We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Breakfast!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Nouveau

Cafe Nouveau
1497 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-3242
805-648-1422
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 391 Restaurants in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Californian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very Good Breakfast!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was the first time we visited this eatery per a friend recommendation. We came here for Breakfast on a Sunday morning and noticed that there where lots of people waiting. After asking how long the wait would be and adding ourselves to the waiting list, we helped ourselves to the complimentary coffee in the front porch waiting area which allowed the time to pass rather quickly. The food and service was Very Good. The staff was vey attentive and frequented our table for any needs.
NOTE: you will need to be patient on the weekend to get a table but we found the wait to be worth it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    44
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A gem of a restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I took a friend there, both of us first-timers, to this lovely little restaurant for her birthday. What a lovely experience! The weather was classic Calif., so we ate out on the palm and flower Spanish style patio. Our server was so nice and anticipated all our needs. I ordered a grilled veggie sandwich and my friend has the BBQ chicken salad, which came with an excellent muffin. Delicious!

The interior of the restaurant was formerly a 1920s Spanish adobe style house that the owners remodeled as a restaurant while keeping all the homey feel of the house. The decor and the lay out of the tables is wonderful and creates a wonderful energy in the room. The patio is beautiful and again in keeping with the original design of the house.

They serve breakfast (all day!) and lunch until 2PM every day, and dinner from 5PM Wed-Sat.

Wonderful experience! Will be back again soon!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Get your Eggs Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband and I aren't in California enough, but everytime we are, we make sure we stop at this place for breakfast, at least once. It is consistently good and the atmosphere is artistic and happy. If you are staying in Ventura to visit the city and SB, it's the best choice and value for breakfast to start your day of sightseeing. Can't recommend it enough.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yay - they're back! An institution resurrected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just a great place. Funky artsy vibe, passionate staff, fun menu, and great tasty vittles. Recommend for sure!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“It's Back and As Good As Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Bang for the buck, this may well be the best restaurant in Ventura.

The food is consistently excellent. We shared a brie and mango quesedilla which was worth the whole experience right there. I had the lamb chops and my wife had a steak. Both perfectly cooked, covered with a delicious sauce all sitting on a bed of perfect risotto and served on a hot plate. My son had an ahi tuna plate that was spot on. For three of us, the food cost was $90. A deal in this town. One entree on the menu was only $15.

The wine list is somewhat small, but well rounded and very reasonably priced. My only "complaint" is the red wine is way too warm.

There is nothing fancy about this place. The restaurant was shut down for months after a fire. The inside is freshly done but they kept the formica kitchen tables and the outsized posters on the walls. The patio is the place to be on a warm afternoon or evening.

This place just keeps getting better. Go there. Now. Tonight.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Nouveau also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Nouveau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Nouveau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.