We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FOOD!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Nouveau

Cafe Nouveau
1497 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-3242
805-648-1422
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 337 Restaurants in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Californian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

During one of my weekend's escapes we went back to Ventura we had breakfast and dinner at the same place just to be fair with the reviews but let me tell you that we don't mind waking up really early for a great breakfast which we had, they will start you with a great cup of coffee and our choices were great including the amazing biscuits and or muffins that comes with your meal and of course because we were there when they opened we had great service and since this was a very large breakfast we skipped lunch and came back for an early dinner at 5:00p.m. and
had a great chile relleno dish and a tamale dish that comes with huge shrimps (both dishes were sooo good); drinks were great and when back in Ventura will visit again but don't forget to be there before the crowds to really enjoy great food and great service. If the weather is great which it's most of the time ask to be seated at the beautiful patio with a large fountain and blooming flowers everywhere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    44
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnet, Texas
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Charming Setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Charming setting in old house. Seemed to be a popular place for breakfast. Food was only fair in my opinion. Would not go back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inyokern,CA
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We did a day trip to VEntura to check out the surf fishing. Can't fish on an empty stomach ya know.

Trip Adviser showed 4 or 5 restaurants on Thompson Street. So we went there and saw Cafe Nouveau. Very crowded with folks standing in the street. We thought we hit the jack pot. We were told it would be a 15 to 20 min wait to be seated. We were seated in 25 mins. It took about 5 mins to order a beverage and 15 mins before it was delivered. We ordered a sandwich and saw them almost 20 mins later. Mine was delivered without the fries. Another 8 mins for the fries (which were outstanding). All together we were there for almost 1 1/2 hours to get a quick lunch. The food was just so so except for the fries. Service was above average and the place was really nice inside. Very clean. I'm sorry that we will take this one off our list but it just wasn't anything special. It just took way to long to be served.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, hard to not fill up on the bread and appetizers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I had a very delicious meal at Cafe Nouveau. The bread was excellent! Focaccia with an interesting tomato spread and carrot cake. We also ordered the mango quesadillas which I highly recommend.

The only problem was that the appetizers and bread were so delicious, I had little room for my meal!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best value in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The Cafe has re-opened after a fire closed it for many months and it is as good as always. This is by far the best value for fine food and wine in Ventura County. My Wife and I have been there numerous times, often with several friends and no one has ever been the slightest bit disappointed. The Food selection ranges from a few Mexican dishes to fresh fish and shellfish to pork to Fillet Mignon. Every dish has been outstanding and when we ate there again last night with friends from Houston and Glasgow Scotland we were all delighted with our six different selections. Mine was the daily special of rack of lamb which was outstanding. The real highlight is when you get the bill because their prices are at least 10 to 20% less than any comparable restaurant prices around, and that includes their wine prices. Their markup is right around retail x 2, whereas most good restaurants are now in the 3 or 3+ times retail.

They are located in an old house less than a mile from downtown Ventura and on a warm evening they do have an outside patio. Although I have only been there for dinner, I have heard that their breakfasts are also excellent. If you're in Ventura, I highly recommend that you make this a dining stop.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Nouveau also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Nouveau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Nouveau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.