We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capriccio

Capriccio
298 E Main St, Ventura, CA 93001-2623
805-643-7115
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 392 Restaurants in Ventura
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Christchurch
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stopped in Ventura for lunch towards the end of our trip down the One, very glad we stumbled upon Capriccio, food was excellent, service was extremely efficient and friendly despite the good sized crowd, plenty of choice on the menu for both myself as a carnivore and my wife the vegetarian

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    13
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This place is awesome. Loved the pasta selections and the service was very good. The Salmon Capellini special was delicious. Just what we needed on a rainy night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Loved our Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We are locals but rarely venture to the downtown area. We stopped in on a whim having eaten at Capriccio's many, many years ago. It was okay then. This time we are pleasantly surprised. The decor has also been nice, but they must have gotten a new chef since the food was really very good....my wife is NY Italian and always orders, Linguini with Clam Sauce. Most often where ever she goes she is dissappointed. But Capriccio's made it just the way she likes it. I always order Ciappino and usually most restaurants do an acceptable job with it. But Capriccio's was great...lot's of salmon, scallops, clams, etc...hearty...and spicey which is the way I like it. The only improvement they could have made to the meal was to serve Italian bread...you know...the kind with the hard crust. Wonder bread doesn't cut it. Then it would have truely been an Italian experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Top Contributor
538 reviews 538 reviews
438 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“OK Italian Food, good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stopped in for a snack. Nice location right on a corner of Main Street in Ventura. Service was pretty good. They have standard Italian pastas, some seconds, and salads. Full bar. The caprese salad was good, but small. Rosemary bread served with balsamic and low grade olive oil. You can sit outside, but they cannot serve you alcohol there because of some unreasonable law. Lots of traffic out there. Could try it again for a larger meal.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best Raviolli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I haven't been in awhile, but I never forget it's there. Great food, the raviolli with lemon sauce is my favorite! The setting is perfect for a downtown stroll afterwards. They are also very welcoming and accepting of anyone who walks through their door.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capriccio also viewed

 

Been to Capriccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capriccio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.