We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   708 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #2 of 20 hotels in Ventura
Queensland, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband & I stayed for 2 nights in September 2012 while visiting the Channel Islands. Room was large, updated and very clean. We were in a room at the back of the complex but were not bothered by train or highway noise. Location was close to beach and shops (but I wouldn't walk around here at night!) Breakfast offerings were plentiful and regularly refreshed.
Great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
The train doesn’t bother most of our guests. So it’s comforting I’m sure for those who haven’t stayed with us to read a review like yours. From the whole team here at Best Western Plus inn of Ventura we thank you for your words and the time you took to send us a review. Hope to see ya next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    173
    71
    30
    18
See reviews for
114
168
26
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puget Sound, Washington
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

From the outside, this older motor inn looks a bit shabby and uninviting. But the rooms have been renovated and are quite nice. Part of the problem is that only two of the three wings are complete, so there are work crews and work trucks creating some noise and disturbance as work on the third wing is underway. Our room was updated, though there were a few problems...a/c unit didn't work well (it was cool/rainy so this was not a problem), but when my partner removed the filter to see if he could make it run more efficiently, we found that it was filthy and probably hadn't been changed for a very long time. WiFi did work very well.

We enjoyed the location, with its proximity to the beach, pier and downtown. Breakfast was superior, with just about anything you'd like, including sausage and scrambled eggs. The afternoon-into-evening desk clerk was a bit of a martinet; it seemed as though she thought she was doing us a favor by letting us stay there, and I witnessed this same treatment directed at other guests as well.

Room Tip: There are train tracks behind the hotel, and the king-bedded rooms are only a few feet away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and I can not tell you how much I appreciate not only your review but the time you took to leave us your feedback. Let me apologize about the AC. I will have our maintenance department check all units as soon as possible. The Amtrak and 101 freeway is a part of our life here as well as the residence and surrounding businesses and hotels. We have learned that every guest is different. where some guests request those rooms frequently because of the view and find that the train does not hinder them at all others request different areas for different reasons. We offer ear plugs at the front desk, as well as do our very best to fulfill requests such as being away from the back of the building. Let me thank you again for your time and review. From the whole staff at Best Western Inn of Ventura we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The bathroom and entire rental was super clean. Towels, fixtures and caulking super white. A pleasure to stay at. The bed is firm but not hard. The size of the room is large with a separate area for the ladies to use a mirror outside of the bathroom. The room has a separate table and chair or writing, etc and an adequate TV with lots of stations.

Room Tip: Recommend downstairs and in middle of motel - front has road traffic; back has train traffic but roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
05360, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
I’m so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to passing on your review with the rest of the staff and the housekeeping department. From the whole team id like to say thank you for taking the time to leave us your kind words and feedback. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

When trying for an early check in at 1pm we were told that check in was officially at 4pm but they were telling people 3pm would be good. When back at 3pm were told it would be 4pm, at 4pm the room wasn't ready and we did get in at 4:45pm. The desk staff weren't very apologetic, felt like we were an inconvenience. Once in the room was very clean, great housekeeping staff. At breakfast the next day, there were no coffee cups, no coffee and a very brusque breakfast room host. At check out the desk person was so engrossed in listening to a staff conversation in the back room they barely made eye contact with me. When I mentioned that the fan wasn't working I would be surprised if they even heard me. The upside of this place is the location, close to the pier and beach in old Ventura which has some beautiful architecture. The manager did contact me via e-mail and assured me that he was meeting with staff regarding service levels.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor unit as you can park right outside the room making luggage transfer easy. Confir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_of_Ventura, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
I thank you for your review, and I have spoken to thee entire staff. Your time in leaving us a review is appreciated and we are grateful for your business. Every comment, review, and all feedback help us to know what areas we need improvement and what areas we are doing well. From the entire staff, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prunedale, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel was clean, the beds were comfortable, nice and spacious layout, separate closet/makeup area. The bathroom fan was not to loud like other hotels. Bathroom was clean. Location is close to the beach and shopping. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
05360, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
I want to thank you for your kind review. By leaving us a review it not only helps future guests make a decision on if we'd be their best choice for affordable and comfortable accommodations during their stay to Ventura. But also ensures our team, that we can continue to do the thing that make our guests feel at home and is why so many of them continue to rely on us as their home away from home when in our area.. From all of us, thank you again for your review, time and loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Room was large and comfortable, well-maintained with good tv, refrig, and microwave. Had a desk area separated by 1/2 wall from beds which made a nice area to work without bothering others in room. Ample breakfast options and pleasant, bright eating area with outdoor patio. We weren't bothered by trains and appreciated easy access to Hwy 101. This inn is located in an older area of Ventura; not a particularly inviting neighborhood, but for spending the night, it was fine.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the back due to train and highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
05360, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
I am truly pleased you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate the time you took to leave us a review. Our guests feedback is important to us as well as a key role in insuring were doing the right things so that all our guests enjoy their stay. We thank you again and look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Ventura!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Reservation at last minute due to fog was handled graciously and efficiently. Reception welcoming and check-in a breeze. Upgraded due to availability. Quiet and restful night in a comfortable bed and clean room, and a full breakfast next morning. Easy access to/from 101 and walking distance to historic village. I highly recommend the Best Western in Ventura.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
05360, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Your feedback really does mean so much to us. We value your opinion and it really does let us know what we are doing right and what we can improve on. I’m so glad you had a good stay and hope if you are ever in the Ventura area again, you will allow us to accommodate you. Happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura

Address: 708 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to pier and beaches. 100 % smoking-free. Heated pool, friendly staff, and deluxe continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura Hotel Ventura
Best Western Hotel Ventura
Best Western Ventura
Ventura Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.