We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pete's Breakfast House Restaurant

Pete's Breakfast House Restaurant
2055 E Main St, Ventura, CA 93001-3505
805-648-1130
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 345 Restaurants in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
252 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I recently moved to Ventura and found this place, it is unbelievably delicious and the vibe here is wonderful. I love Pete's Chili, have to have it every time I visit, which is every weekend. Pete is always there and such a personable man, he is somewhat of a superstar in that when he travels people all over the world know him! Its that good. His Omelets are to-die-for and the freshly made Biscuits are so good, I never liked them until I found this place. Even the Strawberry jam is delicious because its made fresh in their kitchen. Its always crowded here, except early in the weekday mornings and even then its filled with people. We usually go between 12:30 and 1:30, they close at 2 pm promptly, then the wait is never more than a few minutes and once we got seated immediately! ;) The food is so good here that nobody minds waiting, and there is plenty of places to sit and fresh coffee to drink while you wait. Don't miss this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amelia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ventura
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Food is fine and the prices are fair. However, the wait time is ridiculous ever since they appeared on the Food Network.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank RalphVentura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Ladies breakfast out with 1 man!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We all loved our food, no complaints, 2 ladies had a waffle plate and I had an omelet, hubby had corn beef hash which he loved. Big servings and couldn't finish eating eating it. Excellent service and it was reflected in our tip.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dolores S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Straight up American breakfast joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Everything about this place is perfect diner breakfast. It's the kind of restaurant that crappy places like Denny's and Carrow's try to capture and fail. Pete's printed menu is good natured and humorous, the staff is comfortable handling 10+ tables per server (and killing it), they provide crayons and toys for the kiddies (which have been supposedly disinfected per use! - really?) Affordable, tasty, busy, friendly, and you should plan to wait if you show up at 9:30 on a Sunday morning!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Todd-e-bones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Fresh biscuits and gravy were outstanding.4 pieces of bacon came with the biscuits and gravy along with home fried potatoes. A bargain.

Visited January 2013

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pete's Breakfast House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pete's Breakfast House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing