We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a resort!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1050 Schooner Drive, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
West Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“It's a resort!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I stayed here for one night on points during my bike ride from SF to LA and was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The property is very nice with a large enclosed hot-tub in a courtyard and a nice pool. I was there in the middle of the week and the property wasn't very busy, so I had a very relaxing stay and enjoyed both the hot-tub and the pool. The location is a little weird, but convenient in the sense that you can walk to the shops and restaurants at the marina and to the beach, which I did as well and had a great time there. I've looked at staying here again later, but the property was sold out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear ValGor, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments online.
We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

James B
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    104
    60
    26
    27
See reviews for
75
79
16
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I do not recommend this hotel. Not good value, very low quality & expensive.

Aside from the noise issue we experienced, overall this is a very low quality hotel with regard to service, amenities & value for money.


And the details.

The front desk staff were quite unprofessional in their interactions, even at check-in. No comprehension of hospitality.

There is no WIFI in the room. There is a LAN cable for you to plug into but you need to have an account with a service provider in order to get internet access. So, no internet access.

In an area with acres of open space the hotel charges $10 per day to park in an outdoor car-park.

Bar service in the downstairs bar took between 15 and 20 minutes.

The location is poor. It's a 15 - 20 minutes walk to the Ventura Marina. There is nothing in the immediate vicinity except empty car parks!

There was no soap in our bathroom. The dispenser was empty.

There was 1 bottle of drinking water provided in a double queen room (sleeps 4)

The rooms balcony spartan furnishings consist of 2 plastic chairs and a small glass table. The chairs do not allow for viewing above the balcony wall. The floor had scatterings of cigarette ash presumably from the room above.

The main issue was the noise in our room, a second floor room with a floor above us. The poor construction of the building meant that we could hear everything and it was intrusively loud. This was not subtle background noise. The guests above us simply moving around the room was intrusive.
We raised the issue with the manager who later told us that there had been a child jumping off the bed onto the floor which she requested they stop. However all normal use from the room above was intrusive when anyone was in the room.

On our second morning we were woken before 8am by the housekeeping staff upstairs; the vacuum, moving furniture, walking around, loud conversations. It was impossible to ignore.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here ask for a room on the top floor. And bring ear plugs, drinking water a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Anamshaz, thank you for taking the time to post you comments online.
My sincere apologies for letting you down.
We have taken corrective actions based on your comments and I hope you will consider giving us another chance in the future.

Sincerely,
James B
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife and 2 girls stayed here for a few days while visiting family whom live on a boat in the harbor. The location is perfect - steps away from our family, but the hotel could use some upgrades, it's due for renovations. It feels like its been maybe 5-6 years since a major overhaul was completed.

Room Tip: Harbor view is preferred
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Willy Hawk,
Thank you for your review of your family's stay at our property. We are happy you like our location and convenience. There is always renovation ongoing and we appreciate your comments. I hope when you visit us again you will be pleased with the results.
Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager, Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We are very familiar with the Ventura area, and usually stay with family, but imminent baby arrival and others moving forced choice of hotel. Choose this one purely on the basis of reputation. The location is only good if you are doing something at the harbor, otherwise you have to drive to anything. Anything. The check in went smooth, though good luck steering a luggage cart on the sidewalk with all the useless driveway dips (that go nowhere) and through the lobby with the irregular faux stone floor (just a matter of time before an elderly person falls here). Then if you can get the housekeepers out of the way in the narrow hallway, you can get to your room.
We usually stay on upper floors, but had to be content with a ground floor room. With a "patio". If you stand on your tiptoes on the patio you can see, in the distance past the parking lot, the tops of some boats in the harbor. The high wall prevents seeing anything while seated. Cannot speak for rooms on the upper floors, but "harbor view" is a real stretch. You'll notice they shot the picture from the harbor toward the hotel to disguise the fact that there is a large parking lot and a four land road in between the two. The Holiday Inn express next door has much better view of the harbor if that is what you care about.
What I care about is peace and quiet, a functional bath, and a comfortable bed. It was reasonably quiet, and the bath was fine. THE BED WAS THE OST UNCOMFORTABLE I HAVE EVER SLEPT IT. We even tried rotating the worn out mattress. No joy. The pillows were those fluffy things that look like pillows but compress down to nothing, so you have to try to use more than one but then the edges swell up around your head and try to suffocate you. When I told them about the bed upon check out they were totally not interested.
Oh, and $10 a night to park--at least you get in and out privileges.
All things considered, if you like mushy worn out beds and lousy views, then this is your place!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Barry W.,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our property. We apologize that your stay was not as anticipated. Our focus is on our guests comfort and service. I am sorry you feel we did not accommodate your needs while you were here.We will discuss your review with our staff.
Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager, Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had booked one night at the Best Western Plus which received great reviews. We did not like the location and staff were kind to release us from our reservation. While sitting in their parking lot we booked a night at Four Points through a third party reservation system. Ten minutes later we were talking to the Four Points manager who indicated that the third party had overbooked four rooms! However, she made several calls and gave us a room with two beds which we requested, despite our reservation being for one. She also gave us a free breakfast (delicious!) which was not included in the original reservation. Great customer service under pressure. This was a great location on the harbor and perfect for us since we were taking a Channel Island kayaking trip the next day.

Green Features: Hotel had separate containers for recycling and trash.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Stillhouse1,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our property. We are so pleased that we gave you comfort and service. We try to help in any way we can to allow our guests to have a pleasant stay. I appreciate your comments and will share them with staff. I hope you had a great adventure to Channel Islands.
Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager, Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We walked into the hotel (10 mins ago) and lobby was nice and clean, they were really busy so the staff that checked us in wasn't very friendly but not mean either. However, she gave us a room with SOMEONE ALREADY IN THERE! I walked into the room and someone was in the shower! I ran as fast as I could and don't know if the person realized someone was in their room. I am 6 months pregnant and still shaking as I write this. I keep thinking that could've been me and a stranger would've walked in on me.

I was beyond upset. I went downstairs and another girl (not the first staff who checked us in) was very apologetic. She gave us another room (vacant this time, I made my husband go in first). Rooms are very nice and spacious, great view, great bathroom. However, I'm now just scared to even go to sleep. We've deadbolt the room, and she gave us free parking, but not sure how someone can someone make up for this? If this didn't happen and the lady who initially checked us in was bit nicer, I probably would've given it a 5 star.

Room Tip: Knock a lot before opening the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Babygrll23, Thank you for posting your comments online. Sounds like overall you had an enjoyable visit with us. My sincere apologies for the miscommunication at the start....

We have taken necessary measures to ensure this doesn't happen again.

Thank you,
James B
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were very pleased with our stay at this location. We were given a great deal on the rooms with a romance package. The room was very spacious. The bathroom was very spacious. The service and food was very good as well. We had a good view of the harbor. This was a great location to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Joel H.,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at our property. I was happy to know you had a pleasant "Romantic Getaway" and liked our beautiful location. It always pleases our staff when we can contribute to summer fun and relaxation and I will share your comments with them. We hope you will visit us again.
Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager, Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor

Address: 1050 Schooner Drive, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel on the Ventura Harbor, the Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor is nestled on 17 acres of prime coastal land along California's Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Ventura Harbor Hotel Ventura
4 Points By Sheraton Ventura Harbor
Four Points Ventura Harbor
Ventura Four Points

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.