We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Exploring both Ventura Main Street and Beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   708 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Ventura
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
421 reviews 421 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
“Great Location for Exploring both Ventura Main Street and Beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights over a weekend whilst on a business trip to Los Angeles and very glad I did as Ventura has a lot to offer in the way of dining, the cinema, the Majestic Theatre, bars, the Mission San Buenaventura and the beach.

My room was clean and comfortable and I was able to park my car right outside my ground floor room (Room #131). The room has a fridge, AirCon, microwave, LCDTV, digital clock, desk and chair, and nice lighting. It was clean and decorated with a couple of nice photographs of the beach and pier. The was WiFi internet access in the room which worked very well, was reasonably fast and it did not drop out once during my two day stay.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast provided was nice. The only thing is on Saturday morning at 8:30am the breakfast area was so busy there were no spare seats / tables to eat.

I would stay here again if I ever wanted another short break in Ventura, California.

Room Tip: Room #131 was towards the back of the hotel and therefore probably quiet as it was away from the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Hello Roberts69-
Let me start off by thanking you for your review. We appreciate all feedback we receive and we really do enjoy hearing about our guests stays. We sure do hope that the next time your travels bring you to California you might remember us and allow us to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    201
    87
    34
    18
See reviews for
136
198
32
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stopped over on our way to San Diego. We were pleasantly welcomed by the front desk. Very friendly. Our rooms were very clean and spacious. It was very quiet at night. In the morning we had a yummy complementary breakfast. Eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles. And of course for the healthier cereal, yogurt, fruit. Overall I can't say one negative word just positive. Hope this helps someone and happy stay . Oh and the prices are very reasonable.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Hey Kary B!
Thank you for your awesome review. Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we really appreciate your feedback. We hope to welcome you again next time you are in Ventura!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a great hotel that is within one block of the beach. Very nice accommodations. The only downside was that the room was a bit small. But overall we really enjoyed it. Yay for HBO! Good location within two blocks of Main Street in Ventura, so good access to shops, bars, and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Brendan H!
Yay!! Were so glad to hear you had a good stay and we appreciate you taking the time to leave us review! We hope that if your future travels bring you our way you wont hesitate to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed here during a business trip to the Ventura area. Hotel was close to downtown and was pretty much a motor inn. The reviews and price helped me make this hotel choice and it was an average place. The outside was somewhat dated as well as the lobby and breakfast area. The check-in was very slow as they only had one person and seems like a lot of people before me had reservation problems. Once I did get checked in, the hotel room was surprisingly very nice. The room was recently remodeled with very nice furniture, modern bathroom and work area. Noise seemed to be less than I would have expected so sleep was no problem. The breakfast was a hot breakfast and was very good. Checking out was a lot faster than checking in. I would consider staying here again if I return to the area but would also look at other options.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dan93117-
We certainly appreciate your feedback and we thank you for your time. We hope that you will allow us to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamul, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I liked the location, and the staff was nice. I liked the breakfast convenience on site. No hot water for my shower in the morning so had to take a cold shower, luckily it was summertime so I could bare it. Need instructions for the use of the air conditioner. When I found out how to use it the toggle switch took great force to get it turned on.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Greetings Lorna O -
I'm very sorry if you had any issues while staying with us. We appreciate you and your business and hope to welcome you again one day. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Hotel is close to beach and centrally located in Ventura. Good freeway access - Rooms are clean and internet is good. Check in/Check out staff was rude and needs some coaching on customer service. Free breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
820ruthw-
I am very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. We appreciate your feedback and I thank you again for taking the time to let us know about our stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Rooms are great and comfortable over all. TV is noise but makes loud on/off sound. AC works great and bathroom is clean. However the outer appearance of the property is not indicative of what we found inside our room. Pool is small but good. Staff was nice and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Hello Javier S-
Thank you for your kind review. We will be doing some updating to the property in the next year. Maybe we will be fortunate to welcome you back in the future and you can see what's new!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura

Address: 708 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to pier and beaches. 100 % smoking-free. Heated pool, friendly staff, and deluxe continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura Hotel Ventura
Best Western Hotel Ventura
Best Western Ventura
Ventura Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.