We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Ok place to place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1050 Schooner Drive, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Ventura
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An Ok place to place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Positives- pool, tennis court, volleyball court, basketball court, spa, jacuzzi.
Restaurant staff extremely friendly and accommodating. Food is very good.
Bri at reception desk was the Star of the desk, very helpful and pleasant.
Negatives- I was lead to believe a shuttle was available, don't believe it or count on it. There was never staff available to drive it. Thank goodness there is a trolley syst that does go to downtown and Amtrak.
I had pre-booked and paid with Amtrak, the reservation was cancelled. The hotel reactivated my original reservation which had higher rate, instead of 126 ended up paying 170 something

Wall paper bubbling in entry of rom 302 and peeling in shower

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know how your stay went, we really appreciate it. I will definitely be letting Bri know about your feedback, she will love to hear it. I am very sorry about our shuttle is an upon availability service and we have an under-staffing issue that we hope to soon resolve so it is more available to our guests. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused but it has been alleviated somewhat by the fact that we do have a trolley service running throughout the summer. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope we may see you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    124
    73
    31
    27
See reviews for
90
91
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tahlequah, OK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here two nights. It is a nice property.

As others say, parking is a $10/night joke.

Our room faced the inner courtyard and wasn't the nicest view. It was a hotel night. Nothing special or memorable for us this stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know how your stay went. I'm glad to see you had a good stay with us and I am sorry about the parking fee, we do charge $10 for security as well as being a beach/harbor area hotel. I do hope we were able to take good care of you while you were here and hope you may stay with us again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
179 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

When we checked in, Bri could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Our room was not ready, so she offered us another room type with an oversized patio if we didn't want to wait. She promised we would love the new room, and we did. When we left for dinner, she asked if everything was fine and if there was anything we'd like sent up to our room. Later, she helped us rent bikes, even offering suggestions for other routes that might be more enjoyable if we rented bikes elsewhere. Other staff members were friendly and helpful, too.

Rooms all seem to have balconies and many have harbor views. There is a parking area and street separating the hotel from the marina. The ocean and shopping are nearby. We found this to be a very pleasant base for our time in Ventura.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. I will definitely be letting Bri know about your lovely review, in fact I will print it out for her to read. Your positive reinforcement goes a long way with the staff and we really appreciate it. Thank you so much for letting us know how your stay went and we hope to see you again in future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a cat 2 SPG, 3 star hotel. That's comparable to Best Western, so it's important to have reasonable expectations.

I've stayed here twice. Both times, I found the hotel to be perfectly adequate if all one is looking for is a place to sleep. The staff are friendly, and the service is better than one would expect. They even called me in my room after check-in to make sure everything was ok. Room was clean as well.

I think some of the negative reviews here may be from people who come here with wrong expectations. Think of it as a step above a motel, and I think this hotel is a good choice and good value for the money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback, we really appreciate you letting us know how your stay went. One of the things we pride ourselves on is our outstanding staff and I am thrilled to hear we were able to take good care of you. Thank you for recommending us, we really appreciate you letting us know how your stay went and we hope to see you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Info and pictures led us to believe we would have a view of the harbor. Not So. We had a view of a parking lot. Also a patio surrounded with a 4 ft high concrete wall, if you were to sit out there, you saw a concrete wall. We refused to stay there, and went to the "Crown Plaza Hotel". Four Points and AAA refused to refund our money. I would never stay at "Four Points".

Room Tip: Don't stay here if a view matters to you.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

i recently stayed at the four points and let me tell you what this is the place to stay in Ventura!! the service was awesome and the rooms were so clean and well taken care of! i had the chance to meet our Room Atendant her name was auroa she was fantastic!! she was so welcoming and said goodmorning to us and made us feel like we were royalty!! thank you for the wonderful stay. also Anita at the bar makes a killer drink too!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback! I am so glad we are able to take good care of you, the positive reinforcement goes a long way with staff and they love to hear how they are doing. We look forward to seeing you again in future and again thank you so much for letting us know how your stay went.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

As loyal Starwood Preferred Guest members, we were rather disappointed at the standards this hotel is run by. It's not what we've come to expect from the brand over the years. If I were Sheraton/SPG, I'd audit this property.

Here's a quick recap of our stay:

Pros:

1. Good location: Proximity to the harbor is the single biggest reason one would want to stay here.

2. Clean: Effective housekeeping.

Cons:

1. "Harbor View Room" is actually more of a "Parking Lot View": Reception 'upgraded' us to a better room with a harbor view upon check-in. Don't let that impact your selection of a room, unless you'll settle for the view in the picture included with this review. There's a huge parking lot between the hotel and the harbor, so while 'harbor view' is not technically inaccurate, it does offer false perception.

2. Little Attention to Detail: When Reception 'upgraded' us to a better room (in their view, pun intended), we were given a room with two queen beds instead of what our original reservation was for (one king bed). Of course, we weren't notified of this and didn't know until we got to the room. We had to go back down and change our room.

3. Customer Service Staff: They were rather apathetic. We were a bit taken aback by the attitude. We'd politely ask a question (e.g. room service, late checkout time, nearby attractions, etc.) but get a rather disgruntled answer. And this was from multiple people in multiple places, too. (Reception, Room Service, etc.) We didn't feel welcome at all, and where we would have normally considered extending our stay given the purpose was to have a relaxing weekend, we didn't even entertain the thought in this case.

4. Awkward Room Furniture Placement: The only air conditioning unit in our room was blocked out by a couch! Please see pictures for evidence. In all our years of traveling, we have never seen anything like this. Just very poor planning, and of course, it's magnified during the summer.

5. Always Open Window in the Bathroom is Sadly Ideal for Eavesdropping: The window in the bathroom is rather old-school, like the hotel. That's not a bad thing by itself, except that in this case, you can VERY clearly hear someone talking in the walkway outside, and vice versa. See pictures for inner and outer views of the windows. Even shutting them all the way didn't resolve the issue.

Miscellaneous:

Dated Hotel Property: So they've upgraded furnishings and amenities in the room and such, but it's still quite a dated property. Not the biggest issue, but it's worth noting nonetheless.

Parking Lot Unsecured: There's a nightly charge for parking, which is not an issue. But despite the charge, anyone can get in and out of the parking lot as needed, at least until 1 a.m. Again, not the biggest issue, but worth noting.

Room Tip: Don't expect much of a view from a "Harbor View Room" (See pictures with this review)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we greatly appreciate you letting us know how your stay went as we constantly strive to better ourselves. Needless to say I was disappointed that your stay did not go better. I am very sorry you found our staff to be indifferent, this is as unacceptable to me as it is to you and I will definitely be looking in to who was on shift during your stay as we normally pride ourselves on our great customer service. The rooms as well are in the very beginning stages of being remodeled and we hope to have completed all of them before November of this year. If you consider staying with us again please let me know personally and I will make sure we get you in a great room.

-Rosemary Avila
CFDM ext. 1298
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventura
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
1.5 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#3 of 21 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 21 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 stars 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor

Address: 1050 Schooner Drive, Ventura, CA 93001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel on the Ventura Harbor, the Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor is nestled on 17 acres of prime coastal land along California's Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Ventura Harbor
Four Points By Sheraton Ventura Harbor Hotel Ventura
Four Points Ventura Harbor
Ventura Four Points

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.