We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fabulous getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   450 E Harbor Blvd, at The Promenade, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Ventura
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a fabulous getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We had a women's retreat at the Crowne Plaza and everyone took such good care of us and helped us. The staff is warm and friendly. The food was fabulous. The view from the room was so great that we would go to sleep each night with the drape open to watch the lights on the ocean. There were lots of things to do within easy walking distance and we will definitely return to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Visalia, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I love this hotel! I stayed here with many women from my church on a retreat...so the nightly rate was a cheaper when divided by roommates.....the location is fantastic...just a few feet from the gorgeous beach. Wonderful service, views of the ocean. Perfectly set close to downtown Ventura. So awesome!!!! Also...they have the most amazing beds!!!!!I don't think I have ever slept that good!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

This is not a bad property but it is is not up to the level of other Crowne Plaza properties. The lobby/reception area is nice but the rooms are dated and could use a makeover. It's unfortunate that if the sliding glass door in the rooms is opened, the noise from US101 is overwhelming. The location is outstanding though and right on the beach. It is also very reasonably priced especially considering the location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Stayed here one night while venturing down the coast.
Great location on the beach next to the pier. Downtown is less than a 5 minute walk to a great selection of shops, restaurants and services.
Our room was very nice although the bathroom was small. Hotel common areas seemed tired although the lobby is contemporary, odd layout.
Main highway and railway run alongside so may be a deterent to a light sleeper.
We loved the view of the ocean, the surfers and the sound of the surf!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drydenite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We just finished having our Women's Retreat here. Best experience EVER! From the time of meeting with the hospitality personal, reserving the hotel, room assignments to banquet personal. Awesome friendly and very accomidating. Best location in Ventura right on the beach to awesome food to every person I came in contact with from Crowne Plaza very friendly and helpful. Rooms are nice clean and comfortable. Can't wait to go back. SKS

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SabrinaShahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed here for one night on the way to LA. Hadn't booked but stumbled onto it and were very happy with the service, room and location next to Ventura Pier. Rooms were large, clean and quiet. The only downside was it is a pet-friendly hotel and several of our neighbours had small dogs that yapped on and off through the night. We have dogs and love them, but not in our hotel. Otherwise we'd stay there again

Room Tip: Eat at the Pier restaurants, they are a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beenthere088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level Contributor
97 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Sep 2011, and were dissappointed. We had a normal room on the 4th floor. If you want a bit higher in the building, you have to pay more. A few years ago, we were at this place as it was being renovated after being a Holiday Inn for many years. This was our first visit here since the top to bottom renovation. We were quite dissapointed. A lot of work and money was put into the lobby and ground floor restaurant, bar, etc. but little was done to improve the old tired rooms upstairs. It is overpriced and EVERYTHING they provide costs extra it seems.
EXAMPLES>>>> 1. There are ice machines on every other floor instead of all floors even though there TWO drink machines selling drinks. One of these could have been an ice machine. 2. Bathrooms are quite small. There is no counter top, just a tiny glass shelf to store any personal items. 3. There are not enough towels or towel racks. 4. There was MOLD on the tiles in the shower!!!!!! 5. It took 2 hours and two phone calls to get additional bath towels and hand towels. 6. Some of the wall tiles were falling off in the bathroom. 7. No fan or vent in bathroom causing lots of steam. (Probably the cause of the mold!!!) 8. Chair in the room was quite worn as was the carpet. These both need to be replaced. 9. Parking costs $10 per day. This was NOT disclosed when checking in. 10. Wifi costs $10 per day. This WAS disclosed at check in but we were told Wifi was FREE in the hotel business center. THIS was NOT true. In the Business center, you can use the hotel computers. You CANNOT connect YOUR computer in the Business center unless you pay $10 PER DAY!!!!!! 11. The closet is very tiny. 12. A primitive 27inch tube type TV was in the room in a 1980s style armoire. VERY dated. 13. No fridge in room. 14. Although the hotel is about 100 feet from the ocean, you cannot hear it because of the noise from the freeway, just 50 ft away, and the passing Amtrac trains right next to the noisy freeway. 15. The beds sagged in the center. Not good for people with back problems.

We like the Ventura beach area but will try to find a better hotel if we want to spend a few days there. I would NOT recommend the Crowne Plaza to friends.

Room Tip: Get a room above the 4th floor to avoid looking at the air conditioners and parking structure. Upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChinoSJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventura
1.2 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#4 of 21 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
7.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach - Hotel & Resort
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 21 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 stars 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach

Address: 450 E Harbor Blvd, at The Promenade, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ventura
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach between Santa Barbara and Malibu. Near downtown Ventura Beach wine tasting, boutiques, outdoor cafes, and nightlife, Seaside Park, Ventura County Fairgrounds. Outdoor dining with firepits at Aqua Beachfront Bar and C-Street Restaurant. Walk along the Promenade Boardwalk to Amtrak and the historic Ventura Pier. 19,000 square feet of function space including the 6660 sf "Top of the Harbor" Ballroom with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Santa Barbara Channel and the Channel Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel Ventura
Ventura Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing