We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every bad review we read beforehand was true!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   450 E Harbor Blvd, at The Promenade, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 20 hotels in Ventura
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Every bad review we read beforehand was true!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We read a couple of reviews beforehand and thought "how bad can it be? It's on the water, it's a Crowne Plaza, it'll be fine."

- The hotel was old, dated, unkempt.
- The bed was hard.
- The towels were old and frayed
- The shower mat was moldy
- The shower water reached a barely bearable warm at best
- The TV was an outdated tube and the remote hardly worked
- I could still see leftover toothpaste from the previous guest(s) on the sink fixtures
- Housekeeping knocked frantically on our door in the early morning
- WORST OF ALL: The noise was awful! We were told on check in that there was a wedding on the 12th floor going on until midnight that would disturb us. We were placed on the 9th floor and felt like we were practically IN the wedding hall.
- On top of that, the sound of the passing trains all night were super loud and made us feel like we were in a trashy place.

Good luck :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Traveller11213,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

I am concerned to read that your stay did not live up to your expectations. Please accept my most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you by the event and the noise from the train. We deeply regret the poor experience and service issues you had during your stay.

Your comments are very important as we rely on you, our valued guest to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    175
    125
    109
    87
See reviews for
147
205
28
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel is old and needs works. Check in was a little chaotic and folks were not sure where the line started and/or ended. The area surrounding I felt was a little scary in the evening with it's fair share of homeless people. Parking is a JOKE! We paid $12 to only park in the overflow parking lot with no one attending the gate.

I found the staff to be friendly and had no issues.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Rani C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. We strive to ensure all of our guests needs are met and we are pleased to know that the service provided by our staff were to your liking and contributed to making your stay that much more comfortable. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered with the condition of our hotel as well as your check in experience, neighborhood and parking. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Planned on staying here for the weekend, only stayed one night. The staff is not friendly at all, no customer service. They're just there. Nothing much to say. The room was ran down and not worth the hotel name. We stayed in the 3rd floor facing the freeway and train tracks, it was loud- no ocean view. I didn't bother asking for a room change as we were tired and I knew I was leaving as soon as possible, just need a place to rest. The bathroom is small, no counter space. There were holes in the wallpaper, the carpet was disgusting, stained with dirt and some red marks everywhere. Wallpaper in the room also had holes. They have old old tube TVs. The beds and pillows are the most uncomfortable that I have ever slept in. It is located near the beach, but trust me, you should just stay a bit further, in a place that is comfortable and worth your money. Parking is $12 a day. My reservation stated that I received a few amenities, when I arrived, the supervisor only honored 1. Again, seeing that customer service was not their strong suit, I just left it alone, not worth the discussion.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the freeway and train tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear TravelingLilly,

Thank you for your review. All our guest comments are valuable and we consider them seriously in the consistent endeavor to improve the quality of our products and service.

I am sorry to hear that your experience was not what you expected. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the noise challenges you had and the shortcomings you have encountered in your room. We deeply regret that negative experience and impressions you may have had.

I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed here for one night and checked out as soon as I could. The hotel is not staffed to handle the amount of people staying in the hotel. Like another reviewer mentioned, I waited more than 15 minutes to check in as the one person behind the counter was helping someone else. This was the least of my problems. The hotel is run down. The rooms need a complete remodel from the carpets to the beds, the color, the windows. Everything needs to be changed. This has the potential to be a great place if the management and the owners actually decided to invest some money into it.

We found hair on the sheets on both beds and had to ask for new linens.

The location is also questionable as there are a lot of homeless that hang out on the beach right next to the hotel at night and during the day, giving the hotel a bad aspect.

Overall a bad experience. Stay somewhere else if you can avoid this place.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear msmxtoo,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We take all comments seriously and value the chance to make improvements where possible.

I am disappointed to hear that we failed to meet your expectations in some areas. I sincerely apologize for the poor service you had during check in and regret the dissatisfaction you had with our amenities. Rest assured that this isn't reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves
with.

We appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests and this is crucial for us to address any issues that may come up. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades. We all hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed in this hotel during the busy summer season, which I imagine to be fairly normal for them. I mention this because they did not seem to have the staff to deal with the guests. I waited 15 minutes to check in while watching the front desk personnel deal with other guests? on the phone. I then waited another 15 minutes for the one bell person to help with the luggage. We booked a suite, which I thought was really lacking for the money, I literally looked around the corner for the rest of the room. The hotel overall feels run down and unable to deal at full capacity. The pool and pool area are too small to meet the needs of the hotel this size. Go else where if you are able.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear T W,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our property. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. It is regrettable that our hotel was not able to meet your expectations this particular day. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

On arrival, the Hotel was located in a sea / beach front location, it had a large outdoor pool with a good sized barrier operated car park. The rooms were spacious, clean and tidy. The hotel restaurants were served by excellent staff who were very knowledgeable and helpful, the food was tasty. The only drawback I found was the proximality of the busy rail line which ran alongside the hotels access road. Along the sea front ran a nice walk way / cycleway with views of Pierpont Bay. The area had numerous cafe's and restaurants which were reasonably priced. Ventura town was pleasant and only a short walk with plenty of local amenities. All in all a very comfortable stay which was reasonably priced and was easily accessible from Route 101 / 1 Highway. If your heading south take the quieter East Harbor Blvd towards Oxnard Marina its a nice drive with nice views and access to.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up have a better seaview, especially the south facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

It must be the fact that they live in Ventura, a sleepy beach town with quaint restaurants, that the hotel staff is super helpful and the most friendly I've experienced. The hotel is dog-friendly, a little dated, but absolutely the nicest staff is what really stands out from my stay. Its only steps (literally) to the beach and plenty of restaurants within a few minutes walking. Ocean breezes wafting through the room were very memorable also. Did not use the hotel restaurant or pool so I cannot rate those.

Room Tip: Upper floors might have nicer breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach

Address: 450 E Harbor Blvd, at The Promenade, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach between Santa Barbara and Malibu. Near downtown Ventura Beach wine tasting, boutiques, outdoor cafes, and nightlife, Seaside Park, Ventura County Fairgrounds. Outdoor dining with firepits at Aqua Beachfront Bar and C-Street Restaurant. Walk along the Promenade Boardwalk to Amtrak and the historic Ventura Pier. 19,000 square feet of function space including the 6660 sf "Top of the Harbor" Ballroom with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Santa Barbara Channel and the Channel Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel Ventura
Ventura Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.