We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Nouveau

Cafe Nouveau
1497 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-3242
805-648-1422
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 382 Restaurants in Ventura
Cuisines: Italian, Californian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A gem of a restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I took a friend there, both of us first-timers, to this lovely little restaurant for her birthday. What a lovely experience! The weather was classic Calif., so we ate out on the palm and flower Spanish style patio. Our server was so nice and anticipated all our needs. I ordered a grilled veggie sandwich and my friend has the BBQ chicken salad, which came with an excellent muffin. Delicious!

The interior of the restaurant was formerly a 1920s Spanish adobe style house that the owners remodeled as a restaurant while keeping all the homey feel of the house. The decor and the lay out of the tables is wonderful and creates a wonderful energy in the room. The patio is beautiful and again in keeping with the original design of the house.

They serve breakfast (all day!) and lunch until 2PM every day, and dinner from 5PM Wed-Sat.

Wonderful experience! Will be back again soon!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    58
    33
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Get your Eggs Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband and I aren't in California enough, but everytime we are, we make sure we stop at this place for breakfast, at least once. It is consistently good and the atmosphere is artistic and happy. If you are staying in Ventura to visit the city and SB, it's the best choice and value for breakfast to start your day of sightseeing. Can't recommend it enough.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Yay - they're back! An institution resurrected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just a great place. Funky artsy vibe, passionate staff, fun menu, and great tasty vittles. Recommend for sure!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“It's Back and As Good As Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Bang for the buck, this may well be the best restaurant in Ventura.

The food is consistently excellent. We shared a brie and mango quesedilla which was worth the whole experience right there. I had the lamb chops and my wife had a steak. Both perfectly cooked, covered with a delicious sauce all sitting on a bed of perfect risotto and served on a hot plate. My son had an ahi tuna plate that was spot on. For three of us, the food cost was $90. A deal in this town. One entree on the menu was only $15.

The wine list is somewhat small, but well rounded and very reasonably priced. My only "complaint" is the red wine is way too warm.

There is nothing fancy about this place. The restaurant was shut down for months after a fire. The inside is freshly done but they kept the formica kitchen tables and the outsized posters on the walls. The patio is the place to be on a warm afternoon or evening.

This place just keeps getting better. Go there. Now. Tonight.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of Our Favorites Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

After an 8 month closure due to a fire, Cafe Nouvea is open again, and it's better than ever. Try the Pork Tenderloin at dinner or the 3 x 3 (or just about anything else) for breakfast. Friendly staff, great service, fantastic food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Nouveau also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Nouveau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Nouveau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.