from the town. Also in walking distance to the Amtrak train. Bike rentals were available at the hotel which was convenient. I am definitely
Going back to this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City of Angels
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was not our first choice, but after surveying all other Hotel rates, this seemed as equal to the others.....

The rooms facing the ocean & pier are much nicer; considering we were near the train tracks & fwy, the noise level was low; the manager, Zeke, was wonderful. It was a pleasant stay and we loved the comfort of the bed & the pillows were the best we've ever had.

So here's the not so great: No Refrigerator in the room, so there is no way to keep your left overs cool unless you bring a cooler; the "Smart Water" is $5.00 per bottle; the WiFi is not free (not that I care); in my reservations, I did ask for shampoo for 2, but we only had enough for one of us; parking is $12 if you use their lot or $8 if you park in the City lot; we wanted to take the Trolley, but there was no schedule available; the bathroom needs a working fan, because the steam escaped into the room making for damp: and breakfast is much extra.....

Room rates are less expensive online.......

Room Tip: Unless you have pets, avoid the 4th floor. I like the smaller number rooms, they are closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had a room overlooking the beach, beautiful.
We took our two Dobermans with us as we were attending the Santa Barbara dog shows.
No rooms in SB.
The staff was very friendly and made our dogs welcome.
The parking was a nightmare, on Saturday after spending 14 hours at the dogs show we came back
to the hotel, there was no where to park in the front of the hotel due to some big function held in the ballroom.
Alternative parking is in a back structure that homeless people visit and quiet obviously use as their
bathroom. The Hotel experience was ok but the parking was not good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are very delighted you and your Dobermans enjoyed your stay and our staff was able to make your stay a very pleasant one.

We understand it was a very busy weekend while you were here and as a result guests do park in the city structure once our lot is full. We would like to share that we do work with the city and they do have a 24 hour patrol called "Downtown Ambassadors". Part of their duties is to patrol and offer security for not only the hotel but for the Promenade and downtown area.

Please feel free on your next visit with us to communicate any concerns you may have and we will be more than happy to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Room had an ocean view alright but adjacent to the freeway, the noise since 5.30 am has been quite awful. Really quite the worst in this two week tour. Never ever again. There is a deep puddle of fluid on the balcony that I can only presume is condensate from the ac unit but it stepped right in it when we arrived. Dated old place. Needs a serious makeover

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear gregg2918,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the noise issues you have encountered. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just here for a wedding held locally. Most of the out of towner’s stayed at this property so we could all enjoy the weekend together etc. The high spot is the location on the beach and within easy walking distance of downtown Ventura which by the way is pretty cool and has some great restaurants, bars and shopping. In fairness most of the staff I came in contact with were very friendly and professional. The building itself is just blah! Whoever did the interior design needs a new career path, my guess is there was no direction in design, just Crowne Plaza IHG just putting what pieces they had in storage out on display. standing at the front desk there is zero arrival experience, no soul, the lobby/restaurant is littered with what I assume is local paintings for sale that share no comment theme just a mix match of stuff they were given to fill up some space. The rooms have very saggy bedding, you don’t need to lay down to experience this, they are so beat up you notice when walking in, when we all met at the bar in the lobby ths was our first topic of discussion. Carpet in the rooms is damp, if I had have given it the white sock test my guess is it would not have been pretty. There is a guest compendium with all the tabs for various outlets and services however no content pages...slack. If you do stay here use it as a bed only there is no other reason to be inside the building. Weekend we were here it looked to be full house, my guess is it is a great cash generator for IHG, pity they don’t re-invest because as is, ultimately it is a rip off.

Room Tip: Try to get as high a floor as possible, most rooms seem to have ocean views however the train tracks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to comment on your recent stay and your honest feedback.

It is our aim to offer our guests a entirely satisfactory service. We truly apologize for the inconvenience you had with the the bedding. Our beds have been updated to queen beds in our double rooms back in August and we are currently updating all our king beds in which we hope to be done by the end of this year.

We currently went through a small transition during the summer months with our front office staff. We want to apologize that you did receive a warm reception at the moment you approached the front desk. As a Manager of the department I insist on a fun and friendly attitude. We sat together as the front office team and discussed this issue so that it won’t happen again. We thank you very much for your helpful and reasonable criticism.

We hope you will give us a second chance to convince you with a better service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Cowne Plaza is right on Ventura Beach. Easy to get to- you can't miss it. CP is the largest building along the board walk, a bit of an eye sore actually.
The hotel is within walking distance to all the bars and places to eat. There is a great selection- Thai BBQ houses to pizza places. You could spend a little or a lot on food and drinks.

But back to the hotel. There was tea and coffee making facilities but no fridge in the room. There is a well equipped gym (if you feel the urge) and parking for guests is $12 a night.
The internet in the rooms is free... if you have plug in. Wireless is available at a cost. I was able to connect to the free wireless from the bar, but that dropped out a lot.

Room was a decent size, modern and clean. The pool and pool bar area over looked the beach and was very popular.

Crowne Plaza has a good reputation and you can assume you will be getting a decent room. Ventura CP does not disappoint when I comes to presentation and services.

The best thing about staying there? The Taco Café at the start of the Pier... and have a seafood Burrito with chilli shrimp for me!

Room Tip: Not all rooms face the beach. We could see the ocean but the whir and view of all the air conditioni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! It is wonderful to hear from our valued customers and appreciate your continued patronage. We look forward to seeing you again soon here at the Crowne Plaza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach

Address: 450 E Harbor Blvd, at The Promenade, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach between Santa Barbara and Malibu. Near downtown Ventura Beach wine tasting, boutiques, outdoor cafes, and nightlife, Seaside Park, Ventura County Fairgrounds. Outdoor dining with firepits at Aqua Beachfront Bar and C-Street Restaurant. Walk along the Promenade Boardwalk to Amtrak and the historic Ventura Pier. 19,000 square feet of function space including the 6660 sf "Top of the Harbor" Ballroom with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Santa Barbara Channel and the Channel Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel Ventura
Ventura Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.