We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has seen better days” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   450 E Harbor Blvd, at The Promenade, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Has seen better days”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times before, but it is now showing its age and seems neglected. Our room had an Analog tube TV (who still uses tube TVs in 3 1/2 * hotels????), the carpet had obviously not recently been vaccumed and was badly stained, the business centre computer keyboard was virually unreadable with the letters worn off, and the bathtub drain plug did not fit, wo we could not take a bath and had to be satisfied with showers. The bathroom did not even have space to place two toilet bags.

The ice machine, which was on another floor, was not working so we had to drudge up another 2 floors to another ice machine, the maids left the bedside lamp unplugged (too lazy to re-plug after vaccuming) so we had to move furniture to replace plug. Housekeeping management needs to improve checking on the work of their staff. All in all a disappointing stay in what we remember as a very nice hotel in a very attractive location.

And let's not forget a $10 per night parking fee.

Room Tip: get a room facing west as there are homeless people loitering on the parkade side and the sunsets ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear 190744,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had with some of the amenities and facilities. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    216
    144
    117
    91
See reviews for
163
240
33
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porterville, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Not bad so far. Will finish review after our trip. We got 140 dollar room for 78 dollars on a weekday. So good so far rooms are little bit dated. If you search for hotels in Ventura on Travelocity this is the secret hotel that's 4 stars.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Went back to the Crowne Plaza's NYE party for the fourth year in a row. It is seriously the most fun. I had stopped going out on new year's long ago because I didn't want to fight the crowds or risk driving but now that I've found this party, New Year's is one of my favorite nights of the year! The food is outstanding, the room is beautiful and the view is amazing, but the best thing of all is the d.j. The most fun, lively, motivating d.j. ever. Then after a night of dancing and partying, you just take the elevator to your room- safe and sound. We woke up on New Year's Day and had a great breakfast and a nice long walk along the beach. Everyone should do this!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thanks for your review. It's great to hear that you had a blast during our New Year's celebration. Our DJ is a big hit every year and the party's reputation continues to grow thanks to patrons like yourself. We look forward to seeing you back next New Year and hopefully before that as well. We offer a lot of ways to enjoy Ventura County with our package rates and by hosting social and community events throughout the year. You can stay up to date with all of our hotel happenings by checking in on our website and social media channels regularly. Hope to see you back at our hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great hotel to enjoy the ocean in Ventura! Sunset from the room was incredible! The beds are awesome and it is walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants! The trains/traffic are a bit on the loud side! At night it was pretty quiet!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for your review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed our location. Don't forget we offer many packages with local businesses that can enhance your experience next time. We offer package rates which include tickets to Channel Islands, the Reagan Library, Olivas Links golf course, and even a shopping package with Camarillo Premium Outlets. We look forward to seeing you back at our hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel is perfect for a relaxing one or two-night stay in Ventura. All rooms have small balconies and face the gorgeous Pacific Ocean. Determine whether you want the glare of the sun bouncing off the ocean when you awake (South-facing rooms) or at dusk (North facing). For the offseason price of $140 for a king, this place couldn't be beat.

They have upgraded many of the rooms and all have flat screen TVs and soft, comfy beds. There is an outdoor pool and sitting, firepit area off the lobby bar.

The quaint "downtown" Ventura area is less than a 10-minute walk which allows you to leave the car at the hotel ($10 per night) and simply walk to drinks and dinner. Eric Erickson's fish restuarnt is just steps away on the long pier. Perfect for a happy hour cocktail overlooking the ocean.

The best food in town is at Lure, a new high(er) end oyster and fish house. Freshly shucked ostyers are $1.50 per between 4-6pm. If you like brew (and don't care about particularly good food), check out the Anacapa Brewing Company.

You may also want to step back in time to the beginnings of California living with a visit to the Mission Santa Bueanaventura at the end of Main Street ($4 per person. Self-guided tours).

There are several motels in town that might be a few bucks less, but if you're looking for a full-service resort with a killer view, spend a couple extra bucks at stay at the Crowne.

Room Tip: South facing rooms get hit with the sunrise early in the morning. North side rooms get the intense g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
You said it better than I could! Thanks for a great review of our location. Besides our hotel there are a lot of hidden gems in the local area. I'm happy you were able to experience downtown Ventura, the beach, and our hotel on your visit and we look forward to your return. Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francsico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We were very happy with this hotel. The rooms were okay, they were clean but the bathrooms were small. It had everything you needed. You have to pay $10 a day for parking, but you never have to move it. The hotel is right on the beach and a couple minutes walk from the Main street. The best thing about this hotel, other than location, is the staff. They were VERY friendly, and not in a suck up annoying way, they just seemed to be very nice people. We went to happy hour at the bar and everyone there was helpful and nice. When we were there the bartenders name was Erin and she was very welcoming. Unlike other comments, the train didn't bother us. We only heard it a handful of times in our two day stay. Overall, we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to mention what a great job our staff did during your stay. We will make sure Erin knows you appreciated and recognized her. We believe our customer service is what makes our hotel a great destination, although our location also can't be beat. We hope we can provide you with another great travel experience next time you are in Ventura. Look forward to seeing you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is as much a lament as praise.

We had a great stay at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach this Martin Luther King Weekend. We took Amtrak from our home in L.A., and had excellent summer-like weather in January. We may consider more short getaways like this in the future. Hotel room was fine for us: 2 adults and kids aged 10 and 12. The room was large enough. We could get two of us seated at the desk with laptop computers. We were on the 5th floor, toward the beach end. The seashore noise (waves breaking, seagulls squawking) drowned out the Amtrak and freeway noise. I think the best views are located from the 4th floor up, to see over the ground floor lobby building. Every room has a beach view because the hotel building is oriented perpendicular to the shore. Our room faced west (or shoreline north) with a good view of the surfing activity, which was plenty.

We rented a bicycle surrey that held the 4 of us and we pedaled up and down the boardwalk. Then we strolled over to Ventura's Main Street for dinner and dessert and I was impressed by the array of restaurants and shops there.

The lament is that this hotel has a monopoly on beachfront hospitality. If we couldn't get a room here, the other hotel choices are on the other side of the freeway and railroad tracks from the beach. Main Street could be an even livelier place with more hotels like this: on the beach but walking distance to Downtown. It was a good mid-range valued hotel. We wouldn't consider staying overnight elsewhere in Ventura, because we could have done a day trip from our home in L.A.

Room Tip: Building has 10 floors, 27 rooms per floor with a single north-south hallway. Beach is on the south...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave such a detailed review. We're glad you experienced all of the opportunities that our hotel provides, especially for a leisurely getaway with your family. It sounds like you took full advantage of our amenities, including our bike/surrey rentals. We hope to see you and your family next time you need a quick escape to the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach

Address: 450 E Harbor Blvd, at The Promenade, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach between Santa Barbara and Malibu. Near downtown Ventura Beach wine tasting, boutiques, outdoor cafes, and nightlife, Seaside Park, Ventura County Fairgrounds. Outdoor dining with firepits at Aqua Beachfront Bar and C-Street Restaurant. Walk along the Promenade Boardwalk to Amtrak and the historic Ventura Pier. 19,000 square feet of function space including the 6660 sf "Top of the Harbor" Ballroom with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Santa Barbara Channel and the Channel Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel Ventura
Ventura Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.