We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ventura Breakfast.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pete's Breakfast House Restaurant

Pete's Breakfast House Restaurant
2055 E Main St, Ventura, CA 93001-3505
805-648-1130
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 337 Restaurants in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Ventura Breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Had the special for the day, waffle with fresh berries, nuts and whipped cream. Enjoyed every single morsel. My daughter said it is the best breakfast she has ever had! The coffee was good also.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    42
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hilo
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Accidentally stumbled onto this place while looking for a place for breakfast. Walked in and felt at home. Very attentive staff. Busy little place. Nice menu. Food was tasty and hearty. I had the turkey sausage, scrambled eggs, potatoes and toast. Fast service. I will stop again when in town.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda Heights, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Local Breakfast House”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Depending on the time you arrive you could be in for a long wait. Once seated the service was fast and friendly and I really wanted to love the food but I didn't. There was a lot of it but other than the homemade jam it just didn't make my taste buds happy.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is one of the best breakfast places in Ventura but you should expect a long wait. Allison's is another place to consider.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great breakfast where everyone knows your name”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Pete's is our family's go-to breakfast spot. The food is freshly prepared, simple and delicious. The fruit, for example, is fresh cut strawberries, banana, melon, orange and grapes, not something out of a bag with preservatives or even prepped the day before. The salsa is made onsite with cilantro and green onions.

Menu highlights include: classic waffles with fresh fruit; hot drop biscuits with house-made strawberry jam; vegetable frittata topped with jack and sour cream; eggs ranchero; and Greek omelette. Yes, they have the biscuits with country sausage gravy, too.

There are specials each morning and off-menu English muffin-egg dishes named for nearby streets. Our favorite of the latter is Eggs Pacific-- two English muffin halves topped with turkey sausage patties, poached eggs, avocado, jack cheese, sour cream and green onions. We like to substitute "half & half" potatoes and fresh fruit for the side at a slight extra charge. Kids love the hot cocoa topped with a mountain of squirt whipped cream.

Note: none of the dishes featured in Diners, Drive-ins & Dives featured the egg dishes because Guy F doesn't like eggs!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pete's Breakfast House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pete's Breakfast House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pete's Breakfast House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.