We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   708 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Ventura
2 reviews
“Great service and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I decided to stay here for our anniversary, but we were on a tight budget, so we chose the most basic room. Upon check-in, the front desk woman, Alice, offered up some local spots to check out for a good date night. After a quick and easy check in, we went to our simple room, which was very impressive for the price.

After a moment of setting our bags down, Alice came by to offer us the hotel's suite! It was four o'clock, and the room hadn't been reserved, so she upgraded us for no charge. It had a luxurious king sized bed, jacuzzi tub, and double sink bathroom. Such a wonderful anniversary surprise!

The hotel is in a great location; all we had to do was walk through a small park and we were in the heart of main st.

Finally, the next morning, the provided breakfast was delicious. A great variety was provided. Check out was quick and easy, also.

Very great service for the price. The outside of the hotel didn't look extraordinary, but the interiors are modern and well-kept. I recommend it, hands down!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
05360, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for such a kind review. I’m so glad Alice was able to offer you the suite and make your anniversary that much more special. Thank you for noticing that we do keep our property, which is older up to date. We hope that you stay with us again, and look forward to welcoming you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    232
    102
    37
    21
See reviews for
152
228
36
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed two nights in Ventura nice rooms comfy beds awesome showers. Breakfast a bit skimpy but overall okay. Close to the beach and downtown. Lots of pillows and nice sheets. Good experience with no adverse problems. Pool was heated and the did have a spa. Kind of an older hotel but in good shape.

Room Tip: Bottom rooms you can park in front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
05360, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We appreciate your review, and are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were travelling down Southern California on our way back to LAX and return to London. we were looking for somewhere near to the airport to prevent rushing the next day and happened upon this Hotel, we chose it because of the Best Western band hopin it would be ok.

Check in was a breeze without problems and our room was one of the best we had encountered on our trip, it was huge with slim line TV, microwave, fridge and great convenient clever sockets by each light a nice touch. the room was very clean and the beds comfortable, air conditioning worked well.

The surprise was the breakfast bar. a great selection of hot and cold food together with many different breads and bagels. Carlos Cruz-Ampudia is the manager and he has developed a great product here a reasonable cost. I wrote to him congratulating him on his Hotel, he resonded immediatley and was pleased to receive my comments.

Parking is free for guests and check out was simple and quick, would I recommend it, of course will pop in next time we come to Southern California - thank you Carlos keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Try for one on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
05360, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are sincerly grateful for your time, and are so pleased you found us! On behalf of the whole staff here at Best Western Plus Inn of Ventura we thank you for your feedback. Your review is valued because with it, it allows us to continue doing what makes our guests happy and work on the things that can be improved. We hope that we will see you again. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I always lock my valuables up when I stay in a hotel, but forgot to put my rings back on and left them on the table. They were right where I left them when I came home. Very honest people here, Laura and Alicia! We have enjoyed the room and the train whistle doesn't bother us because it either stops during sleeping time, or we are just heavy sleepers. Breakfast is nice too. Can't beat the price. Ruben was most helpful too! Thank you Best Western!

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor if you are old geezers like us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
05360, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Very appreciative of the time you took to leave us a review. With your input it allows us to continue to provide our guests with an enjoyable stay and if we fail to miss something helps us to find a resolve and make things better for the future. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodfish, California, United States
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The room was beautiful, the bed very comfortable, and it was a small walk to the beach and pier. Then at 2am we were awakened by a train whistle and rumbling outside our back window. The tracks are RIGHT BEHIND the hotel. Scared us a little, now we laugh at it. Nice hotel for the low price. The breakfast in the lobby was really good - much more than the usual coffee and donuts. The check in lady was a litle grumpy; check out lady was very friendly!!

Room Tip: Room 222 is upstairs with great view of the ocean and coast, but the train is back there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
05360, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We appreciate your review. My apologies regarding the train waking you. We do try to inform our guests of the train and provide ear plugs for light sleepers. We hope that in the future you will allow us to welcome you again and well put you in a room near the front away from tracks at your request
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I was travelling through and booked my stay here via Priceline. The room was clean and it was a great having a pool and hot tub especially after riding a bike all day. The service was fantastic. They were very friendly and extremely accomodating. The staff recommended several places within walking distance to have dinner. The included breakfast was a little better than most in its class.

The only downside is that the train tracks run right behind the hotel. I wasn't pleased about being woken up at 2:27AM by a locamotive's horn and the sunsequent shaking and roar that accompanied it. I'm not saying that I wouldn't stay there, but as a full paying guest, it's something I would like to have brought to my attention before deciding whether or not to book there. Be careful too as most hotels/motels appear to be in close proximity of the tracks as well.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
05360, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and extending some feedback on your recent stay. The railroad is part of our life in this area just like many businesses and residences near by. This is why we try our best to inform guests of the train and offer ear plugs if needed. Rooms at the front of the hotel are quieter. Everyone is different and the train does not bother some guest's. I am truly sorry that you were not informed about the train and will speak to my staff to remind them bring this to everyone of our guest's attention. We appreciate your time, review and business and hope that we may accommodate you again in the future. Next time you make a reservation with us, request a room away from train track and well put you somewhere as quiet as we can!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fillmore, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just wanting to get away nearby to spend quality time with my husband. From the receptionist to the room and morning continental breakfast everything was exceptional. The room was comfortable and just what we needed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
05360, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
We are delighted that we could contribute to your anniversary. By making your stay a good one! We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura

Address: 708 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to pier and beaches. 100 % smoking-free. Heated pool, friendly staff, and deluxe continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura Hotel Ventura
Best Western Hotel Ventura
Best Western Ventura
Ventura Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.