We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short on charm, but adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   450 E Harbor Blvd, at The Promenade, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Ventura
New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Short on charm, but adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is located between the beach on the one side and the highway/railroad on the other. Although it was quite cool in June, I had to close the balcony door and run the fan of AC, to drown out the outside traffic.The room doors tend to slam, the sound insulation was adequate. Breakfast expensive and not good. The pool was looking a little sad. The beach itself was not particularly splendid that time of year - I saw mostly beach squirrels in droves, and homeless people, again in droves. There is a restaurant/bar/dive across the small plaza.
The town is an easy walk across the tracks. There are enough restaurants and other establishments to last you a couple of days. Do try the taco stand on the pier - it's fantastic!

Room Tip: There is no 'beach-side' vs 'city-side', because the windows are north-south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear George610,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the pool and food selection which was unacceptable. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    236
    157
    123
    94
See reviews for
171
265
38
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The location right by the beach in Ventura can't be beat. The hotel itself has an update lobby and bar and restaurant. They spruced up the decor of the rooms but the hallways still feel like the old Holiday Inn this was years ago. The staff was very friendly and we got two free drinks for being part of the Intercontinental hotel club. We had a really good stay. They have chairs you can put out on the small balconies and the view of the ocean is great. So it's nice but nothing too upscale. Perfect for a little getaway though!

Room Tip: We picked a room on the North side so we would have afternoon sun and get to watch the sunset. The h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPVB_Management, Online Media Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Firstly thank your for leaving us with your comments we appreciate both the good and the bad as it helps us better suit our guests needs. We are glad that you have noticed our ongoing reservations as they are currently still happening and the hotel will continue to be more and more spruced up.

Thank you for joining the Intercontinental Hotel Club. It has it's perks for anyone else reading this review you can join IHG Rewards and collect points in our loyalty program and receive perks as well.

We are glad you enjoyed your room and the view from your balcony. We recommend reserving those top level room when you decide to come back. If you book directly through us we can better serve you booking and get you in a more appropriate room for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsbruce
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

If you get a high enough room you can see the beach. You will also hear traffic from the highway, horns from the trains and your next door neighbors. You will be walking on stained and thread bare rugs. The bathroom is very small with old, cheap and warn out fixtures. It's hard to believe that this place is allowed to call itself a Crown Plaza. In fact, I would expect more of a Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Choose a room at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear bsbruce,

Thank you for your review of our hotel regarding your visit with us.

However, I am disappointed to hear negative experience during your stay. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Our sincerest apologies for we have failed to exceed or at least meet your expectations and we deeply regret the dissatisfaction you had with our hotel.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We value you as a guest and we hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Crowne Plaza in Ventura was a good experience for us and I would stay again. It wasn't perfection by any means but was certainly "good enough" for our purposes.

Pros: VERY friendly staff - every employee of the hotel greeted us, every time they saw us, no exceptions. Great location - walk out the door, pass the pool and there's the ocean. It was great for us because the kids could explore the beach or walk down to the pier and have a little freedom without us. And there are wonderful restaurants (Aloha and Eric Ericcson's) within walking distance. The room was large enough for 4 people with 10 days worth of stuff and we loved the balcony for hanging up wet towels and swimsuits (or a little alone time in the morning before everyone else woke up.)

So-so: The room was clean but worn out. Actually, the entire hotel has a worn feel to it. It would be great if they would invest some money into freshening things up a bit. Also, the view wasn't terrible but not fantastic. From the balcony if we looked straight out we saw the parking garage. But there were mountains to the left and ocean to the right, which was very nice.

Cons: The parking really sucked. It was great the first day because we checked in a little early. Our bodies were still on CST, so we usually ate at off times (like dinner at 4pm PST) and that helped us to get decent parking most of the time. However, if we were gone all day and trying to park in the evening, it was kind of a joke. There is a parking garage next door, which helps, but at one point we circled the entire garage 3x before we found anything. Not a very relaxing end to a long day!! The other huge issue was the bathroom size. There was no counter space at all in the bathroom. There was a pedestal sink and a tiny glass shelf above the toilet. We kept most of our toiletries and toothbrushes on the side of the bathtub to make sure nothing fell into the john!

Bottom line: practical, economical, very good location. Not romantic or fancy

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Tina A,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. However, I sincerely apologize for the experience you had with the parking and bathroom issues you have encountered. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know. Once again many thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

After reviewing other postings here, I think people need to pay attention. Clearly this hotel is not to the Crowne Plaza standards and its obvious when you arrive. My experience during this visit was less than satisfactory. First, when I arrived I could not locate a parking space. I attempted to call someone on the intercom but no answer. When I finally found somewhere to park, I mentioned it to the clerk at check in and she basically just brushed me off saying our intercom is working. The guest room conditions are very dated as others have mentioned. I don't have so much of a problem with a dated conditions but the staff should be cleaning properly. I pulled the rubber bathtub up from tub and it had a bunch of hair. So if you stay here then be sure to pull it up the mat from tub and throw it out as I did, If the hotel did a little painting and repair in the rooms, it would go far. For example, there was a lot of shoddy patch and repair work that shouldn't be there. The rooms are small but what can you do. I think other posters mentioned the beds being poor. I would have to agree. I'm wondering if these the same beds when the hotel opened? I ate breakfast one morning. The breakfast was average but convenient. So all in all, if you are looking for an upscale hotel, this is not the place, but if you are looking for a nice beach location and beautiful views then this is a good choice. Oh, during my interactions with the staff, I found them not to be helpful. almost a feeling like they are bothered.

Room Tip: High floor with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear CenCoastSurfer,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. Please accept my sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you have experienced during your stay with us. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know. I sincerely hope that the next time you are in Ventura you will give our hotel another try.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I read the Trip Advisor reviews and thought we'd take a chance. Traveling with kids. Pros: great location and a pool! Staff is also friendly. They have laundry facilities. Cons: Not enough parking, key cards to room didn't work, phone didn't work, no towels at pool, pool looked dirty, my bill was incorrect at checkout, and it's noisy. I've never been to a place where everyone around us experienced the same issues and the others staying at this very large hotel were so agitated given the problems. Tense environment. Examples: We were awakened in the middle of the night with people yelling at another room to be quiet (yes, you can hear people talking at night). Many people were overheard complaining about the parking problem and that the overflow was full (get here early to get a spot). Also, overheard another customer steadily raising their voice to the maintenance man over the key as it wasn't working (our keys didn't work either upon check-in). I won't be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we are very sorry you were disappointed with your stay. Your concerns have been addressed with our team and we are working on resolving them. In regards to guest noise we do our best to make sure all guests are happy and comfortable while staying at our property and although our staff is advised to let management know of certain individuals that are being loud and/or disruptive we also count on the immediate feedback our guests to advise of such occurrences. This way we can resolve these matters promptly. We are very pleased that our staff was friendly and we hope that one day you may come back and visit us and allow us the opportunity to change your feelings about our hotel. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed there for one night. Room is large but the decor seems outdated and needs a total refurbish. The staff there are very friendly and the restaurant serves good breakfast. Noise is certainly a problem for rooms facing the parking lot and close to the freeway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We are very pleased that our staff was friendly and you are happy with the service they provided. We strive to make every guest experience as pleasant as possible. We apologize that the quality of the room wasn't what you were expecting and we are aware that some of our rooms need a little updating. This is why we are currently going through a total refresh of all the rooms in hopes being completed with all our rooms late this year. We expect that the next time you visit us not only can we meet your expectations but surpass them and make your stay a great one. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach

Address: 450 E Harbor Blvd, at The Promenade, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach between Santa Barbara and Malibu. Near downtown Ventura Beach wine tasting, boutiques, outdoor cafes, and nightlife, Seaside Park, Ventura County Fairgrounds. Outdoor dining with firepits at Aqua Beachfront Bar and C-Street Restaurant. Walk along the Promenade Boardwalk to Amtrak and the historic Ventura Pier. 19,000 square feet of function space including the 6660 sf "Top of the Harbor" Ballroom with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Santa Barbara Channel and the Channel Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel Ventura
Ventura Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.