We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   450 E Harbor Blvd, at The Promenade, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Springville, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We travel often and typically stay in A+ facilities. We recently attended a birthday celebration for our daughter that was held the Crowne Plaza in Ventura. They also catered the event. Everything, including the rooms was outstanding. The staff and the setting equaled the best that we have ever experienced.

If you have never tried the Crowne Plaza in Ventra Beach, I recommend that you do so. It is a great hotel on the ocean with an incredible staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPVB_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Steve B,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel. It’s great to hear you had a wonderful stay and event with us. We are very pleased you choose us for such a special occasion. I have shared your review with our banquet staff from the event and they are very happy you and your family enjoyed the service and food. Our staff truly strives to provide superior service and make every stay and event a memorable one.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    207
    139
    115
    91
See reviews for
162
231
33
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I was lucky enough to spend my 40th birthday at the Crowne Plaza at the beach in Ventura. We had about forty friends/family join us for a great party in the smaller banquet room at the top of the hotel. It was a gorgeous evening and we all enjoyed the incredible ocean views before and during sunset. Amazing! The staff were very attentive, and the food was over the top. Some of our guests stayed the night at the hotel and everyone was very happy with their room (they all have an ocean view). Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPVB_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear natsmom1215,

We are so happy you chose us to hold such a special occasion. I have shared your compliments with our Executive Chef Luis Martinez who just recently received top honors at the 2012 Casa Pacifica Angels Wine and Food Festival’s culinary competition. We would be honored to help celebrate your next Birthday!

Thank you again for your review,

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

If you are accustomed to vacationing at a five star hotel; you may want to revise your travel arrangements. I would agree with other reviews relating to the friendly staff and great location. Otherwise I was not impressed. The rooms were old, small and had that "old room smell". The bed was uncomfortable and the pillow left me with a stiff neck. The television was an old tube TV that was out of color. I suppose the hotel would be a surfers paradise "sits right off the beach", however the amenities are less desirable... No sauna or Jacuzzi and the tubs were very small. Needless to say my stay was not memorable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPVB_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear ClaranceR,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Ventura. I apologize that our hotel is not up to the standards and amenities of a 5 star hotel. The Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel is classified as a 3 start hotel, so we do lack certain amenities such as a sauna. However our staff does strive to provide 5 star service to create memorable stays for all our guests.

We thank you for your review,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lotus, CA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Nice hotel on a strip of land between the freeway and Pacific. Situated so all rooms have a balcony and view of the ocean. Nice sized rooms---mine had a king-sized bed with white linens and room for a comfy deskchair and easy chair. Only complaint would be the poor lighting in the bathroom and lack of counter space there. Lots of beach to walk or enjoy and a lengthy walking/biking trail above the beach. There is a long pier with a snack bar and nicer restaurant. Within walking distance to mainstreet which has lots of shops and eating opportunities. Of course the hotel has a restaurant and a bar with happy hour drinks/snacks. If you require an upscale area this may not be for you as there was more of a funky beachtown vibe. Also, the Amtrack runs outside so if train whistles bother you, it could be a problem. I loved it all.

Room Tip: All rooms in the 11 stories looked either up the beach(sunset) or down the beach(sunrise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPVB_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear dawnlotus,

It is great to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. I apologize about the lighting in the guest bathroom; we are however working on adding additional counter space in the bathroom. I will make sure to pass your compliments on to our staff as they strive to provide superior service and make every stay a memorable one.


Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

It was beautiful weather and all the people were great. The food in C Street is wonderful, they have a great chef.

Room Tip: get a room on the north side. it's totally unobstructed ocean view. South side great too, as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPVB_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Vicki P,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel. We are very pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us during your last visit to Ventura. I will make sure to pass your compliments on to our staff as well as our Executive Chef Luis. We hope that you will visit us again during your next trip to Ventura.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

My mom and I stayed here for three nights for a conference happening in the hotel. It was the classic case of a hotel looking pretty nice (and somewhat recently renovated) in the lobby area, but not having any renovations in the guest rooms. They were just old and tired looking. Armchairs were worn and ripped in places. Bathroom was clean, but mildew was visible around the tub. Ours happened to be a room with an adjoining room. However, we were unlucky that we got a group of extremely giggly (almost screaming) girls in the adjoining room for two of our three nights. It was like they were in our room with us. Zero sound barrier and it made for a very unrestful sleep. Front desk staff was definitely friendly and helpful- no complaints there at all. Location was also fabulous. Right on the water, minutes' walk to the public pier. Would love to go back to Ventura again because it's a fantastic little city with great shopping and incredible food. Must try "Rice" restaurant- super delicious, fresh Thai food. If I went back, I'd just find a different hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPVB_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear sarahmjames,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel during your last visit. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the location of our Hotel and have rated us high in Service and Location. I would like to apologize that you were not happy with your room; we are currently in the process of updating our rooms and hope you will be back to see the updates we have made. Please be assured that your comments have been brought to the attention of our management team and will be addressed.

We thank you for your review

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I got a great deal on Hotwire for this hotel, which was almost 1/2 the price of their original rate. I stayed for business for 1 week. The receptionists were pleasant, they have a bar with good happy hour and nice outdoor patio, too. Their restaurant is one of my favorites in Ventura. I recommend it!

Room Tip: I used Hotwire to get a good price, although you might not get this hotel! The higher up you go the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPVB_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear MsLydia,

It is great to hear that you had a wonderful stay and were able to unwind at our Aqua beach front lounge. I will make sure to pass your compliments on to our staff as they strive to provide superior service and make every stay a memorable one. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach

Address: 450 E Harbor Blvd, at The Promenade, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach between Santa Barbara and Malibu. Near downtown Ventura Beach wine tasting, boutiques, outdoor cafes, and nightlife, Seaside Park, Ventura County Fairgrounds. Outdoor dining with firepits at Aqua Beachfront Bar and C-Street Restaurant. Walk along the Promenade Boardwalk to Amtrak and the historic Ventura Pier. 19,000 square feet of function space including the 6660 sf "Top of the Harbor" Ballroom with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Santa Barbara Channel and the Channel Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel Ventura
Ventura Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.