We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   450 E Harbor Blvd, at The Promenade, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Ventura
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

On arrival, the Hotel was located in a sea / beach front location, it had a large outdoor pool with a good sized barrier operated car park. The rooms were spacious, clean and tidy. The hotel restaurants were served by excellent staff who were very knowledgeable and helpful, the food was tasty. The only drawback I found was the proximality of the busy rail line which ran alongside the hotels access road. Along the sea front ran a nice walk way / cycleway with views of Pierpont Bay. The area had numerous cafe's and restaurants which were reasonably priced. Ventura town was pleasant and only a short walk with plenty of local amenities. All in all a very comfortable stay which was reasonably priced and was easily accessible from Route 101 / 1 Highway. If your heading south take the quieter East Harbor Blvd towards Oxnard Marina its a nice drive with nice views and access to.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up have a better seaview, especially the south facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    236
    157
    123
    94
See reviews for
171
265
38
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

It must be the fact that they live in Ventura, a sleepy beach town with quaint restaurants, that the hotel staff is super helpful and the most friendly I've experienced. The hotel is dog-friendly, a little dated, but absolutely the nicest staff is what really stands out from my stay. Its only steps (literally) to the beach and plenty of restaurants within a few minutes walking. Ocean breezes wafting through the room were very memorable also. Did not use the hotel restaurant or pool so I cannot rate those.

Room Tip: Upper floors might have nicer breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The location is extremely convenient to walk to downtown or along the beach boardwalk. It's right on the water and all of the rooms have a view of the ocean. Apparently the hotel is in the process of renovating the rooms. We stayed in an older room that was extremely outdated. The dusty old tube tv and stained carpets made it feel like a cheap motel. But the renovated lobby and elevators were lovely. All of the staff was friendly and helpful, especially the bellman James who went out of his way to make us feel welcomed.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear sassycg,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to read you found our location convenient and appreciate you kind words regarding our staff. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Once again, thank you for your time and staying with us. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel is easy to find and parking is right outside the hotel (there is a daily parking fee - $14, if I can remember correctly).
It is located right at the beach and on the Ventura promenade.
Check-in was smooth and we received a huge upgrade (two room suite with even two seperate entrance doors). Therefore we had three balconies to enjoy the view (but be aware, that there's a freeway just behind the building - so keep in mind that there will be traffic noise if you open the balcony doors).
The spacious suite came in very handy because we had to pack our suitcases for our flight home to Austria.
The suite was equipped with two flatsceen tvs, fridge and plenty of space (there were also two bathrooms - they were pretty small by the way).
Everything was clean and well appointed.
You can easily walk to the many restaurants which are located in downtown Ventura - there is also a liquor store just across the bridge as well.
They even serve free breakfast for Priority Club Members in the lobby (nothing fancy but ok - it's free).
I'm already looking forward to my next stay in September 2013 - keep it up !

Room Tip: Book the Shop and Stay package on IHG.com to get an ocean view room and a gift certificate for the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for first time over July 4th holiday and will definitely be back! Love the location on the boardwalk over the beach, great views and perfect for evening stroll. Downtown is within walking distance as well, which was convenient as streets were closed for July 4th street fair all day. Lobby was updated and comfortable, though small for the number of guests. We have an ocean view 2 room suite for 4 of us and the rooms were updated and spacious. The only caveat is that one room only had a sofa bed (not a real bed), so 2 people had to manage that but at least the sofa bed was reasonably comfortable. Our bedroom side is smaller but had a real bed. Really enjoyed out stay. Only two small complaints, the hotel parking lot gets very full with weekend bar people or wedding or parties, so have to park at overflow alternate structure next door. We pay $12/day for overnight parking, seems like we should have priority over day visitors. Also, front desk seems lightly staffed for a holiday weekend when hotel is packed. Hotel had a system problem that wiped out a lot of the electronic keys and the line to re-key our card took 15 mins with only one person at front. But these are small things and location trumps everything else.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPVB_Management, Online Media Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thanks for giving us a review. We're glad you like our hotel and have noticed the great things about our hotel. We apologize about the Sofa Bed next time you book give us a call directly at 805.648.2100 that way we can better assist you to get a room to better fit your needs. We will try our best however on weekend of high travel like Fourth of July that might be hard but we are here to help you.

We are happy you enjoy your time at the beach in downtown and as you may have realized we use both parking lots for our guests especially if you prefer to cover your car in the parking structure which many of our guests do as do I park over there. We welcome our guests to use both lots and we validate for both parking lots as well so during peak times for Downtown Ventura this will be hard for us to decide who comes in and who comes out especially if they are in our hotel for a wedding or meeting.

We hope you enjoyed your time and we would like to see you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is located between the beach on the one side and the highway/railroad on the other. Although it was quite cool in June, I had to close the balcony door and run the fan of AC, to drown out the outside traffic.The room doors tend to slam, the sound insulation was adequate. Breakfast expensive and not good. The pool was looking a little sad. The beach itself was not particularly splendid that time of year - I saw mostly beach squirrels in droves, and homeless people, again in droves. There is a restaurant/bar/dive across the small plaza.
The town is an easy walk across the tracks. There are enough restaurants and other establishments to last you a couple of days. Do try the taco stand on the pier - it's fantastic!

Room Tip: There is no 'beach-side' vs 'city-side', because the windows are north-south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear George610,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the pool and food selection which was unacceptable. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The location right by the beach in Ventura can't be beat. The hotel itself has an update lobby and bar and restaurant. They spruced up the decor of the rooms but the hallways still feel like the old Holiday Inn this was years ago. The staff was very friendly and we got two free drinks for being part of the Intercontinental hotel club. We had a really good stay. They have chairs you can put out on the small balconies and the view of the ocean is great. So it's nice but nothing too upscale. Perfect for a little getaway though!

Room Tip: We picked a room on the North side so we would have afternoon sun and get to watch the sunset. The h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPVB_Management, Online Media Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Firstly thank your for leaving us with your comments we appreciate both the good and the bad as it helps us better suit our guests needs. We are glad that you have noticed our ongoing reservations as they are currently still happening and the hotel will continue to be more and more spruced up.

Thank you for joining the Intercontinental Hotel Club. It has it's perks for anyone else reading this review you can join IHG Rewards and collect points in our loyalty program and receive perks as well.

We are glad you enjoyed your room and the view from your balcony. We recommend reserving those top level room when you decide to come back. If you book directly through us we can better serve you booking and get you in a more appropriate room for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach

Address: 450 E Harbor Blvd, at The Promenade, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach between Santa Barbara and Malibu. Near downtown Ventura Beach wine tasting, boutiques, outdoor cafes, and nightlife, Seaside Park, Ventura County Fairgrounds. Outdoor dining with firepits at Aqua Beachfront Bar and C-Street Restaurant. Walk along the Promenade Boardwalk to Amtrak and the historic Ventura Pier. 19,000 square feet of function space including the 6660 sf "Top of the Harbor" Ballroom with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Santa Barbara Channel and the Channel Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel Ventura
Ventura Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.