We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Zack

Cafe Zack
1095 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-3066
805-643-9445
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 387 Restaurants in Ventura
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Ventura, California
2 reviews
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The food was EXCELLENT!!! Probably the best in Ventura...
I had the Lobster with Sweet Corn as an appetizer which was very good, different tasty than you expect but very good! Then I had the Filet Mignon with porcini mushroom sauce and was excellent, my husband had the scallops (special of the day) and they were fabulous!!! But the best of all was the Wild Boar Shank you HAVE to try it!!!!

Great service we would definetly be back SOON!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    16
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
La Quinta, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, away from the hustle and bustle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I really liked the atmosphere and everyone ordered something different and we all agreed the food was perfect. Not overdone, simple good food, great prices. A few blocks from old part of town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A cozy little secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Driving up to this place you would never expect the wonderfulness that is inside. We used trip advisor on our honeymoon road trip through California. Ventura was our first stop. This little cafe has some of the best food. It is very small and unassuming it just looks like a regular house from the street. The staff is so friendly and hard working since there is only 2 servers/ greeters and a bus boy. If you are in Ventura for any length of time this is a MUST you will not regret it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Shhhh! Dont tell a Soul!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just kidding of course. Something this good does not stay secret for long. One of the best fine experiences in Ventura. Excellent selection of menu choices. I have had the Seabass, Duck breast and Filet Mignon and all have been excellent. The wait staff are very attentive and the owner helps to make the experience feel as though you are a special guest in his home. Buen Provecho!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Intimate atmosphere and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This restaurant is small and cozy with an elegant yet casual feel. Because it is small, you do not feel like you are one in a crowd. It is close to downtown Ventura.

The menu had a nice variety so everyone should find something to their liking. The food was very good and the wine list had several good selections at reasonable prices (both by the bottle and by the glass). The staff are friendly, effcient and attentive without being annoying. If you decide to order dessert, I highly recommend the Zack's Pie!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Zack also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Zack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Zack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.