We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice change from burger places but only okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Cafe

Urban Cafe
4960 Telephone Rd, Ventura, CA 93003
(805) 654-1619
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #96 of 379 restaurants in Ventura
Restaurant details
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice change from burger places but only okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was glad to find this place on a recent trip to Ventura, wanted something light and something vegetarian for my daughter. I was disappointed in how unseasoned my salad was -- like the restaurant is so anxious to be considered "healthy" that they threw away the salt shakers. My daughter enjoyed her grilled cheese sandwich, however, so I'd be willing to give it another try. It is certainly a nice alternative to burger and burrito places when looking for fast food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    9
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great, Fast and Casual!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a regular lunch stop for me. The sandwiches are great. California, Pesto, Rosemary.... all of them. And they come with a tasty salad. All on a metal plate. And, reasonably priced. The seating inside is limited, but we are in Southern California and there is plenty outside.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best sandwiches or salads in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

A great place to grab a bite with healthy choices of salads or sandwiches. The service is quick and efficient with plenty of outdoor seating! Free drink refills!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

A tasty and reliable lunch choice in Ventura for years. Often a line, but worth the wait. I tend to get the salads but the sandwiches are good as is the soup.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best Healthy Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Great healthy food, nice friendly people, good setting. I always feel good about what I'm eating when I go there. The chicken sandwhich with chipotle sauce is my fave, my girlfriend loves the salads! She would eat there everyday if she could.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Urban Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.